We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spotless clean and friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmont Hotel

Belmont Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belmont Hotel
Ranked #66 of 83 Plymouth B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spotless clean and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

I usually stay in holiday inns so this was an alternative booked by my company. What a fantastic surprise. Period building close to the hoe and city centre. Room was spotless and the breakfast was a treat. The owner was very friendly and advised me on the local restaurants and pubs. Fantastic two weeks spent there while working. Looking forward to being posted back to Plymouth so i can stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hampsteadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
9
8
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend needed a suitable hotel / b&b to stay at whilst seeing a show at the pavilions.

This was within 5 minutes if the venue and in comparison to other places, it had a fantastic price.

On arrival we were greeted by a friendly young man who offered us an upgrade for a small price, we were happy to accept, and was very pleased with our decision. We were in room 2, a lovely four-post bed with an en-suite, I think it is only common sense to ask for one, rather than assume.
It had the three things I would want: a comfy bed, a kettle and space.

This is not a 'leisure hotel' with fakery, nor is it trying to be one. To put it simply I felt like I was staying with friends and being fully looked after. As we are a young couple it was great to be treated like normal customers.

I slept well as the bed was'nt too soft for my back (which I suffer with), it was quiet and warm.

Breakfast: Very friendly service, did'nt have to wait long. The lady was very attentive! Orange juice, tea/coffee and an english breakfast, which was all perfect.

Everything expect the room gets a 5 out of 5, as it was all fantastic, the rooms decor could be updated a little, but is still a very good 4 out of 5.

We hope to stay again soon, thanks!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brightpinkowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

A small B&B, with no bathroom en-suite, but to share with other rooms. It was not specified in the reservation. Steep staircase. Essential furniture in the room. A bad smell all around. 15 minutes walk from the center. I wouldn't suggest it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank M0nica_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Plymouth hotels

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Smelt of A LOT of air freshener on entry to the hotel. Seemed a little tight in the rooms and certainly in the bathrooms. Rooms very clean though.

Lack of desk/table facilities were felt. Also, didn't really feel all that welcome with my kids.

There is NO on site parking, there is on street parking for which you have to pay between 10am and 6pm (the hotel will give you a visitor's pass at £2/car).

Wifi available.

Breakfast an extra £3.50/person. So took kids to McDonald's for breakfast! (not cool)

Stayed here as it was the only place(nearest ) I could book to go to the Eden project (1 hr drive from this hotel/B&B).

Doubt I will use this place again.

Room Tip: Make sure its Ensuite.. not all rooms are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashfaq J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

Well, it is not a hotel, but it is a useful B&B. The room was basic, but clean, the staff very friendly and caring, the breakfast was simple but good. It could be all better, but it could be all worse.

Room Tip: Ask for double or twin room en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boharin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

stayed at the belmont hotel with a work colleague stayed in room no:12 twin room which is on the top floor up 6 flights of stairs no en - suite had to share toilets and bathroom with room no: 9 to 11 beds where like sleeping on concrete informed owner of the discomfort hopefully to locate to another room sadly we had to endear another night in room 12 informed office in cwmbran ( SOUTH WALES )not to use this place again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JD1880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Citadel House Hotel
Citadel House Hotel
#67 of 83 in Plymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#6 of 83 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tudor House Guest House
Tudor House Guest House
#4 of 83 in Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmont Hotel

Property: Belmont Hotel
Address: 174 Citadel Road | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 3BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Belmont Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing