We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection all the way”
Review of Chester House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester House
Ranked #20 of 80 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfection all the way”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This place is very very clean. The rooms are very well decorated. You could feed an army with the breakfast portions. The owners are very friendly and cannot do enough for you. They welcomed us like we were family they hadn't seen for years. On our arrival it was poring with rain and they put our coats in the boiler room to dry out and brought us a tray of coffee and biscuits. I could go on for hours, but I won't. In a sentence this place is perfect we had a family room ( there were 3 of us) and there was plenty of room. Would highly recommend for a short or long stay. Will defo stay here again next time we visit plymouth.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    31
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
50
82
45
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was the first time we have stayed at Chester House, the room was spotless, beds firm but very comfy, breakfasts great and Andy and Dot were very welcoming, very much enjoyed the cup of tea on arrival. Can't say any more than great place at reasonable rates.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McCeeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I have stayed in this small hotel many times and can highly recommend it. The owners, Dott and Andy are always more than helpful, the rooms are always very clean and well presented; the quality of the food for breakfast is really good. Dott and Andy are lovely people and nothing is too much trouble ......they always have a smile and a joke and offer a nice cup of tea when you arrive!!
If you need to stay in Plymouth at a reasonable cost and in a place with a friendly atmosphere CHESTER HOUSE is the place to ring!!

Room Tip: A good family room is room 2 on the ground floor but you will find that any of the rooms are a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely brilliant service and great hosts, I've been a few times, my wife has been there many times, warm and friendly hosts and good place. Quality beds and mattresses... Very highly recommended and good prices too.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mousehole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

What can I say spotlessly clean , comfortable very friendly best breakfast anywhere , wanted for nothing and leaving each day with a big smile on your face sets the day up just right Andy and Dot are top hosts .looking forward to staying again in the very near future .

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowen Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was wow'd!!! From the minute we walked in the door, we felt that we were staying with friends...not a B&B. Both Andy and Dot welcomed us... took us to our room (thankfully on the ground floor...way too heavy suitcases)....made sure everything was in order....brought coffee and tea and some biscuits. The room was excellent! Large! Hooks in the bathroom for my shaving kit. It was all good! We had been on the road for 14 days... just wanted to chill out and 'order in'. Andy brought a selection of menus.... took the order.. called it in.... then brought trays with plates and cutlery for our meal into the Guest Lounge. I spent some time there.... in a very comfortable leather chair as the walls were too thick for the wifi to penetrate. They cleared away the dishes after we were finished eating. Dot brought my wife a HUGE bottle of water as she knew how thirsty she gets after having the same meal we ordered! They both go above and beyond all expectations. Breakfast was excellent... a nice choice of items. I can't recommend the Chester House high enough and at a VERY reasonable price!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
2 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This must be the 3rd time I stay in this B&B. Thank you to Dot and Andy for hosting me and my family (and making sure everyone remains warm, Plymouth got suddenly chilly these days). It has been a real pleasure once again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StelK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,395 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Plymouth
Travelodge Plymouth
#18 of 21 in Plymouth
555 reviews
2.8 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
951 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
764 reviews
0.9 mi away
Edgcumbe Guest House
Edgcumbe Guest House
#4 of 80 in Plymouth
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House

Property: Chester House
Address: 54 Stuart Road | Pennycomequick, Plymouth PL3 4EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Chester House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing