We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could have been better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Salisbury, Wilts.
Level Contributor
94 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a difficult review to write because, in many ways, this hotel deserves an excellent rating. The situation - in beautiful countryside close to the beach and the excellent food being two reasons, however there were disappointments too.

We were attending a wedding (4 people) and staying overnight at the hotel. This had been arranged several months previously and, as we were travelling from Salisbury over a bank holiday weekend for a 2pm wedding we wanted to be able to freshen up and get dressed at the hotel. I was assured by email a few weeks before arrival that we could have our rooms by 12.30pm. It couldn't be any earlier, they explained, because they were full the day before and had to clean the rooms. This was fine, as it still gave us time to prepare, and it was agreed.

On reaching the hotel only one room was available and no record could be found of our request - I did still have copies of the emails on my computer. They made no apologies and said the other room wouldn't be available until 2pm! I'm not sure what condition it was in which would necessitate such lengthy cleaning!

We all had to prepare in one room. This was a "Superior" at £150 per night and I was surprised at its quality. It was right at the top under the eaves, which made it cramped and rather gloomy. The bathroom was so dark, lit by only two small ceiling lights, that the ladies had to do their make up under the bedroom window with hand held mirrors. The bathroom door also stuck and needed a very hard push to open and close. Generally the condition of the room and furnishings was poor. Later in the day we were invited into another guest's room of the same "superior" grading and it was twice the size of ours. I would be interested to know who decided on the standard of rooms as it was certainly not consistent.

Apart from this the weekend was pleasant. As I previously said, the food was of a very high quality and the portion size was good - even a bit too generous! Other than at reception on our arrival the staff were friendly and attentive. I would have preferred to give this a 5 star rating, as this was what I had expected but more attention needs to be paid to customer service first.

Room Tip: Avoid room 39 - or any room under the eaves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melbermar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    65
    34
    12
    8
See reviews for
66
104
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed for a few days and so had enough time to fully experience the hotel. The food was consistantly of a high standard, our room was very comfortable and the staff were excellent. What else could you want? Well, for a hotel of this standard and price what was lacking was a sitting-lounge area for guests. There was seating in the reception area, but this was overwhelmed by the reception desk itself and not inviting as a place to retreat to. The hotel has extensive grounds which were well kept and there was a pathway from the hotel which took you to the coast. The route went though a "log-cabin" holiday site, but it was all off-road and very pleasent. It took 30 minutes from hotel to coast and was a nice walk. Once at the beach the coastal path was accessible. We enjoyed our stay and would return. it wouldn't take a lot to make the guest lounge more usable and it would then get an "excellent" .... !! Our thanks to the excellent front of house staff and chefs who did their utmost to make our stay enjoyable,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rod h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hayle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and i fancied a single night of luxury but we did not want to travel too far. We went to Langdon Court without knowing anything about it and we were not disapointed. There is masses of history linked both with the hotel and also with the small church on the coast. Fantastic countryside with great walks. We thought that the evening meal was a bit on the small size but wow, what a tasty and indeed filling meal it was, perhaps these days we are generally just used to pigging out without really enjoying the experience of a really good meal. One word of caution though, don't as we did have a strong tasty coffee too late in the evening, we both lay wide awake until 3.30 in the morning! I think that this hotel is perfect for that short intimate break when you want to splash out a bit.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the front, the spot lights were on all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

On first arriving we were made to feel most welcome by the staff and throughout our stay. Rooms were spacious, food and service excellent, and the staff were warm, unobtrusive yet very personal. Great surroundings for walks. Definitely will go again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed two nights in a superior room. Room was spacious, clean and welcoming - but then I am always won over by a freestanding bath and underfloor heating. It is in very relaxing surroundings., although a bit of a pain to get to due to true Devon single track roads with classic blind corners.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loonybin345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel with fantastic views and gardens. It was a perfect setting for our wedding. The staff, especially Louise and Emma, were outstanding throughout. The food was excellent and the service exceptional during the wedding breakfast. Our wedding guests could not fault the buffet food laid on in the evening.
For those that stayed overnight, they could not believe the bedrooms. Our bridal suite was amazing! And in the morning, the breakfast was just what you needed to set you up for the morning after. Whatever you wanted within reason, the staff provided.
Well done Langdon Court!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muttley0802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have first hand experience of Langdon Court as we married here 10 months ago, when we were invited to a wedding reception we jumped at the chance to revisit. The area and grounds were stunning as always.The bedrooms are immaculate and the food is award winning. The owners and staff are so friendly and helpful, when organising our wedding they couldn't do enough for us.We would love to stay on our first anniversary
(sadly they are booked out, very popular). We would recommend Langdon as a Wedding venue, a restaurant and a 5* hotel. Keep up the good work Emma x

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimbaby41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
5.2 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
4.1 mi away
St Elizabeth's House
St Elizabeth's House
#2 of 3 in Plympton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kitley House Hotel
Kitley House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yealmpton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Langdon Court Adam's Lane, Plymouth PL9 0DY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Plymouth
#4 Luxury Hotel in Plymouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
#7 Family Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy luxury, history and fine hospitality at a magical country house hotel in Devon. Lost in the South Devon countryside yet just a stone's throw from silver sandy beaches and historic Plymouth. Langdon Court is the perfect location for romantic breaks, business meetings, weddings and fine food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdon Court Hotel And Restaurant
Langdon Court Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing