We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Welcoming, Glad to return”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brittany Guest House
Ranked #32 of 80 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Bath
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean, Welcoming, Glad to return”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

My wife and I have stayed several times at this Guest House and each time have had a different room (all very clean and nicely presented).This time I am working in Plymouth so have a single room. It has the same quality feel of the large double rooms has its own shower room and even though it is classed as a single, the bed is a double (I was very relieved as I am a large person). Breakfast has remained the same high standard and even though we are in a deep recession all the items in both room and dining room are top quality brands. I asked the owner for a recommendation for a country pub and was immediately advised to try the Rose & Crown in Yealmpton. I mention this as it is probably the best pub I have ever been in (my wife is furious to have missed it). Yes it was a 20 minute drive out of the city but so worth it. Roaring log fire, warm welcome, good staff and very good food. I will be leaving a review for them as well. If you have the time while staying in Plymouth you will be so glad you made the effort to drive to this excellent venue. This summer we will be using the Brittany as a base for a touring holiday throughout Devon and Cornwall.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BathZookeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
61
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

The real bonus of this place was the owners, very friendly and helpful providing taxi numbers and general information without being overbearing - so helpful because we needed to be somewhere straight after arriving! The rooms are clean and nicely decorated but the room we stayed in had an ensuite bathroom that could do with an update, but at least the shower was hot! Having said that there was a flat screen tv and library of dvd's available and hot chocolate with biscuits in the room, all very nice touches. I can't say the breakfast was the best I've ever had but was certainly good for a one night stay and we weren't rushed out.

Overall I would recommend this for a short stay for great hospitality, clean room and well located for town without being on a busy street.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Very friendly owners.. Great value, clean, modern, Nice shower, great breakfast and all round very cosy.. Would recommend to anybody.. Thanks for the stay

Karl & nick
Birmingham

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karlkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We were over from Canada in September of this year and stayed with Janet and John for over a week, then left and toured around Cornwall, then came back to Plymouth again and stayed at the Brittany once more. Can't say enough about these wonderful hosts! Rooms are spotlessly clean, breakfasts are wonderful, the location is close to town and the waterfront and did I mention how great Janet and John are???? We have stayed in several Plymouth B&B's over the years but this is definitely our favorite now and will be back to stay again in 2 years. Thanks so much for the great hospitality!! Love from Cindy, Sue, Jackie, Jessica and Katie!

Room Tip: Just ask Janet which one will be best suited for your needs. They are so accommodating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lavamum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2011

This was my 4th stay this year at the Brittney,
Your host's Janet and John Fisher:7
Such a fantastic welcome the the Brittney, helped carry bags,explained everything i.e TV ect. told us many attractions to go and see also lots of leaflets in your room, Thoughtful in every way and always time to chat.
Hallway and landings: Very tastefully decorated and spotless at all times.
Rooms: We have stayed in 3 seperate rooms (and 1 when i visited on my own) Could not find a single fault in any of them, the beds where so comfortable,tea coffee and hot chocolate ect Toilet accsessaries 100% Again decor 100% Cleaning on a daily basis is second to none,
Breckfast: Great food and extra staff make you feel so welcome, nothing to much trouble and once more decor great.

Room Tip: i have slept in the front and the rear of the Brittney, both are so quite.weather i was in the basem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

I have stayed here three times in the last three years while working just down the road at the theatre and I always look forward to coming back and dread leaving. The beds are extremely comfortable, breakfast wonderful and thoughtfully presented, and all run by the loveliest people you'll ever meet. I will never look elsewhere when going to Plymouth.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyroo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Stayed here for two weeks from Canada. Lovely B&B in a perfect location. Couldn't ask for more. If your looking for a place to stay in Plymouth, look no further.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMcGovern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Edgcumbe Guest House
Edgcumbe Guest House
#4 of 80 in Plymouth
447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Pier House
Old Pier House
#36 of 80 in Plymouth
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Poppy's Guest House
Poppy's Guest House
#9 of 80 in Plymouth
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jewells Guest House
Jewells Guest House
#13 of 80 in Plymouth
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cassandra Guest House
Cassandra Guest House
#19 of 80 in Plymouth
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kynance House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brittany Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brittany Guest House

Property: Brittany Guest House
Address: 28 Athenaeum Street | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Brittany Guest House Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing