We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brittany Ferries - a great experience”
Review of Brittany Ferries

Brittany Ferries
Ranked #1 of 22 Tours in Plymouth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sail with Brittany Ferries from Portsmouth, Poole or Plymouth direct to France and Spain. Our routes take you closer to popular holiday destinations, saving miles of driving, fuel costs, tolls and overnight stops. Choose either superb comfort of a cruise ferry, no-frills economie service or speed across The Channel on our fast craft.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Brittany Ferries - a great experience”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Just recently used Brittany Ferries Portsnouth > Santander (end Oct) , returning Bilbao > Portsmouth (end Nov). taking the car on the ferry for a tour through Spain & Portugal

We were a wee bit concerned about travelling across the Bay of Biscay at this time of year, but we need not have worried; the weather was very kind to us.

Anyway, the Brittany Ferries was really good. We travelled on the Pont Aven on the way out, returning on the Cap Finistere. The Cap Finistere seems a bit more Freight-oriented and a few years older, but both ships were very comfortable and professionally managed. the cabins were clean and reasonably well appointed.

But the main Big Plus is the catering. The main restaurants on both ships offer excellent quality and value with a silver service style. The cafeteria / bar snacks provision is also very good, but the full service for Breakfast and Dinner really takes some beating. Compliments to the Chefs and waiters.

Because it is a 24 hour crossing, there is plenty of amusement - 2 cinemas showing a good range of films, cabaret in the bars.

All in all, a very enjoyable way to travel, if you are not in a hurry

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanBA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BF-CustomerServices, Manager at Brittany Ferries, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear ‘AlanBA2’,

I am so pleased to hear how you enjoyed your crossings onboard both Pont Aven and Cap Finistere. Thank you for your kind comments regarding your onboard dining experience and I will ensure that those compliments are passed on to the staff concerned.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I hope that we can look forward to welcoming you onboard again soon.

Kind regards
Jane

Customer Services
Brittany Ferries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    891
    662
    276
    152
    182
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cheap trip”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We always do a trip when they go on offer in the local paper then we add the car & cabin. If you take the night crossing & sleep in a cabin its not too bad early wake up in Roscoff France then with the car you have the day to do what you like. We normally head to the supermarket before hitting the wine shops ( even Lido wine is 1/2 the price it is home in the uk). We know where we are going but a 1st timer may struggle. Then we get the night ferry back if poss, rather than a late pm sailing to maximise time. Even if you have a daytime crossing back get a cabin if you can then at least you can get your head down as its a very boring trip. I travel with my child so a chill out zone is good. Food is ok duty free isn't like it use to be but that is the same at an airport. The port at Plymouth & Roscoff run very well. If the sea is calm all well & good but if not it is rough !!!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dizzy75_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brittany Ferry Day Trip”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Any trip on the ferry is great, I love the ferries that sail from Plymouth - but in a day - very tiring.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Long trip for 3 hours in Cork”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We did the mini cruise to Cork so had a nice trip to Rosciff with meal, ferry stops there to pick up then over to cork through the night. Rough journey so wasn't in top form when we docked in Cork. We only had three hours there so very rushed and if you don't know where to go then pretty much like any other city. We wanted Guinness and Irish folk for lunch but there was a jazz festival so ended up with half a Guinness and lunch in marks and spencer......
The ferry is good but mistake to see this as a trip to Cork as it is too rushed.
Would recommend Brittany Ferries but not this cruise.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank 460kathyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Brittany Ferries - Day Trips”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Good trip - provided the French sailors are not on one of their "not forewarned" strikes,
The ferries are comfortable, but can be crowded at peak times. Rather a long way to go to anywhere worth while once you get to the French port of Roscoff. Probably better to miss the first return trip which would give you more time over there. Prices are reasonable and the ships are clean and modern.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavidBodmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brittany Ferries also viewed

 

Been to Brittany Ferries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing