We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a relaxing ride”

Ranked #18 of 170 things to do in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice for a relaxing ride”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I’ve cycled both up and down this trail several times now. As time as gone on, the track has expanded to the point where it is now possible to cycle from Plym Bridge all the way to Tavistock with only around 500m on actual road.

Starting down at Plym Bridge this trail follows the line of the old Tavistock railway and weaves it’s way through tunnels and over viaducts through some quite stunning scenery; the majority of it through woods and fields

The surface of the track is a rough finish (rough tarmac rather than dirt track), not really suited to road bikes, however I have ridden it several times on my road bike without any problems. Riding up from Plymbridge is a very slight incline but nothing you really notice until you are on a long straight and you can see it rise into the distance.

A mile up from Plym Bridge is a viaduct with an info board about to the Peregrine falcon pair that have been found to be nesting in an old quarry near by. I believe with a pair of binoculars you are able to see them during the spring / summer.

This track is great for a family day out on the bikes or even just for a walk however you do need to be aware of dog walkers and dogs appearing from nowhere!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Goldfishrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    46
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stafford
Level Contributor
243 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A good walk also”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have not cycled this trail yet, but I have walked it. It is in parts shady due to the woods and does run along a railway line which forms part of a historical restoration. A pleasant and varied walk

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Michaelunison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent but please beware !!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Top cycle path but at the moment (Dec 20120) someone who obviously think the shared waking/cycling path is not for cyclist has taken it upon themselves to scatted roofing tacks along part of the route!! (quite near the start of the route by the steam engines0
So beware.
Otherwise this is a fantastic route leading all the way to Dartmoor and beyond
Enjoy

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank stuart34467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
381 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,329 helpful votes
“Great News! National Trust get planning permission.”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We have been up here three times as a family over the last year. It is a beautiful but unchallenging ride up into the south west corner of the moor along the old railway route. We have always wanted to nave both the benefit of the rural setting but a bit more fun and challenge. We were delighted to hear on the TV this week that the National Trust has got permission to develop the mew track and add in much needed lavatories and catering facilities.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Cr0wM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“an excellent family cycle”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

starting at Plymouth end, this is a very steady climb, which you hardly notice till you come back down and find it much easier.
The tunnel is a high light -(lights or torch helpful) and crossing the viaduct also very special.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plym Valley Cycle Trail also viewed

 

Been to Plym Valley Cycle Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing