We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grosvenor Plymouth
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2009

I've stayed at this hotel on and off for the past 6 months on business. The owners Paul and Lindsay and their staff are exceedingly attentive and warm. The hotels location is superb, right on the Hoe and close to all the great restaurants and quaint little streets of the Barbican. The hotel itself is charming, and the bar/reception area quite beautiful. The rooms are clean and of a decent size with all the necessary amenities. A highly recommended stay!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingOptician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (804)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

767 - 773 of 804 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2009

We had a fantastic time at The Grosvenor, the staff couldn't do more for us we felt completely at home, the rooms were clean and comfortable, loved the flat screen with all the cable channels.

Just a stones throw from the Hoe which is just gorgeous, also a short walk to the City Centre and the Barbican.

The newly refurb'd bar is fab, modern and tastefully done, we enjoyed a few drinks in there! Breakfast was really nice, not greasy (the way I like it) but still a good ol' English breakfast.

Lindsey and Paul are such lovely people you can understand why their staff are so nice and the atmosphere is so welcoming.

We look forward to staying again soon.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kittiekat78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2009

We booked this hotel on the recommendation of a family member who was working locally and had spotted the hotel in the near vicinity. First impressions are often not misleading and the warm and friendly greeting we received upon our early arrival set the benchmark for a short but thoroughly enjoyable overnight stay. The hotel has obviously undergone heavy reinvestment and the signs are that the money has been well spent. A good nights sleep is a prerequisite for any positive review and the quality of the mattress meant that a good nights rest was ensured. The staff were also very flexible with regard to an extra guest joining us for a lateish breakfast and nothing seemed too much trouble at all. Can highly recommend this hotel which represents excellent value for money in a city centre location.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiscerningTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2009

Very friendly owners and staff. Modern contemporary room. Very clean. Quality breakfast with attentive but not intrusive service. Located yards from seafront. Modernising hotel bar, but not an issue and look forward to seeing the result. Doubt if you would find a better hotel with friendlier staff and quality at this price.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanWickerMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

Stayed: January 2009
Thank FunsunMallorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2008

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Noodle10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2008

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Cookie349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,620 reviews
0.1 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
4.6 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Plymouth

Address: 7-11 Elliot Street | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Plymouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
#3 Business Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range: $85 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grosvenor Plymouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the southwest's largest city, The Grosvenor Plymouth is the ideal base for a quality and affordable stay in the historical city of Plymouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Grosvenor Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor Plymouth Hotel Plymouth
Grosvenor Hotel Plymouth
The Grosvenor Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing