We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we had not expect to find a kitchen ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edgcumbe Guest House
Ranked #2 of 78 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2011

we stayed 5 nights at the edgcumbe guest house as we had decided to make plymouth our pivotal point while exploring the area. on the whole, we did not regret our choice, although the first impression of our room - on the top floor, no lift and very steep and narrow stairs - was mixed. the room was large, with basic furniture, but ... with a full working kitchen - which we did not need and which took much of the atmosphere of the room away. no other room was available, however, so we eventually got used to the situation.
on the positive side, which prevailed by far, are the ample parking facilities (except ... see later!), the excellent location of the guest house - a few steps from the port, with a large but comfortable pub, whose terrace offered us front row seats during the british national fireworks championship which took place on two of the five nights we were there (and which meant we had trouble finding a space for the car) and only about 10 to 15 minutes to the barbican and to the hoe, the friendly proprietors (who were unhappy that we did not appreciate the kitchen in our room!) and the more than adequate breakfasts.

Room Tip: NOT the top room with the kitchen facilites, if you don't need them! there are very nice and com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank atticus47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 481 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2011

My father and I were bringing my nephew from Australia on a visit to Plymouth to see the city where his mother was born and brought up. We were very happy with our stay at the Edgcumbe Guest House. I had a single room but in fact there was a double bed. The ensuite facilities were small but more than adequate and I was very pleasantly surprised at the effectiveness of the shower. The add ons in the form of toiletries etc. were more than I have experienced in international hotels. My dad and nephew shared a twin room - one double and one single bed and separate en suite. Breakfast was tasty and on the nail. For value for money, cleanliness and efficiency, you couldn't do better.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetunnery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Although it looks quite plain from the outside, the Edgcumbe very sizable but cost rooms that are neat and clean. It offers a good breakfast and we found the location perfect. 10 minute walk to the old port area and 2 minutes walk to a great pub with very good restaurant quality meals. Don't let the online photo of the outside put you off, this is a very safe choice.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HueyGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

We booked and arrived at very short notice but without any problems,. easy parking and a warm welcome. The room was karge and clean with more than adequate facilities. We slept well and enjoyed a very substantial breakfast, freshly cooked. This was our first experience of bed and breakfast and it was a very pleasant one. We would thoroughly recommend the Edgcumbe and the helpful lady who we assume was the propietor. Thank you.

Michael and Sally West London

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miguelencasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

I stayed here on business. The place is spotless & Carla is very friendly & helpful. Breakfast is cooked really well, but portion is small. It's served on what would be (in Yorkshire) a side plate! 1 Rasher, 1 sausage, 1 egg. But really well cooked. Details in the room give places to eat & recommend the Sippers pub which is a good 10 mins walk away. having done the walk on a freezing November night in the dark, it felt a lot further. The food was ok (ish). Plain pub grub. Quite expensive for what you get. On the 2nd night I couldn't be bothered with the walk & just went across the road to The Waterfront. What a difference! Take my advice - save yourself the walk & go to the Waterfront. Huge place, fantastic views, excellent food & twice the drinks etc for just £2 more than the bill for half the food & not anywhere near the quality at the Sippers. Service at The Wayerfront was fantastic, but it's not mentioned in the guide at The Edgecumbe. Pet friendly on request. Parking on the street is free between 4pm & 10am if you park in a pay display bay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesleypyramid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calmer50, Owner at Edgcumbe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2010

So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Breakfasts are served on breakfast plates - not dinner plates and consist of seven items - not just three as stated in the review. Free Range Egg, Bacon, Premier Lincolnshire Sausage, fresh mushrooms, tomato (tinned or fresh), hash brown and baked beans. There is also a large buffet selection of fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts, grapefruit, juice etc. Endless toast (brown or white) and bottomless tea and coffee. I've never had anyone else say the portions are small! Sippers is mentioned in the bedroom folder as traditional, regular pub grub which a lot of people do prefer. The Waterfront is under new ownership so wasn't included in the bedroom folder as the quality wasn't known at the time it went to press but there was a menu along with other tourist information in our hall.
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

Recommended this lovely comfortable guest house by another Hotel in Plymouth.A very
good choice.Came to visit Son on the of chance we would find some were to stay.We were wrong.After a long drive we were directed to the Edgcumbe Guest House by the owners of the Invicta Hotel. It was very late but we greeted by the land lady and her son

The room was front facing and looked out to sea to the right. A very good location and only a stones throw from the sea.Our room was imaculately clean and smelt nice and fresh with a very good shower plenty of hot water.

Breakfast was cooked to order we had poached eggs, and bacon all cooked to perfection. This was served by a nice very pleasant lady called Carla.

We would certainly stay here again.wonderfull hospitality and a very knowledgable lady
who had all the answers before we asked.Sadly we could only stay for two days.We will
be back.Thank you Carla & Dan.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smartiesmuggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

we've stayed in plenty but this is the best by far. the room was big with huge windows and view of The Hoe and the sea. everything was clean, everything worked. the room was nicely decorated. the bed comfortable. the en suite clean with a decent shower. the breakfast was great - freshly cooked and they were happy to cook us different things. the hosts were friendly and helpful with tips on where to go and what to do.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yankeydoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 23 in Plymouth
807 reviews
0.3 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 23 in Plymouth
681 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#6 of 23 in Plymouth
2,164 reviews
4.8 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 23 in Plymouth
2,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgcumbe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgcumbe Guest House

Address: 50 Pier Street | West Hoe, Plymouth PL1 3BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range: $82 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edgcumbe Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly recommended guest house offering superb bed and breakfast accommodation a stone's throw from Plymouth Hoe and the sea front. All rooms en suite, delicious breakfasts freshly cooked to order using top quality produce, warm and friendly welcome, limited private parking, ample roadside parking, free unlimited wi-fi, hairdryers, free tea/coffee/hot chocolate, toiletries, ironing facilities. Newly refurbished to the highest standard. Top quality furnishings and bedding. We value our guests and strive to offer them the best of everything. We are within easy walking distance of the city centre, historic Barbican and Royal William Yard, Theatre Royal and Plymouth Pavilions. Close to University and Brittany Ferries. Check in is available up to midday and from 4-9pm. Please advise preferred arrival time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Edgcumbe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing