We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Chester House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester House
Ranked #19 of 78 Plymouth B&B and Inns
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Dot and Andy are thoroughly wonderful people who make you feel welcome and at home the moment you step through the door - the cup of tea was just the right thing at the right time. The free upgrade on arrival was also a very pleasant surprise. For a weary traveller like me, the thing that is most appreciated, that money can't buy, is a relaxed and warm atmosphere, which Chester House has in abundance. Delicious and generous breakfast, extremely comfortable bed and bedroom, flat screen tv's, free wifi - everything you could need. Proximity to the station (5mins walk) is a real bonus. I do hope work brings me down to Plymouth again soon. I've stayed in many B&B's and hotels and this one is amongst the very best.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GemmaCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    31
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
50
82
45
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

A lovely B&B, very clean and comfortable. Dot and Andy are really friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. I have stayed on many occassions and it really is like staying with familly. Dot cooks excellent poached eggs! On street or secure parking available and good location for train station.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

A lovely stay in an excellent B&B. Our room was very comfortable and well furnished, with a lovely ensuite shower room. Breakfast was amazing and our hosts were very kind , offering help with tools when they heard that we were staying to help our daughter move house. We can certainly recommend a stay here and we shall surely return

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Chester House is in a great location for the train station, and the city centre. It is an attractive property and Dot and Andy are very welcoming. The house is well kept and the B&B is excellent value, particularly by comparison with some of the coastal locations. This was our third visit and we would have no hesitation in staying again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed at Chester House for one night when I went to the university applicant day recently. It was really lovely, very clean and tidy in a great location (literally 5 minutes walk from the train station). However, I was never disturbed by any noise from passing trains, which I was worried about.
The owners were very friendly and kind, offering me tea and biscuits on my arrival, as well as a map of the town centre!
I stayed in a single room which had a sink, kettle, towels, tea bags and a television with loads of channels. I also found that the price was very reasonable, which is a major pro as I'm a student.
The breakfast in the morning was great, a very wide choice of hot or cold food as well as fruit and yoghurt was available, so everyone will be happy.

I had a lovely stay at Chester House and would recommend it to anyone! 5 stars!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LotForr25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have just stayed at Chester House for two nights. The accommodation was very clean, warm and had all that you would need. Importantly in my view the bathroom I used was very clean. Finally, a great breakfast which kept me going until late in the afternoon.

Also, Andy and the other members of staff were very friendly. I have tried to stay at Chester House before this last trip to Plymouth. Although they were not able to accommodate me then then went out of their way to find me other accommodation. I think this sums up how helpful they are.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyt80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Dot, Andy and Hazel are extremely welcoming hosts. Nothing is any problem, and a pleasure to revisit. Its only a few minutes walk from Plymouth station. There is secure parking. Full breakfast. Friendly atmosphere means that you can chat with other guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royfromdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,295 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
752 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Mountbatten Hotel
The Mountbatten Hotel
#19 of 21 in Plymouth
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
#14 of 21 in Plymouth
931 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alma Lodge Guest House
Alma Lodge Guest House
#12 of 78 in Plymouth
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House

Property: Chester House
Address: 54 Stuart Road | Pennycomequick, Plymouth PL3 4EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Chester House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing