We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spotlessly clean and excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Strathmore House

Strathmore House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strathmore House
Surrey
Level Contributor
137 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Spotlessly clean and excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed here as a group of five girls in Flat 7, a 4 bedroomed apartment on the top floor.
The flat is immaculate, and very spacious. The kitchen is well fitted out and the beds are amazing - really comfortable. The location is excellent too, near the Hoe.
If I had to suggest a minor improvement, it would be hooks on the back of the bedroom doors - but overall this place is highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank justlovemyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    4
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
14
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Excellent place that is well equipped for self catering. Clean and tidy and staff very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

Extremely pleased that we chose this place as it's central to the hoe, main town and sea and with a sea view

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Modern, clean and spacious apartment in a quiet but central spot. Parking was easy but we didn't need to use the car after we arrived because everything was within walking distance.
well equipped kitchen. We stayed for 3 nights and found this the perfect spot from which to explore the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I was torn between rating this as a 3 or a 4 because overall this is a good option in terms of location and spaciousness. It is a newly-renovated building with modern fixtures and fittings. However, there are some elements that have not been thought through.
1. There are no additional plugs in the living room which made things awkward if you are wanting to use a laptop. Whilst there are extra plugs in the kitchen this is not not ideal as you risk water damage to devices being charged.
2. The apartment left the impression that the builders had only just moved out. Whilst it was generally clean, there was plaster dust on the floor behind the door. Also, some grouting missing in the bathroom. A few other small points - I could compile a snagging list but do not think it is the job of guests to do this.
3. The low-voltage ceiling lighting in the bathroom was inadequate, given the fact that there was no window and the ceilings are high. It took about 10 minutes to warm up sufficiently to be able to find the toilet paper. As a result, we left the bathroom lights on all the time - which rather defeats the purpose of 'green' lighting...
4. A shelf in the bathroom for toiletries would have been nice.

This review is nit-picking, yes, but when you notice one thing, other things become obvious too. If the above issues were resolved then this would definitely be a 4-5 star option in my opinion.

For accessibility, there is a lift. However, any wheelchair users should be aware that you will still need to negotiate some stairs from the small car park to the building entrance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2016nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We used this apartment for a Hen weekend and it was stunning. The rooms were immaculate and tastefully done. We stayed in No. 7 (penthouse) which had views to the Hoe from the dinning room (albeit a small part of it). It had 4 double bedrooms, two bathrooms and a kitchen/dining/lounge area. There were plenty of towels and the kitchen was well stocked with items and lovely and warm after a day out.

Parking outside was pay and display, however they do have a deal with a hotel by the Pavillions to park there for free. A little bit of a walk, but you can unload outside.

Room Tip: Top floor had a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed in a ground floor apartment with a side sea view , staff in the hotel and at the apartment were very helpful and friendly. Well equipped apartment, spacious, warm and comfortable. It was freezing outside during our stay in April but lovely to return to a warm comfortable property after a day out in Plymouth. Seconds away from the Hoe and wonderful views over the Sound. An easy downhill walk into the city centre if you want to go that way or a short hop to the Hoe and walk along the sea front into town.

Only problem for me was the distance to the hotel to use the leisure facilities. I booked this with the intention of using the pool etc but found it too inconvenient to walk to the main hotel to use the facilities, wet hair etc! But as we only stayed a couple of days and the weather was cold but bright, we spent our time enjoying the sights and bars instead! Surprisingly noisy from the street too considering the double glazing, and I think we had an elephant upstairs dancing around at 7.00am on one morning but that can happen anywhere I suppose. Plenty of nice restaurants and bars along the bay to choose from. We tried the Thai restaurant a couple of doors away, very convenient and delicious food, we had a take away because we didn't feel like going out , easy and reasonable price too.

Highly recommended stay especially if you like to eat in at times and for longer stays.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ann1e_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at Strathmore House which is located near to the Hoe. Both times we have stayed in the 4 bedroom apartment. One bedroom is on the same floor as the lounge and kitchen area along with a bathroom, the other 3 bedrooms are upstairs along with a bathroom.
Strathmore House is owned by the Continental hotel but is not next to it so there aren't any hotel facilities as such. Limited parking is to the rear of the building and yes, the space is tight.
The apartment is well decorated and maintained with a fresh modern feel.
The dining table is too small for 8 and very tight for 6 people. The kitchen is well equipped but there are plenty of places nearby to eat out.
The bedrooms are a good size. For my husband and I the beds are too firm and the pillows are too thick but the rest if our group were very happy with the comfort.
Wifi is provided.
One frustration is lack of bins and coat hooks. A bin is provided in the kitchen but there aren't any in the bathrooms or bedrooms. There are no coat hooks on entering the property to hang coats, no where to hang dressing gowns or towels in the bathrooms or bedrooms. It's a slight niggle and wouldn't take much effort to rectify.
We will happily stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suefrombournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
New Continental Hotel
New Continental Hotel
#12 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathmore House

Property: Strathmore House
Address: 13 Elliot Street | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Strathmore House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A selection of serviced apartments, ranging from 1, 2 and 4 bedroom maisonettes. With a contemporary finish and stylish feel Strathmore House offers its customers the freedom of an apartment with kitchen lounge and dining. Everything you need to unwind and relax whether it be part of your vacation or business. Being a stone's throw away from the historic Plymouth Hoe and only a 5 minute walk from the Barbican with an abundance of restaurants bars and entertainment. Very close proximity to town centre and all transport links including Plymouth train station and ferry ports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Strathmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing