We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faultless service at a truely perfect venue!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Faultless service at a truely perfect venue!”
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We had our wedding at Langdon court a few years ago and have since returned many times for special occasions, we love the hotel! The location is stunning, the hotel and rooms are gorgeous and the food is always amazing. We recently organised our daughters christening party at the hotel as its such a lovely place! We would like to thank the owner Emma, Geoffrey, who were always extremely helpful, friendly and professional, and all their staff who went out of their way to make sure the day was just as we wanted it. Nothing was too much trouble, we would also thank Richard and Lousie who also helped make our experience so enjoyable and were on hand all afternoon to ensure the event went smoothly.

All our family friends commented on the lovely atmosphere at the hotel, we will be back Thank you langdon court!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellyjp79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    69
    37
    12
    8
See reviews for
68
113
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2010

We had holiday booked for a long time in advance, and went with trepidation having read the reviews. We cannot agree with past coments. The hotel lived up to our expectations and beyond, with room, service, food and general ambience being superb. The location is truly stunning with delightful views. We will return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spurdog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Langdon court has so much to offer, a wonderful location, a beautiful building, good food and half the rooms are stunning. Half. The trouble is that not all the rooms are on a par, some below the standard you would find in a travel lodge, yet the price remains the same for all the rooms. This however wouldn't be the end of the world as the
location is so beautiful and the food is great, though when you couple it with the rudeness and obnoxious attitude of the staff, mostly those who scurry behind the reception desk in a rat like manner and for whom can be heard making remarks about the guests. It brings the otherwise charming character of the hotel to a new low. Shame.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Labigblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

We went to Langdon Court for a celebration, it ended up as an education. The staff are surly and couldn't care less. I wouldn't ask the chef to make a jam sandwich.
We had to tell them to get us menus. We had to tell them to get us drinks on several occasions. We had to wait an hour and a half for our starters to arrive and then they were still ten minutes from the first ones arriving to the last.
To top it all the food was awful. £8 for two overcooked scallops on burnt peas is a joke, there was something smeared on the plate, it could have been potato but it could equally have been some cleaning fluid there was little taste.
We refused to pay for the food called a taxi and went to the Bridge Restaurant.
This place really sucks don't waste your hard earned money, Harvester offers better service and quality.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank a1acrity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2010

The service and staff at Langdon Court were second to none. I went for a short break with my husband, and everything was perfect. Our room was beautiful, with a spacious bathroom equipped with pure white towels and all we could need for a luxury bath or shower. We took advantage of the delicious full english breakfast, served by well trained friendly staff. There were lots of places to visit nearby including the beach and plenty of places to shop. To sum it all up, we would definitely return to this Hotel as our stay was just wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilymae007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We stayed at the Langdon Court for a family wedding. The place is in an enviable setting and provided a perfect backdrop for the festivities. As stated by other reviews, the food was excellent - in fact some of the best 'wedding' food I have eaten. Most of the waiting staff were pleasant, which made a change from the rather unhelpful reception staff. But unfortunately that's as far as it goes. We paid £188 for our room. It certainly wasn't one they choose to feature on their website. The extra bed provided was, according to my daughter, the most uncomfortable thing she has ever slept on (a full one inch of matress on wooden slates). Eventually she gave up and slept on the floor. Despite being a room for three, the very basic tea making facilities provided only two cups, two glasses etc. There were no proper bath towels. The bedding was old and 'bobbly'. In short, in terms of value for money it is one of the worst examples we have seen. And that's beforte I even mention the £100 'cupboard' my son slept in! It was a lovely wedding - but we feel completely taken advantage of by Langdon Court. Be warned!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank posy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Stayed here for wedding to be honest great place, the staff we re good & food for wedding was very good. The only thing that bugged me was that we had the smallest room and was charged the same as others with larger rooms, there should be some sort of concession for this

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scoobydoo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
5.3 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
3.9 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
4.1 mi away
St Elizabeth's House
St Elizabeth's House
#2 of 3 in Plympton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kitley House Hotel
Kitley House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yealmpton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Langdon Court Adam's Lane, Plymouth PL9 0DY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Plymouth
#4 Luxury Hotel in Plymouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
#7 Family Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy luxury, history and fine hospitality at a magical country house hotel in Devon. Lost in the South Devon countryside yet just a stone's throw from silver sandy beaches and historic Plymouth. Langdon Court is the perfect location for romantic breaks, business meetings, weddings and fine food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdon Court Hotel And Restaurant
Langdon Court Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing