We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and great value”
Review of Rainbow Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rainbow Lodge
Ranked #10 of 80 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and great value”
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night with our teenage son. We had a double en suite and our son had a standard single which actually as it's own toilet and shower next to the room. The whole place was welcoming and very clean. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice. We will definitely be returning.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Myakhin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    80
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
56
124
39
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just left the rainbow lodge having had a lovely time! Sue and David are great hosts and we have not one bad thing to say about the experience.
Booking was very easy, at first didn't think they had room they adjusted some things and were able to offer us a room. Sent email confirmation was all very straightforward and hassle free!
Room- clean and homey. Bed very comfortable and bed linen nice and fresh. Provided a fan which was great as room was quite hot being humid in August.
Breakfast- I'm very fussy in terms of most food, but my fussiness was catered for brilliantly, good selection without being too much choice.

Plus fresh cafetier coffee in the morning is always a treat!

All in all great stay and will defiantly be booking in again. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qwertygirl212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed overnight at the Rainbow Lodge on our way to Cornwall. It's a really nice place with a small car park, cosy rooms and delicious breakfast. Good location also (close to the Hoe). Sue and Dave are great hosts. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimidreamer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I stayed in the hotel with some friends on our last roadtrip.

The staff was very friendly. Good size room, room Clean & modern, comfortable beds...
Location is a bit far from the train station but you can get a taxi for 5 pounds.

Great breakfast

good value for money :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Youli A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Cornwall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We were a party of 3 ladies enjoying a shopping trip to Plymouth and stayed overnight at the Rainbow Lodge, from the moment we arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome by the Landlady, Sue. She showed us to our room, which I have to say was immaculately clean and very spacious. I am quite a fussy person when it comes to cleanliness, but I did not need to have any concerns, because the room was spotless.
The room we chose had breakfast included, the dining room again was clean, bright and spacious. Everything was on offer, and catered for all tastes. The breakfast was very tasty and filling.
I would highly recommend this lovely, quaint guest house to anyone staying in Plymouth, you are very close indeed to the Barbican and the Hoe, and around a 15 minute stroll to the town centre.
Thank you to Sue and Dave for a warm welcome and a thoroughly enjoyable stay, you value your guests and it is appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dippydame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed at Rainbow Lodge over the Jubilee weekend, at arrival we were very nicely welcomed by Sue and Dave. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the breakfast really good. We did not realize the breakfast was not included in the price of the room but for 3 pound each we had a very good filling meal. It was obvious Sue and Dave were taking care of their guests in a very genuine way, they are the best b&b owner we have ever come across with (and we travel a lot!).
We only stayed for one night but we wish we could have stayed more.
Really a fantastic place to stay with fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolina PR P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,395 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
764 reviews
0.1 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#16 of 21 in Plymouth
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Lodge

Property: Rainbow Lodge
Address: 29 Athenaeum Street | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rainbow Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 3 Star Guest House on Plymouth Hoe. Ideal location for City Centre shops and commercial hub, Pavilions, Barbican, Uni, all transport modes and Plymouth Sound. Ensuite or standard, B&B or 'Roomkey only'. Singles, doubles/twins. Friendly individual service, spotless rooms, well prepared choice of breakfasts,private car parking on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Rainbow Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing