We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were satisfated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kynance House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 80 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Kladno, Czech Republic
1 review
“We were satisfated”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel is calm and comfortemble. Staff is plesant. Breakfest was tasty and rooms were clear. For somebody mattresses should be uncom for table because they are soft. It wasn´t problem for me. Mrs. Margaret is very friendly and residence was wery smooth.
Ivana from Czech Republic

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ivana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    49
    19
    11
    21
See reviews for
39
50
25
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I travelled with an excursion tour, we spent three nights at Kynance hotel. It is a nice place to spend night there, we were very satisfied with all service, delicious breakfasts and we met there polite and smiling faced personnel. Kynance hotel is near to Hoe, lighthouse and coast and Barbican as well. We would like to say many many thanks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Kynance is not a five star hotel, but you are looking at Bed and Breakfasts and so you are not looking for a five star hotel! I stayed at the Kynance at the begging of June 2013 and this review is from that time. I was there with a group of friends for a scuba diving weekend. We were going to be spending the days diving and the evenings talking and eating to give you some idea of how I used the room.

The room I had was in the eaves and quite warm when I entered. The room however had a window I could open and this brought in a refreshing breeze. Being in the eaves the room was not huge but also was not small, two friendly people could have shared it without too many problems. The room was clean with an onsuite shower and toilet. The room also had a kettle with coffee and tea making items and a television.

With room key and front door key in hand I went exploring the Hoe which is a short walk away with excellent views over the sea. The Marine aquarium is not far away and on the Hoe is a big wheel for excellent views over Plymouth.

The family who own and run the Kynance were very friendly and the breakfast in the mornings very plentiful. Breakfast is served from 0700 to 0900 and is quite extensive with a choice of cerials, coffee or tea or orange juice and a cooked breakfast with toast. As I was diving I do not like to have a very big breakfast as this has proved a problem in the past I also have a problem with wheat and lactose. With eggs, bacon and mushrooms on the menu I was very contented with my breakfast but other had the toast, beans and tomato as well, I hope I have not forgotten any of the breakfast items. A big meal could be had if it was your desire.

Parking is a problem near the Hoe but the Kynance has its own off street parking which is very handy. A great weekend was had with my group which the Kynance helped with. When I was there the Kynance was quite and peaceful and a great night sleep was had by all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saaby665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munich, germany
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Great value in this large B&B run by a sociable family. A short walk to the centre of town is one of the highlights of staying here, along with the friendly and helpful family and staff that run the place. Free parking and hearty breakfast mean I would be more than happy to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lessthanbizclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taplow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Everyone receives a warm welcome at this long established B&B which is conveniently situated within walking distance of the Hoe, the shopping centre and the quay. It may not be boutique standard or trendy, the staff may not be sleek and clipped in their manners but it is homely and they are friendly and infinately helpful. All staff are willing to go that extra mile and the owners are not trying to squeeze every last £ out of you. The beds were comfortable, the pillows soft and I particularly noted the quality of the sheets which were lovely, soft and fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Very chaotic place to stay, to many 15 + 16 year olds runing round the place utterly confused.
Rooms shabby & tired, with them horrible green 70s baths & basins breakfast again very chaotic & a lot of confusion the food very hit & miss good one day bad the next

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrysmith730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I have just spent a week at the Kynance and found if to be a very friendly and homely hotel. I was given a choice of what room I wanted, although for single occupancy I was able to have a double at no extra cost at all. It was very warm and the bed was very comfortable, with a en-suite, coffee/tea making facilities, and a colour TV. and telephone. The breakfast was very good with a choice of English cooked or various choices. The staff were all very helpful and friendly.
I had known of this Hotel before I went to stay, as many years ago one of my Managers at the Company I worked for in Plymouth before retiring, lived at this Hotel for many years and always spoke highly of it. I would not hesitate to stay at this Hotel again when next I am in Plymouth,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
764 reviews
0.0 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
630 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#6 of 80 in Plymouth
284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edgcumbe Guest House
Edgcumbe Guest House
#4 of 80 in Plymouth
447 reviews
0.0 mi away
Poppy's Guest House
Poppy's Guest House
#9 of 80 in Plymouth
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kynance House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kynance House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Kynance House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 107-113 Citadel Road West | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kynance House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Started as a Bed and Breakfast in 1954, family run Kynance House has had thousands of satisfied customers. Blessed with perfect positioning on Plymouth's historic Hoe, only a few minutes walk from the City Center and the Barbican, come and stay with us in one of our comfortable en-suite rooms, enjoy the free in room WiFi and then tuck into the full English breakfast prepared fresh for you. Kynance House - The Best Location in Plymouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kynance House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kynance Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing