We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food; pop-in for a meal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Guernsey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food; pop-in for a meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Had two very good meals in the restaurant and the brasserie, whilst on holiday nearby. Great staff, lovely food, wine and friendly atmosphere. Good choice of vegetarian dishes too. Walk through the woods to make it into a real adventure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guern2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    67
    35
    12
    8
See reviews for
67
109
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Although we only stayed for one night, I can't recommend Langdon Court enough! We stayed in a premier room which was as comfortable as one could wish for & a beautiful view. Our evening meal surpassed any expectations. In fact I would go as far to say that it was the best meal I've eaten in in a restaurant! The chef has genuine talent!!!! A quiet and relaxing break that we will be repeating ASAP

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eaurouge540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I have read the recent reviews of Langdon court and they have prompted me to write this review. I only have positive feedback of this hotel.
My husband and I got married here on 6th October 2012. I cannot fault the hotel at all- they made our day absolutely wonderful. The staf were so attentive and helpful throughout the whole process- organising a special meal for me at my husband's request, tailoring our wedding breakfast to our specific needs, dealing with all outside staff (such as the men who came to erect the bouncy castle on the day to save me the stress). I really felt that the staff went out of their way to make our day as special as possible. The rooms are beautifully decorated with excellent fittings throughout. The hotel is run by a lovely couple- Geoffrey and Emma. On the night of our wedding my brother unfortunately suffered a severe migraine and Emma and Geoffrey were excellent and so helpful- they got up in the middle of the night to assist.
My husband and I now visit Langdon court regularly for Sunday lunch- again excellent- and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of a special occasion, a wedding or the best Sunday lunch in devon.
All the guests at our wedding had positive comments- saying it was the best wedding they had ever been to.
Please don't listen to the negative comments regarding this hotel- it frustrates me that such a wonderful hotel is criticised on this site unjustifiably.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 997c2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Visited in August for a friends wedding. The grounds were immaculate and inside Langdon Court was just as impressive. 3 course meal for the wedidng breakfast which was standard roast chicken with potatoes and vegetables, nothing WOW about it was just a roast dinner. The interior of the house was the redeming feature for the entire night, beautiful old house with a grand mahogany staircase and a multitude of guest bedrooms. Although we didnt stay i have stayed here before and it has an old rustic eerie charm to it. Due to the wetaher we didnt get to explore the grounds which was a shame. The night time was held in two rooms the bar room and the connecting room and gave an intimate feel to the whole evening. Beautiful house, beautiful wedding.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shona w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We booked into the Langdon Court Hotel to stay overnight after a family wedding on a friday. On checking in we found that the staff were a bit vague as to the logistics of the wedding which was taking over the hotel for the whole day and evening so we would have thought that they would be up to speed with all the arrangements. The hotel is an old building with lots of character but there are a number of issues which I feel need addressed. The tiled floor in the main reception area and public corridors is badly cracked and and in some parts gone completely and is need of some severe maintenance. The room we had was of a very decent size and quite comfortable but there was badly fitting windows in the en-suite ( which had the outside wisteria actually making its way inside) and some doors were also badly fitting with sloping gaps at the top and bottom. There was also evidence of some water penetration in the past and the paintwork has not been rectified and required some maintenance work here. In the breakfast room there was a shelved cupboard with bare wooden shelfs which was very unsightly and with some imagination could have been made quite attractive with some lighting and some ceramics or likewise on display. There are a few open fireplaces in the hotel which could have been at least set for use with logs instead of being completely bare and dismal. The bedroom was comfortable and the ensuite consisted of a large slipper bath with a hand held shower which although very nice was not really practical and a normal shower enclosure would have been more suitable. The breakfast in the morning was very good with a good choice of cereals and a full cooked breakfast was available which was appreciated and well done. The orange drinks at breakfast were a bit too much diluted to be enjoyable. At the wedding evening bar and dance we thought that the bar prices were very high considering that the hotel had been taken over in entirety for the wedding. The garden and grounds are very nice and were well used for wedding photos. Requires some cosmetic maintenance to the building to bring up to the standard expected to be taken seriously.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for the night whilst travelling to Cornwall and chose it due to its reviews. I'm glad to say, that it lived up to them. It's a lovely hotel with modern but classy decor. I ate in the bar, which had comfortable seating, good food and plenty of drinks to choose from including good wines and draft beer. Breakfast was equally as good. My only criticism was that the bed was very firm.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rupert Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We visited for our fourth time, we enjoy the surroundings and the staff are very courteous. Food this time was superb. A lovely salmon starter, beef main and cheese platter for dessert. This place is a little pricy but the building and grounds are well worth a visit to compliment a truly, enjoyable meal. On one occasion we decided to stay over, the room was very clean and spacious. Although this was an on the spot decision, the gentleman was very kind to ensure all was ready for us and the room heated. We will be back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bumble013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
5.3 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
4.1 mi away
St Elizabeth's House
St Elizabeth's House
#2 of 3 in Plympton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kitley House Hotel
Kitley House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yealmpton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Langdon Court Adam's Lane, Plymouth PL9 0DY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Plymouth
#4 Business Hotel in Plymouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
#7 Family Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy luxury, history and fine hospitality at a magical country house hotel in Devon. Lost in the South Devon countryside yet just a stone's throw from silver sandy beaches and historic Plymouth. Langdon Court is the perfect location for romantic breaks, business meetings, weddings and fine food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Agoda, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdon Court Hotel And Restaurant
Langdon Court Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing