We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Worst Place We Have Ever Stayed Needs A Visit From The Hotel Inspector”
Review of Firs Guest House

Firs Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Firs Guest House
Ranked #41 of 79 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Grubby from the front door onwards, Stained bed linen. Out of 6 pillowcases on the beds only 2 matched. None of the bedding matched in colour. No toilet paper in toilet, showers on landing were filthy. Room had holes in wall. No handle on room door, or on wardrobe door. Window catch kept falling off. Dripping tap in bathroom. Good selection for breakfast but it was served cold, however the plates were hot. Both teacups at breakfast were chipped, one had 2 chips the other had 3. The best part of our stay was walking out of the door, never to return.

Room Tip: Book into another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank irisgorgeous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thefirsguesthouse, Owner at Firs Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

this lady had my lovely family en-suite room as single occupancy , when iasked if everything was ok this lady said everything was fine. and as for the breakfast being cold this was not true. surely if it was served cold the breakfast would not of been eaten.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 44 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2010

The guest house is located in a nice area, near the sea front. Tony and Lesley create a friendly atmoshpere but you can be independent while staying there. What is more they are very helpful if you are in any need.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bozena17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

good hospitality, near to the city center and the sea. The rooms are good and the owners offer a excellente breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vagnersantana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

We were booked in for 2 nights( a group booking to which I had no input) and stayed for 1, I wish I had trusted my instincts and not bothered ringing the door bell, it was grubby from the front door to our room on the top floor.
Not a very pleasant experience at all, I certainly would not recommend it or stay again.
I actually cant find anything nice to say about the place, apart from the landlady was ok.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dumpstermonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thefirsguesthouse, Owner at Firs Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

When the people arrived the hall way was being refurbished at the time. I bent over backwards to accomadate these people, when they arrived with all their expensive diving equimpent i kindly stored it in my own accomadation. If the guest house is a fairytale grimm as they put it ,then why would they have bothered even to stay for breakfast! And all the other people that had booked with them were very happy with the guest house.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

The en-suite bedroom was right at the top of the stairs, 3 flights, the shower room smelt of a musty smell, cannot describe the smell, the window wouldnt close properly and the window frames inside was black, hadn't been cleaned in years. There was a fridge in the dining room but the ice box was full of ice, there again we couldn't use it, there wasn't anyone in to see to us except the owners mother who was flustered and didn't know which room we were supposed to be in, at first she gave us a key, for the ensuite then decided we were in the wrong room gave us another key, for a single room. the double bed was two singles zipped together, and the mattress on one was faulty.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barneyHarlech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thefirsguesthouse, Owner at Firs Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2011

when you booked you did not request a room on the lower level, if I had known you required a room on the lower leve I would of accomodated you. As for the ice box in the dining room, the fridge is not for guest use. It is to keep the Breakfast Juice and butters ect in for guest in the mornings at breakfast time. If had known you wishd to store frozen food. I could of put it in the freezer in my kitchen. But you never requested this. As for the room we inherited it that way when we bought the guest house from the previous owners. We have since completely refurbished and transformed the room and the en-suite. As for my mother who was in her late seventies who kindly helped me out when i had to go into hosptail myself , even though she was terminally ill herself with cancer and has since passed away was just trying to help me, so that was why mother checked you in rather then myself .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2009

This was my second time at The Firs, this time with my daughter, 16. Our twin room was clean, the ensuite a good size and the breakfast choice very good. Price reasonable too

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveGCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mel060610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sassy W, Owner at Firs Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#7 of 79 in Plymouth
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edgcumbe Guest House
Edgcumbe Guest House
#4 of 79 in Plymouth
468 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barbican Reach
Barbican Reach
#8 of 79 in Plymouth
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Caraneal
The Caraneal
#23 of 79 in Plymouth
53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old Pier House
Old Pier House
#36 of 79 in Plymouth
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kynance House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Firs Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firs Guest House

Address: 13 Pier Street | West Hoe, Plymouth PL1 3BS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range: $60 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Firs Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Firs Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing