We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our visit”
Review of Ashgrove House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ashgrove House
Ranked #68 of 78 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our visit”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

A nice clean, comfortable B&B. The proprietor could not be more helpful and will meet your needs as much as she can. The B&B is conveniently situated for the Hoe and Barbican as well as the city centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    10
    9
    12
See reviews for
16
15
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Lovely old Victorian house, with very high ceilings. Tastefully decorated downstairs in traditional style. Very well located and reasonably priced. A friendly welcome, clean en-suite room with all facilities, and a good breakfast. Comfortable bed and a quiet night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PSG40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Firstly i would like to point out how clean the owner keeps this historic sweet building, i own a cleaning business and travel around the country on many different contracts, taking upto Three people with me and can sometimes be in a different Bed and Breakfast for Four days, so picking the correct all round package, not only to keep myself happy but also my staff, i rang the Ashgrove as my regular, was full, from the first words spoken teresa could not of being more than helpful, a breakfast to died for, set me and my crew well and good for the day, i would truly recommend this place whether an hungry building firm or a clean freak, Happy staying.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2012

we book in next door at the jewel b n b online but was told it was full booked so moved next door for same price as we got hear look nice so we went in the lady was so nice and showed us to your room and left us to it . my wife went to the toilet to find small flys and it to be smelly so we went out the next day braekfast was grate and went out for the day got back later to find room had been cleaned the loo was cleaned but the bin at the side was not it still had the last tenerts litter in it we did not complain as it was just small things but needs to be done we booked a 4 star and becouse it overe booked we got 1 star

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Plymouth hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I travelled to plymouth from the northwest and arrived at 11pm I drove around the hoe and The ashgrove really stood out to me I rang the bell worrying it was too late but was greeted by a lovely lady"Teresa" who offered me a room for me and my friends.The hotel is a beautiful victorian listed building with a very traditional feel and very comfortable.The room was perfect for three really fussy scouse girls we loved it.The morning after we had a fab english breakfast and a coffee with the ownwr"Teresa" who told us alot of history about plymouth and made us feel so welcome.Our intention was to stay for 1 night but ended up staying for 5 nights at this hotel.I would recommend this little treasure to anyone who loves a traditional feel and a very warm welcome in fact i have already booked for the summer........Cant wait

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank clare c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

The carpet was full of fluff and badly stained. The toilet was filthy and had not been flushed since the last guests. I tried to complain about the state of the carpet soon after we arrived but could not get hold of the proprieter.
Parking was a nightmare. The floor-boards in the room above were very noisy and the occupants were roaming around until gone one in the morning making for a terrible nights' sleep.
The location is good, the land-lady pleasant and the breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: choose a room at the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwilkins0159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2009

This bed and breakfast is the best i have ever stayed, my 8 year old child was very happy and made very welcome. Menu altered to suit her fussy eating habits. very homely with a very friendly dog. It was a pleasure to stay there. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreyBlondes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Caledonia Guest House
Caledonia Guest House
#16 of 78 in Plymouth
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moorings Guest House
The Moorings Guest House
#30 of 78 in Plymouth
91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barbican Reach
Barbican Reach
#7 of 78 in Plymouth
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kynance House Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#6 of 78 in Plymouth
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Pier House
Old Pier House
#38 of 78 in Plymouth
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashgrove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashgrove House

Property: Ashgrove House
Address: 218 Citadel Road | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 3BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashgrove House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Ashgrove House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashgrove Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing