We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here overnight whilst working, suited me!”
Review of Ashgrove House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ashgrove House
Ranked #69 of 78 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Stayed here overnight whilst working, suited me!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Overnight stop paid for by the company, howany cities can you stay in for £35 near to it's major attraction, with breakfast included! Breakfast was ok, room a little tired but fine, and a lovely welcome with plenty of conversation throughout. If work takes me there in the future, will rebook.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    11
    9
    13
See reviews for
16
16
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I want to begin by saying I think the owners have done this place and injustice. It is a lovely building in a great location! When we arrived the woman who answered did not introduce herself. She did not show us to our room instead just gave us the key and left us to it. Did not tell us anything about the facilities or breakfast. All the while their dog was jumping around us, good job we like dogs because nothing was done to calm it. Basically the initial impression/customer service was poor. When we got to the room it didn't improve. Stains on the ceiling/walls, old shampoo etc wrappers in the shower and overall unclean and dated. The breakfast was ok but nothing more than that. The toast was too burnt for my liking as well as being cold. A few little tweaks here and there would make a huge difference to this place, mainly giving it a good clean!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PipLaRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Plymouth hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We both enjoyed a relaxing 4-night stay in this traditional B&B-style guest house. Proprietors were very pleasant. Room was immaculately clean and of a decent size. Breakfast was good, with a decent variety on offer. Ideal situation for all the tourist areas of Plymouth, especially The Hoe.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garibaldi-red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I stayed for 3 days and could not have been made more welcome.The landlady could not have been better. A real homely place that is really friendly. Food was good and I really enjoyed my stay. I will be going back this time with my children.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelaplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of days last week as it was conveniently located to the Hoe where the National Firework Championships were being held, we were visiting Plymouth to see them. That's the only positive thing I can say about this B&B really.

When we arrived Teresa asked us if we were in the right place as she couldn't find my booking. She looked again and did find it but for the wrong days. She did give us a room but not after complaining that she now wouldn't have a room for her work man, I hasten to add that I booked months in advance.

The room also left a lot to be desired I'm afraid. The shower was terribly moldy and you certainly didn't feel clean after showering in it. Something that could probably be easily fixed.

The bed was awful, far to soft, when one of us sat on the bed the other one almost bounced off and as I've recently had back surgery, this was not good. Investing in some good quality beds and mattresses wouldn't go a miss here.

Breakfast, well, where was it?. My husband doesn't eat egg or beans so when his plate arrived it looked very bare. Normally you would get extra sausage and bacon or something to fill up your plate, but no, not here. And the toast, well all the guests were complaining that it was like cardboard, thin, cold and hard.

The worst part of our trip was that Teresa tried to charge me twice for the room. I paid cash on arrival but she didn't make a note of this, so this morning in the post I received a letter from her asking me to pay as my card wasn't working. Thank god it wasn't or I would have been charged a second time and I don't fancy my chances of getting my money back from this less than dynamic woman.

I didn't see Teresa smile once while we were there, it certainly was not an inviting place and actually made us feel quite uncomfortable. As we left we spoke to other guests outside and they had all the same complaints that we did.

I certainly would not recommend this B&B to anyone else, there are far nicer to be had.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceanhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed at Ashgrove House for a long weekend with my wife and overall, we were pleased with this lovely B&B. The rooms were comfortable and pleasant although the housekeeping could have been better. The room wasn't dirty, the bathroom was clean but it was a little dusty. Having said that, I would still recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dandypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

It is a lovely B&B, located walking distance from the Hoe. All of the rooms are clean and comfortable. the staff are all very welcoming and the food is exceptional! We all will return soon and would recomend to anyone waiting a fair priced B&B in Plymouth!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C-C-E-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Plymouth
Travelodge Plymouth
#18 of 21 in Plymouth
544 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moorings Guest House
The Moorings Guest House
#29 of 78 in Plymouth
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Citadel House Hotel
Citadel House Hotel
#65 of 78 in Plymouth
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Barbican Reach
Barbican Reach
#7 of 78 in Plymouth
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Pier House
Old Pier House
#38 of 78 in Plymouth
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Firs Guest House
Firs Guest House
#42 of 78 in Plymouth
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashgrove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashgrove House

Property: Ashgrove House
Address: 218 Citadel Road | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 3BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashgrove House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ashgrove House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashgrove Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing