We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT!!!!”
Review of Invicta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Invicta Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2010

4 of us stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and it was excellent from the friendly reception staff to the wonderful spotless comfy en-suite rooms... A good choice of breakfast which is included in the accommodation price...

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1913London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (672)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

551 - 557 of 672 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2010

We stayed four nights and found this hotel met our needs admirably. A clean, comfortable bed, very helpful staff, good breakfast and a nice lounge with bar. Although we did find it strange not to have towel rails in the bathroom, or a place to put toiletries and/or make-up, the power shower was good. The hotel location was perfect to walk to the Hoe and to the barbican.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldebrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

We have just had our Family History Reunion for 40 people at the hotel. The whole weekend was great, from Friday evening through to Sunday afternnoon, All the staff were exteremely helpful, especially Tiffany, the manager, nothing was too much trouble for her. And the food was superb, congratulations to the chef. Many thanks from us all for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrookingSociety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Recently had our wedding reception at this hotel.

Tiffany, the organizer was superb and the day went exceptionally well. The Invicta hotel is very proud of their food and rightly so, the chef is a real asset to the hotel.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

The hotel is in an excellent location, just a few hundred yards from Plymouth Hoe. Our greeting was warm and friendly. The room and bathroom were clean and very comfortable with everything we needed for our stay. We ate one of the best meals we have had for a long time in their restaurant where the chef came out and discussed with my wife what she might like in her vegetarian meal. All members of staff were most helpful. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Organist_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Good location near Plymouth Hoe and the sea. Staff were very helpful. Rooms clean. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggiejaneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Unfortunately our experience hasn’t matched the many positive reviews about this hotel, particularly the attentiveness of the owners and staff. The impression was more boarding house than hotel, run more for the owners convenience than that of guests.

We had to change our arrival date, which we did some 4 weeks in advance, but the hotel failed to record this. The manager called our house at 11.45 on the night they thought we should have arrived to ask where we were. I actually had to send a copy of our telephone records as proof that we had changed the booking, which was accepted, and by way of apology, the room was upgraded. That might have been ok, albeit the tactic of calling in the middle of the night seems unduly heavy handed.

On arrival, the carpets in all of the public areas had been removed, meaning that the sitting area was out of action for both days we were there, and breakfast was served in a room with 3 tables and little else. There was no breakfast menu offered on this day, and clearly a bit of make do. It would have been reasonable to mention this before arrival, or even to have an apology offered, but actually the owner was more vocal about how hard it was for them, and “thank goodness it hadn’t happened when they were busy in the summer” – clearly we didn’t matter too much. Again, these things happen, but the effect on customers should be considered. Breakfast is served from 7-9. We came down at 8.45, and my goodness, was it made clear this was very inconvenient, with theatrical performances about whether the chef could be persuaded to stay.

That aside, the room was clean, but given this was a superior room, it was very small, and no chairs, so combined with the lack of public area, meant perching on the bed. The bathroom was tiny – squeeze around the door to get in, but again clean and a decent shower, but nowhere to hang wet towels. The bed was very comfortable, with nice crisp linen.

Overall impression was that it could have been a decent hotel, but the experience left a lot to be desired. Would we use it again – probably not.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ptripsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#12 of 21 in Plymouth
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
806 reviews
4.5 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,665 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Invicta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Invicta Hotel

Address: 11-12 Osborne Place Lockyer Street | Lockyer Street, The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2PU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Plymouth
#3 Family Hotel in Plymouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range: $86 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Invicta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, light and airy interiors meet Victorian elegance in the Invicta Hotel. The Invicta is a family run hotel and is found on Plymouth Hoe, at the heart of Britain's Ocean City. Ideally placed for enjoying a walk along Plymouth's stunning waterfront from where you can take in the views across Plymouth Sound, one of the most perfect natural harbours in the world. Walk a little further to the Barbican and Sutton Harbour where you can step back in time as you meander the cobbled streets. The City Centre is only a short stroll away with its wide range of shops, both national and local independent operators. The hotel boasts AA 3 star accreditation for hotel accommodation and has won multiple awards including Trip Advisors own coveted Hall of Fame Award given to hotels that have received a certificate of excellence for five consecutive years. We look forward to welcoming you at the Invicta Hotel soon. Please book direct for the best deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Invicta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Invicta Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing