We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excelent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chester House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester House
Ranked #18 of 84 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“excelent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

upon arriving were greated at the door by the host very friendly were helped with luggage and then offered refreshments then shown to our rooms the place was very clean nothing was to much trouble the breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and all for under £60 a night for a double wouldnt hesitate to go back

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clingonshave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    31
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
50
82
45
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed here for one night for the university open day. It was easy to find and had the benefit of secure parking. Even before you enter the house the gardens are beautiful and the welcome from Andy and Dot was lovely. The rooms were nice and had everything that you could need for a stay. Andy made sure that we knew where to go for an explore of Plymouth that evening which was great and helped everyone in the morning with the various directions. The breakfast was excellent and all the guests felt comfortable chatting together about the forthcoming days events!
I would recommend this B&B and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francesm68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

I booked this guest housel quite by chance after looking for Plymouth guest house accommodation online. The telephone conversation that I had on booking led me to believe that I had chosen a very nice place to stay. I was not to be disappointed. The front lawned garden was an absolute delight with geraniums, fusias, roses, begonias and others in full bloom with not a weed in sight. The whole place was obviously tended with very loving care. I was travelling alone but was given a twin bedded room that was immaculate. It was not en suite but the bathroom was immediately next door. The room was on the back of the house overlooking a small yard. That would have won a floral competition as it was hung with hanging baskets on white walls. I had a great nights sleep. As I had to vacate at 6.30 the following morning I was provided with a super packed lunch in lieu of breakfast. Before leaving I booked my next stay in Plymouth there. Thank you Dot and Andy - you have a great B & B.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We were given very clear directions to the B&B and upon arrival, Andy delighted us with tea and biscuit, and great tips on what to see and where to eat. We parked right outside (free), and walked into town (20 minutes) for the sites. The room was neat, with lovely bedding. Even though it faced the street, the double glazed windows ensured a peaceful sleep. Breakfast time was flexible and we could order whatever we wanted. The banter at the breakfast room among the regular guests and the staff was a great way to wakeup.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the street if you want added quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emyo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

most brilliant guest house in Plymouth ..friendly welcoming staff of a more mature way who go out their way to make you feel at home and able to approach for anything ..good local knowledge of local area .rooms are clean to a very high standard and breakfast is to die for!! would recommend to anyone nice ground floor room for disabled a true british b+b

Room Tip: ground floor room has its own terrace garden which is lovely in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Chester House is close to Plymouth Railway station, which is can be really useful when you and a friend get off the train with a couple of loaded up bicycles.
Andy couldn't have been more helpful when we arrived (even though it was 9.30pm in the evening which is not the best time for B&B hosts - other B&B's had turned us down because of this). Andy stored the bikes, brough tea and biscuits and took time to talk about the area and provide any directions required.
The B&B has a relaxed traditional feel, is spotelssly clean, and has all the things you need (tea & coffee making with biscuits, ensuite with products, flat screen TV etc).
Breakfast was superb, and Dot and Andy were so friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.
I would definately recommend a visit if you need a place to stay in Plymouth.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyclingjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

From the moment that I arrived I knew that this was going to be a brilliant place to stay; came as a guest when I departed it was as if I was a long term friend.
Amazing value for money, the room was clean and well decorated. You had all the facilities you required; my standard non en suite room was right next door to the bathroom which had an amazing powerful shower.

The bed was very comfortable and the sleep quality was amazing.

Special mention has to be made for the housekeeping; wonderfully spotlessly clean on arrival and then when you return each night.

Breakfast was a real event, great food and great entertainment.

Hope that you try this excellent bed and breakfast and like me want to return time and time again.

Must add that it is very close to the main Plymouth Railway Station and the city centre

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTHTravelUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
2.8 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
#15 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alma Lodge Guest House
Alma Lodge Guest House
#11 of 84 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.9 mi away
Edgcumbe Guest House
Edgcumbe Guest House
#4 of 84 in Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House

Property: Chester House
Address: 54 Stuart Road | Pennycomequick, Plymouth PL3 4EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Chester House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing