We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very pleasant and attentive staff in a good quality Bed and Breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grosvenor Plymouth
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
NORTHAMPTONSHIRE
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“very pleasant and attentive staff in a good quality Bed and Breakfast.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We chose this Hotel as it was close to relatives we were visiting, so we know the area well. On this visit we were very surprised at its reasonably close proximity to the Barbican, with its lovely little shops and restaurants. This area is getting completely updated and attractions are being added so this was a real bonus. The service in this B&B is very good and the room, though at the back of the hotel, was very nicely decorated and of good proportions. The bathroom was very small but nonetheless adequate for our needs, although there was a slight smell probably from the drainage. This persisted throughout our stay but the bathroom was cleaned well and fresh towels provided daily if required. The TV was rather small and as it was wall mounted, sometimes difficult to see at a distance. An extra chair would have made, watching TV better as there was only one armchair in the room. Breakfast was of good quality but I did feel that more fruit would have been an improvement. The Hotel is close to all attractions on the Hoe and is relatively close to the town centre. We will probably use this Hotel in the future as it was of good value and in such a pleasant location. We also strongly recommend the Thai restaurant on the same road, one of the best we have experienced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaklynba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    250
    69
    17
    3
See reviews for
131
301
65
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Lovely place to stay, great service, clean, friendly and helpful staff, good location, close enough to walk into town or go the other way and get a gorgeous scenic view of the ocean. Breakfast was excellent, overall thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: some stairs to walk up or down but not to bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Grosvenor really is just a minute from Plymouth Hoe, and all the wonderful monuments, views etc. The Barbican is a 10 -15 minute stroll.

The staff are exceptional, really helpful and friendly. Our room itself was really good and spacious with lovely high ceilings although the view wasn't in the same category. Unfortunately, in comparison, the bathroom was very small.

Breakfast was good, although the coffee from the machine was, at best, "yucky". Overall not quite 5/5, but it's certainly well worth staying at the Grosvenor if you are going to be in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrCfromHYU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnie, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Excellent location 5 minutes walk from The Hoe and excellent views of the harbour. Large well appointed room in a quiet street. Reception staff friendly and helpful readily providing tips on where to eat. Limited onsite parking but easy access to 'pay and display' street parking that was free after 6pm until checkout time the following day. Served a nice full english breakfast. Plenty of food establishments at The Hoe or Barbican.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank takichum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Fantastic stay at the Grosvenor Plymouth recently. Excellent location, great rooms, great breakfast and v friendly staff. Nice quiet road a 30 sec walk from the coast. Great value for money. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nikki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

By almost perfect I mean there was only one thing wrong when I arrived with my friend, our twin room was a double. The very helpful receptionist, Tania, changed the configuration of the beds straight away, with apologies. After that we thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay, all the staff we encountered were excellent, the hotel is clean, well decorated and welcoming. The room we had was comfortable, everything worked. The bathroom was clean and the shower over the bath worked well. I should have mentioned to reception that there was no hairdryer in the room, but as I had brought my own, I did not think to mention it. A week after we had checked out I had a phone call from the hotel asking if I had seen their hair dryer! Perhaps they should check a bit more regularly.
The breakfasts we had were really good, help yourself to cereal, juice & hot drinks while your cooked breakfast is freshly prepared.
Parking is limited at the back of the hotel, but a day permit is available for £3 for street parking.
The location is good, near the Hoe and a short walk to the centre of town.
I would love to go back sometime soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoseThorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We found the hotel to be good value for money due to its close proximity to the Hoe and Plymouth Barbican.

Upon entering, the hotel had a modern feel and was nicely decorated. The room was cosy, warm in the evenings and cleaned to a high standard daily. The only downside was the fact that our window offered no view at all as it was directly opposite a wall. Saying that, the hotel was only minutes away from a spectacular view of the harbour and this more than compensated for the lack of a view from our room.

The breakfast area was clean and the surroundings pleasant. The cooked breakfast was perfect fuel for a long day out, however, a continental option would provide more variety for guests (croissants, yoghurts etc.). The provision of an evening meal would also be a welcome addition, particularly for those who arrive late or who have had a long journey.

The biggest asset of the establishment is the staff who were very friendly and provided a map and tips with where to eat and what to see during our stay.

We would certainly consider staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeOR1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
4.6 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Plymouth
Holiday Inn Plymouth
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Plymouth

Property: The Grosvenor Plymouth
Address: 7-11 Elliot Street | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2PP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Plymouth
#3 Business Hotel in Plymouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grosvenor Plymouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the southwest's largest city, the Grosvenor Plymouth is the ideal base for a quality and affordable stay in the historical city of Plymouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grosvenor Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor Plymouth Hotel Plymouth
Grosvenor Hotel Plymouth
The Grosvenor Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing