We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value bed and breakfast”

Four Seasons Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Four Seasons Guest House
Ranked #41 of 78 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good value bed and breakfast”
Reviewed July 16, 2011

All in all a very good bed and breakfast with a nice welcome and friendly service throughout. We had room 2 which overlooks the park opposite, although quite small the large bay window helps to make it feel light and airy. Everything we would expect was provided such as flat screen tv, tea/coffee making facilities and a good selection of toiletries available if required. Bed was comfy with adequate pillows which makes a nice change. Only minor negatives were that room is looking a little tired, badly chipped paint work and marked walls and carpet can give the impression that the room is not clean but it certainly was and to a high standard, also there was a lot of external noise as it would appear that people pass through on their way to and from the Hoe and were not averse to singing themselves home in the small hours!!
The breakfast room was comfortable and well furnished, not cramped as in some establishments. The menu offered a a good selection to choose from and eveything we sampled was of excellent quality, particularly the eggs and sausage and was well cooked, with coffee and toast replenished several times.
We would certainly stay here again if we were in the area and not hesitate to recommended it to anyone looking for a value for money bed and breakfast in Plymouth.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brady1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    21
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
30
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We found this to be a very well run traditional B & B. The owners were friendly and helpful and went out of their way to be of service to their guests. It was clean and well presented and the breakfast was good. It is in a prime location near the Hoe with its sights and leisure facilities. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarthaJane_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

Just stayed one night here with a friend, following comments on Tripadvisor. Good location - walking distance from station (15 mins), Barbican, Hoe and shopping centre nearer. Walking distance to restaurants too. Did not take car but could see that parking nearby is metered and always looked full. Hosts were informal, friednly and efficent. Twin room was fine - decor was neutral and warming. Ensuite shower was compact but all was clean with toiletries.Good breakfast. If you want a typical B&B but with no chintz you can't go far wrong here

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suze068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2010

The Memorials, shopping and the harbour are all within walking distance. We were on the top floor but thine host did take our bags up.....Bathrooms were very small. Service was very good giving us breakfast very early when we needed it. Hosts were very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabella055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRW
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

We spent our second time with Bob and Kate and it was again a perfect trip to Four Seasons.
Well equipped in a lovely style, an amazing breakfast from Bob with beautiful service from Kate, close to Barbican and the Hoe - we were again happy about this B&B ! High recommondable. Thanks and best regards from Germany

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThR09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EU
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2009

The Lady of the House very friendly and helpful. Location is good but car parking is very problematical. Room very small but clean. Ensuite bathroom was tiny but well supplied with towels,shampoo etc. Breakfast was OK but don't leave it until the "last minute" to order. There is no Guest lounge or garden. Based on the expectations gleaned from the Four Seasons website and Trip Advisor reviews, the visit was a big disappointment. Being greeted by an unshaven, barefooted gentleman on arrival is not what we would have expected from a 4 Star English Tourist Board Guest House and created a very bad first impression. During our stay the owner's dog entered the dining-room, roamed around the kitchen and barked that could be heard in our bedroom . Obviously the English Tourist Board Star Ratings and the Health Regulations regarding dogs etc, differ from the American and other European standards we are accustomed to. For these reasons I could not recommend the Four Seasons Guest House to my friends. In fairness to the proprietors, other than in London, I have yet to experience a satisfactory stay in an hotel, including the Grand Hotel Eastbourne, or guesthouse in the UK. Maybe I am more discerning and demanding than other Trip Advisor reviewers.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Realtin1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isles of scilly cornwall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

me and my husband only stayed for one night but had a lovely stay which was very comfortable,the bedroom was very clean. It is only a short walk to the hoe and other attractions. Breakfast was great. will defintly be back

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicscilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Barbican Reach
Barbican Reach
#7 of 78 in Plymouth
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
George Guest House
George Guest House
#45 of 78 in Plymouth
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Mia
Casa Mia
#31 of 78 in Plymouth
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
The Pub On The Hoe
#66 of 78 in Plymouth
1 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Moorings Guest House
The Moorings Guest House
#29 of 78 in Plymouth
92 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mariners Guest House
Mariners Guest House
#15 of 78 in Plymouth
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Guest House

Property: Four Seasons Guest House
Address: 207 Citadel Road East | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Seasons Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Plymouth
Plymouth Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing