We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly and warm welcome”

Caledonia Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Caledonia Guest House
Ranked #17 of 79 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2009

Had stayed in this Guest House previously for a holiday and when we required to return for a family funeral although a sad occasion were pleased to book the same place. Very central within easy access of town, eating places and The Hoe. Warm welcome with excellent breakfast. No hesitation in recommending to anyone else and would book again if going to same area.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Datchworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 117 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2009

we had a lovely stay dave and karen are really friendly the food was brilliant and the bedrooms lovely and clean we would definately recommend

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karol_Karolczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

We had an ideal base at the Caledonia.Very clean and hospitable proprietors.Parked the car and wandered around Plymouth.Enjoyed Rod Stewart.Excellent breakfast.we will be back soon

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovewesties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2009

Really nice couple Mr and Mrs Marshall

Good room

Excellent Breakfast

Fresh milk daily for your room

Location excellent

Will stay here again when in Plymouth

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kirsteen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2008

My husband and I are from Idaho USA and we stayed at the Caledonia for several nights while visiting our son who was attending the University of Plymouth March 2008. The Marshall's were the best hosts so friendly and helpful each day. We had never spent a night at a bed and breakfast so this was our first experience. It was very clean and freshly made up each day. The dining room was so cheerful and the food was just great. A traditional English breakfast was available each day or cold or hot cereal.There were several choices for your breakfast menu. We highly reccomend this to any traveler needing a wonderful place to stay while in Plymouth. The location was perfect, just a short walk to the Barbican and the Hoe as well as to the university. We hope to come back again and would stay here as our son has been accepted back to the university for graduate studies Sept. of 2009.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank paigeb_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2008

We have been planning a trip to Plymouth for some time but we needed internet connection while away and loath paying hotel prices. So I searched online for Guest Houses with Free Wi Fi and the Caledonia fitted the bill. Prior to our stay we received an email from the owners to check what time we expected to arrive so they could make sure someone was there to meet us. The free off road parking was great, but as the spaces are in 2 rows of 3 they do ask for your keys in case they need to move your car if your blocking someone in, we had 2 sets on us so that was easy to do. However the on street parking is free between 6pm and 10am (Or was while we stayed there) and the Guest House can provide permits for £2.50 a day as the car park is on a first come basis. The room was very clean and in excellent order, the decoration was very light and airy. We had a small bathroom with a shower but it was great for just the 2 of us. There was lots of choice for Breakfast, plenty of cereal on offer and a choice of juices as well as the cooked breakfasts. We would definately recommend this Guest House (and have done already!).

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank EllssBellss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2007

The Caledonia guest house is in an ideal location near to the hoe which make the barbican and the shopping center all within walking distance.
One bonus is that the guest house has parking at the back (6 spaces) which is rare in Plymouth as most guest houses just have on street parking.
Although there is no lounge or bar the rooms all have TV and tea and coffee making facilities.
Breakfast consists of cereals,fruit juice,toast and a selection of cooked breakfasts,we had full on the first day and scrambled eggs on toast on the second.
As you have a front door key as well as a room key ,you can come and go as you please.
All in all a pleasant place to stay that I will not hesitate in returning in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank foghornred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
3.0 mi away
Ibis Plymouth
Ibis Plymouth
#18 of 21 in Plymouth
593 reviews
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#6 of 21 in Plymouth
2,052 reviews
0.1 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#16 of 21 in Plymouth
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonia Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonia Guest House

Address: 27 Athenaeum Street | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range: $82 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caledonia Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a 'home from home' stay in our listed Victorian guest house. Just park your car and stroll to the newly refurbished shopping mall in the City Centre. Then go and relax on the historic Barbican with the many restaurants and public houses. Also experience the superb views of Plymouth Hoe. Our comfy beds and an excellent breakfast will prepare your day for another Plymouth experience. Breakfast and on street parking plus our own car park is payable on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Caledonia Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing