We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brittany Ferries - Day Trips”
Review of Brittany Ferries

Brittany Ferries
Ranked #1 of 24 Tours in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sail with Brittany Ferries from Portsmouth, Poole or Plymouth direct to France and Spain. Our routes take you closer to popular holiday destinations, saving miles of driving, fuel costs, tolls and overnight stops. Choose either superb comfort of a cruise ferry, no-frills economie service or speed across The Channel on our fast craft.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Good trip - provided the French sailors are not on one of their "not forewarned" strikes,
The ferries are comfortable, but can be crowded at peak times. Rather a long way to go to anywhere worth while once you get to the French port of Roscoff. Probably better to miss the first return trip which would give you more time over there. Prices are reasonable and the ships are clean and modern.

Thank DavidBodmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,683 - 1,687 of 2,370 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

we sailed on the amerique on the 1st nov, this was our first time on a ferry so we were a little apprehensive. it was very well organised embarking and disembarking. we had booked seats there and on our return. it was very quite on the ferry, we watched a film in the cinema to pass some of the time away. we were extrememley impressed with the quality of food and price of it . my husband had gammon and fries and I chose a baguette, food very fresh and tasty. crossing calm going a little more choppy on first hour of our return. due to family moving to france this year this will become a regular trip for us and we are so pleased that we have a nice comfortable way of visiting them. we have already booked for march this time doing an over nite sail again on the amerique which we will both be looking forward too !! we were also very grateful for the luggage storage as we were then able to move around without hauling it with us

Thank aceishigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BF-CustomerServices, Manager at Brittany Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear ‘aceishigh’,

Thank you for taking the time to write and post your review.

It was wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your first crossing with us and that you enjoyed your experience in the restaurant and cinema. You mention you will be travelling with us again as your family have moved to France. It may interest you to know that we have the Brittany Ferries Travel Club “Club Voyage” designed for frequent travellers. Details of which you can see on our website.

We very much look forward to welcoming you on the Armorique in March 2014.

Kind regards
Alison

Customer Services
Brittany Ferries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I've used Brittany Ferries twice a year for the last 22 years, on their route between Portsmouth and Ouistreham. The service is reliable, the ships are clean and the crew and shore staff are polite. As it's a French company, it feels as if you're in France as soon as you step aboard. The meals in the self-service restaurants are good and there's a great choice.
I always like to get a cabin, even for day crossings. Most of these are inside, with no window. However, they are clean, comfortable and - surprisingly - they don't make you feel at all claustrophobic. They each have a w.c., washbasin and shower. The upper bunks are accessed by a step ladder with rungs that are painful on bare feet, and you have to be fairly agile to get up onto the mattress.
The Mont St Michel is the newer of the two ships on this route and it provides enough parking width on the car decks. On the older Normandie, cars are packed in much closer, side by side, and I always feel there's a danger of collecting small dents in the car door.

3  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is actually the second time we have had to reroute to northern France for our return trip to Portsmouth. The first time we were booked from Santander (previous post) which was cancelled due to industrial action so the long drive up to northern France. This time we were booked from Bilbao to Portmouth unfortunately again cancelled due to severe weather warnings. We had booked a Hotel not far from the ferry port - had to cancel it - no refund ! Stopped over in Bordeaux then another Hotel stop in Caen where we boarded the ferry early morning to Portsmouth. I agree with previous postings that the BF refund for fuel and toll charges (and without Hotel costs!) do not compensate the actual real cost and wear and tear that one experiences. I see LD Lines will be operating from Poole to Spain - worth a look...

2  Thank Manxscorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BF-CustomerServices, Manager at Brittany Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear ‘Manxscorpio’,

I am very sorry to hear that your sailing from Bilbao was cancelled due to the inclement weather. I can appreciate that this must have been quite frustrating and inconvenient for you. Under such circumstances our customers comfort and safety is our primary concern.

Once it became clear that the sailing was unable to go ahead we started to contact the affected customers to provide help and advice on how best to get them home. As you chose to take the option to travel through France we have refunded the difference between the crossings and as a gesture of goodwill provided a contribution to your onward travel costs, to assist you in getting to Caen.

I am sorry to hear that you were unable to cancel your hotel room without charge. However, you should find that you are able to claim for this on your travel insurance. Should you feel that other costs have been incurred these should be addressed through your travel insurance company as well. If you would like to contact me at jane.aldridge@brittanyferries.com I can provide a letter for insurance purposes to help assist with this.

Once again I apologise for the inconvenience caused to you.

Kind regards
Jane

Customer Services
Brittany Ferries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We had another lovely crossing from Portsmouth to Santander on the Cap Finistère. It isn't quite as smart as the Pont Aven, but it has a top deck which manages to combine fresh air with being largely covered and which has a large play area including a two slides which was greatly enjoyed by our 22-month-old son. The standard cabins are not enormous, but quite adequate, and one doesn't spend many waking hours there,

Our return trip was on the Pont Aven and we were able to book a premium Commodore Class cabin which must be about four times the size of a standard cabin and also has a sliding door out onto a private balcony. Unfortunately, the weather was really awful, with a Sea State 6 (Very Rough) through the Bay of Biscay. Because of this, the ferry arrived late in Santander and departure was delayed by a couple of hours, though we were allowed to leave the port to visit Santander. The rough weather was not pleasant and Brittany Ferries kindly decided to cut our trip short and drop us at Plymouth, which saved us at least four hours of seasickness. The foot passengers were provided with a bus back to Portsmouth (considerably faster than the ferry), and those of us with cars were sent an email telling us that they would be refunding our debit/credit cards with sum that more than covered the fuel costs. We were very pleased with how they handled the situation.

1  Thank VacaLoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brittany Ferries also viewed

 

Been to Brittany Ferries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing