We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“plymouth to Roscoff for 5 day break”
Review of Brittany Ferries

Brittany Ferries
Ranked #1 of 22 Tours in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sail with Brittany Ferries from Portsmouth, Poole or Plymouth direct to France and Spain. Our routes take you closer to popular holiday destinations, saving miles of driving, fuel costs, tolls and overnight stops. Choose either superb comfort of a cruise ferry, no-frills economie service or speed across The Channel on our fast craft.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Callington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“plymouth to Roscoff for 5 day break”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

helpful efficient booking.Fantastic buffet on Pont Aven Hotel in Dinan delightful and final night in roscoff also goodWill definitely go again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 792tizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    940
    690
    289
    158
    187
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“room with a veiw”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We booked the Christmas mini cruise to santander., ended up in Rouen port for two days .Booked a deluxe cabin for a room with a veiw, the view was a brick wall for the two days we was in port Shops were shut it was Christmas day we have been to Rouen before so didn't want to go threre, we never saw the river Seine ,we sailed In and out In the dark.We didn't know we was being rerouted till the last min.Wish we had the chance to cancel.Plus boarding was a nightmare sat in car park for ages, cars coming in straight on . while we sat and waited and waited

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank marion l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BF-CustomerServices, Manager at Brittany Ferries, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear “marion l”

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am sorry for the disappointment caused when due to the extreme weather conditions your sailing was diverted to Rouen.

Due to the strong winds and waves exceeding 7m, the onboard conditions would have been very difficult and uncomfortable for our customers. We would have needed to ask passengers to restrict their movements onboard and there would have been reduced time in Spain as a result of the slower sailing speeds. The comfort and safety of our passengers is always our priority in making such decisions. The Captain finally took the decision to sail to Rouen once he knew the conditions were not going to improve.

My apologies for the delay in loading. We do understand how annoying it can be, having arrived at the port early, to be one of the last vehicles to embark. The Loading Officer must assess his overall load in advance and then begin positioning vehicles accordingly. Whilst the process of embarking vehicles may appear to be unfairly arranged at times, we do assure you that it is a well-planned and complex operation and we will endeavour to board you on the ferry as quickly as possible.

I hope it will not be long before we can welcome you onboard again, hopefully with calmer seas!

Kind regards
Alison

Customer Services
Brittany Ferries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, England
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good - but still prefer the Bretagne”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Travelled from Portsmouth to St Malo on 21/22 December and returned on 29th on the Pont Aven. We have been doing this trip regularly over the last 25 years or so, and for most of that time have been lucky enough to travel on the Bretagne, which has always been great for accommodation, food, entertainment, staff etc

We always look forward to our overnight crossing from Portsmouth - on board in time for dinner, then some fresh air on deck before heading to the bar for a couple of drinks, some musical entertainment and maybe an illusionist show before heading to bed.

We decided to eat in the self-service restaurant rather than join the long queue for the waiter service restaurant, and although we had enough choice, one of us got a poor meal. The boeuf bourgignon was lovely, but the steak was tough. After dinner we wound down for the evening in the main lounge bar, Le Grand Pavois - it was fine, but the room is not tiered like the Gwenn Ha Du on the Bretagne and that makes it more difficult to see the floor show, unless you manage to get one of the tables on the balcony overlooking the lounge.

The cabins in both directions were very good, especially the Commodore on the return trip - the balcony didn't get much use, but it must be really lovely at a warmer time of year.

The food on the way back was again mixed, one good main course and the other quite poor, but in fairness both desserts were very good.

We found the staff helpful and friendly on both crossings, and the carry to car service for onboard purchases is very useful.

Overall, there is plenty to commend about the Pont Aven, but we will be happy to go back to the Bretagne

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Metasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dumped”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

An interesting read; the posts and replies here.

In Autumn 2012 dumped in northern France, despite the sailing booked and paid for meant to be between the UK and Spain. So an unscheduled and costly drive through France added to the itinerary due to a broken down vessel.

Now a wrangle over getting any sort of compensation from Brittany Ferries for their lack of providing the paid for service. Let's see if posting here jolts them in to action. Appalled.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank London,SW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BF-CustomerServices, Manager at Brittany Ferries, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear ”London,SW1”,

I am sorry to hear of the problems you encountered on your sailing in Autumn 2012.

Please contact me personally at alison.anakkar@brittanyferries.com providing me with your booking reference and I will be happy to look into this matter further for you.

Kind regards
Alison

Customer Services
Brittany Ferries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great new years eve mini cruise”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have just returned from our 3 night mini cruise to Rouen for new years eve aboard the Pont Aven. I was travelling with my husband and 6 year old son and we had a wonderful time. We were delayed boarding and getting our car on to the ferry and sat in a queue for 2 hours but this was forgotten as soon as we got on board. Our cabin was a standard outside cabin. They are small but as long as you keep things tidy its not a problem. There was enough space to hang clothes but next time I would bring some extra hangers with me and there is plenty of storage space under the beds. Rouen is a beautiful town and we had a lovely evening and following day exploring this historic place. We ate in the al la carte restaurant one evening but not for the gala dinner on new years eve. This is something I regret as the food was so amazing and next time I would definitely book for the gala dinner. There were all ages on board from very young to old. Everyone was friendly especially the staff. My only slight disappointment over the 4 days was that it was impossible to get a seat in the main bar on new years eve. This was due to people reserving tables with many drinks on them from as early as 4pm in the afternoon but the new years eve party itself was brilliant with a great atmosphere. We were also delayed coming home due to bad weather but this just meant we got longer on board which we were more than happy with. Over all we had a fantastic time and we will definitely be doing this cruise again for new years eve 2013.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AnitaMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BF-CustomerServices, Manager at Brittany Ferries, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear “great holidayEssex”,

Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to hear that you had such a great time with your family at New Year.

We look forward to welcoming you onboard in 2013 and thank you for your continued custom.

Kind regards
Alison

Customer Services
Brittany Ferries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brittany Ferries also viewed

 

Been to Brittany Ferries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing