We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and welcoming. Mrs A Nosworthy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kynance House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #24 of 84 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
119 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming. Mrs A Nosworthy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I have just spent a week at the Kynance and found if to be a very friendly and homely hotel. I was given a choice of what room I wanted, although for single occupancy I was able to have a double at no extra cost at all. It was very warm and the bed was very comfortable, with a en-suite, coffee/tea making facilities, and a colour TV. and telephone. The breakfast was very good with a choice of English cooked or various choices. The staff were all very helpful and friendly.
I had known of this Hotel before I went to stay, as many years ago one of my Managers at the Company I worked for in Plymouth before retiring, lived at this Hotel for many years and always spoke highly of it. I would not hesitate to stay at this Hotel again when next I am in Plymouth,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    44
    18
    11
    19
See reviews for
37
44
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed 1 night at Kynance House B & B. There was some confusion when we booked in, finding keys etc, 1 man was running around like a headless chicken, needs more organising but saying that we had a comfortable room and the breakfast was excellent, full english, piping hot, hot water etc and staff very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Loved this place, was very friendly and nice and clean. Gave us a £10 discount as it was 1am in the morning that we arrived. The Jury's Inn was where we were meant to stay but found there was no booking on their system so ended up googling cheap B&B's and this one came up. Glad we stayed as they appreciated our custom. Would recommend to anyone staying in Plymouth.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights over Christmas. Excellent location with just a few minutes walk to the Hoe, Barbican and main shopping centre.
The owner Maggie was very helpful as was the manager Phil. Les and Diane cooked a great English breakfast. The quality of the rooms and decor was of a very high standard. Modern electric shower, LCD TV and a good quality bed and mattress. Highly recommended. I will be returning there again!.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mancsolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed here quite a few times while away for work and was surprised at what great value it was. Each time I was put into a different room, so managed to try each. The rooms while maybe a little dated, had charm and where clean comfy and functional. Breakfast was a steal. The service was great, the waitresses very friendly, and the food was delicious. Just what I needed before a day at work! The location was fantastic!
I would stay again, and definitely recommend to any other solo travellers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluegrasstravel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

I'm a bit mystified by some of the reviews I had a fantastic experience. I was met out on the road and guided to the rear car park by the lovely manager who then showed me to a charming and immaculate ensuite bedroom (with very comfortable beds and an excellent shower ) and explained everything in detail .Later another friendly staff member gave me directions to walk into town coming outside to make sure I could see what he meant . Breakfast was superb generous and well presented andthe landlord even offered to move my car for me so that I could drive out easily from the rear car park after I had taken the short stroll to view the Hoe This place is brilliant value for money Lne of the best band bs Ive evr stayed in ..more like a small hotel really All the staff I met were lovely and nothing was too much trouble I enjoyed every moment of my stay I was staying to go to the ballet at the Theatre and will certainly do so again Thank you

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Staff were the best espeacialy the hot red head k was made to feel at home and would stay there again and again breKfast was great not along wait and rooms were spotless and cleaned daily and prompt for my week long stay looking forward to seeing them all again love mike the chef room 5 xx

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikechef1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Poppy's Guest House
Poppy's Guest House
#8 of 84 in Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barbican Reach
Barbican Reach
#7 of 84 in Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caledonia Guest House
Caledonia Guest House
#15 of 84 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Alma Lodge Guest House
Alma Lodge Guest House
#11 of 84 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edgcumbe Guest House
Edgcumbe Guest House
#4 of 84 in Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#6 of 84 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kynance House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kynance House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Kynance House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 107-113 Citadel Road (West) | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kynance House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kynance House is the flagship of Kynance House Group, a family run business trading since 1954 over three locations based on The Hoe, Plymouth. We have 26 comfortable en-suite rooms to offer in the Main House, with free, unlimited, in room WiFi and delicious breakfast is also included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kynance House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kynance Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing