We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”
Review of Invicta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Invicta Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Average too good hotel in top location. Friendly welcome and service, but something is missing. One of those places you come in, spend the night and go out without raising any emotions.
But maybe that's what is expected? We were looking for a bit more.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lilidebruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    169
    39
    24
    9
See reviews for
133
232
44
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My sister and our husbands booked for one night and stayed for two. Helpful and friendly staff and very clean, comfortable rooms. Very close to the Hoe and walking distance to the Barbican. Great view of the Plymouth Eye which is opposite. Quiet road so got a great nights sleep which was needed after the drive from London. Great cooked breakfast and the coffee was good. Perfect boiled eggs - ideal for dippy soldiers. Have never got these anywhere else. Great value for money and would definitely stay again. Lovely people.

Room Tip: We had a front room on the first floor facing the Eye and it was lovely to be able to sleep with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
142 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Booked only for one night, the Hotel is located within walking distance of the coast and the Barbican, right opposite the Plymouth Eye. Therefore a very good place to start exploring. It has a fully licensed bar which gives the opportunity to meet new people or just relax. The staff is friendly and keen to help with local knowledge. The room appeared to be recently refurbished and was very clean. Tea/Coffee facilities and a TV with good choice of programs are in the room. It had a comfortable bed, desk with free WiFi and a bath/shower en suite. Breakfast was a bit late, they said it starts at 7am but when I was down at 7 I had to wait for bread, coffee etc in turns as they haven't set it up, yet. Although the breakfast was ok. Fruit was missing. Would I come back? Yes, I would.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulrike_Christian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Have stayed at the Family run Invicta for the last 4 years with friends for our annual reunion. Roy,Betty and the rest of the staff made us as usual very welcome, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were very clean with exellent facilities and a spotless ensuite. The breakfast is more than adequate with a wide choice available and tailored to suit your requirements where possible. The noise from the resident seagulls can be intrusive, then again I have stayed in a corporate plastic palace adjacent to busy motorways/roads and know which I would prefer and Plymouth is a seaport after all. An inexpensive set of earplugs aided a good nights sleep in a comfortable bed. The Hotel could not be better situated for access to the Hoe,Barbican and Town centre/shops etc, parking is offroad to the rear and free. nothing is too much trouble for the staff who go out of their way to accomodate your requirements wherever possible.Have already booked for next year, after trying several other similar establishments in Plymouth over a number of years I would not hesitate to reccomend a stay at The Invicta.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Subdude103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The hotel was chosen as a result of the location and the reviews on here. We did not have advance reservations and upon arrival SPECIFICALLY asked about internet/wifi in the rooms (an illness in the family necessitates contact via skype). We were given a room on the 4th floor (no lift). After we got into the room I tried to access the internet and could not. A call to reception, and I was told that there was no wifi on the top floor, but I was welcome to sit in the lounge and use the internet -- 4 floors down and no pivacy. Since payment was demanded up front (not at all usual in my experience) we were stuck.

The night was terrible. Since the room was on the top floor, the room was stifling. Open the window and the noise from the sea gulls was constant and made it impossible to sleep; close the window and suffocate.

To be fair, though the room was small, the bed was large and comfortable and all was clean and in good nic. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. If you have to stay here:

1) don't believe them when they tell you they have WIFI
2). Do NOT stay on the top floor!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atlflyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
invicta123, Owner at Invicta Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate and welcome constructive criticism and factual comments. You came into the hotel without having made a booking which is not a problem and were given the choice of two rooms, at two different prices. You chose the less expensive room which was on the top floor. You enquired about wifi and were told that the hotel offers free wifi and that the signal on the top floor is rather limited. As you state, you were more than welcome to use the lounge for your connection. At no point did you state that you wished to Skype. If you had done so, we would have allowed you to use a private office to do so.
Payment is taken on check in as it is in many hotels around the world. Some hotels will do a pre-authorisation at the point of booking which can then tie up a considerable amount of money in the guest's account until it is cleared. We choose not to do this and take payment for the accommodation on arrival. This then sets up a credit line to the bar and the restaurant. Other hotels take the full payment for accommodation at the point of booking. We consider our method to be more fair and not demanding, as stated.
The day you visited Plymouth we had sunshine and clear blue skies and, as you stated, was rather warm. The hotel is some 200 years old and does not have air conditioning. Fans are available should you require one but you did not mention the heat when you were here. Like all sea side locations, we do have a seagull population and they can be rather vocal at times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

We arrived to a very warm welcome which was really nice.
Our room was right at the top but the stairs weren't too problematic despite my pregnancy! The rooms were fairly recently decorated, to an older person's taste but nothing wrong with them. Was nice to have biscuits each and decaf coffee in the room! The bed was two pushed together which is a bit annoying and they were on the hard side. I was glad I brought my own pillows. Great show but really loud fan.
The hotel is practically in the park/Hoe and about a 10 min stroll to the harbour. We used the free carpark as we checked in bang on 2pm so it wasn't full. Great advantage.
The breakfast was only until 9.30 am on a Sat which should really be later. The room was lovely and bright. I loved all the little pots on the tables, no packets! The fry up wasn't the best ever but did the job. Service was given with a smile and the atmosphere was lovely and relaxed. You can tell this place is run by people who have been doing it years as customer service and being nice was important to them rather than just running a business.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HB83100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We've recently stayed two nights in this charming hotel. The location is excellent, close to the waterfront, Barbican and downtown as well, free on site parking is a bonus. We've had problem getting internet on our laptop and the owner went out of his way to try to fix it but it turned out not to be their fault, it worked for everyone else and it worked on my phone. We really felt we were welcome in the hotel run by a very nice family. Great breakfast with a variety of hot and cold options, friendly staff, nice bar, clean nice room. We've changed our booking from a corporate owned hotel originally recommended by a friend to this one as we think it is important to support local businesses and we definitely did not regret it. We will return when on business or holiday next time in the area for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forkissima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
4.5 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Invicta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Invicta Hotel

Property: Invicta Hotel
Address: 11-12 Osborne Place Lockyer Street | Lockyer Street, The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2PU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Plymouth
#5 Family Hotel in Plymouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Invicta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, light and airy interiors meet Victorian elegance in the Invicta Hotel. The Invicta is a family run hotel and is found on Plymouth Hoe, at the heart of Britain's Ocean City. Ideally placed for enjoying a walk along Plymouth's stunning waterfront from where you can take in the views across Plymouth Sound, one of the most perfect natural harbours in the world. Walk a little further to the Barbican and Sutton Harbour where you can step back in time as you meander the cobbled streets. The City Centre is only a short stroll away with its wide range of shops, both national and local independent operators. The hotel boasts AA 3 star accreditation for hotel accommodation and has won multiple awards including Trip Advisors own coveted Hall of Fame Award given to hotels that have received a certificate of excellence for five consecutive years. We look forward to welcoming you at the Invicta Hotel soon. Please book direct for the best deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Invicta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Invicta Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing