We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B - Bed comfy & Breakfast substantial!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Squires Guest House
Ranked #12 of 79 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed recently for just the one night to visit my son & grand daughter - enjoyed my stay with no problems whatsoever. Friendly owners who feed you well in the morning (didn't need to eat again until the evening, even though my son almost forced a 2nd breakfast on me at Captain Jaspar's on our walk to the Barbican..................................................)

Will happily stay at Squires again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 244 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

Dave and Paula couldn't do enough for us while we stayed with them this weekend.
I thought the guest house was further away from the town centre than it actually was so getting to the shopping centre was only minutes away as too was the sea front and hoe.
The room was very clean, comfortable and well stocked.
The breakfast was fantastic and everything was cooked to order.
We wanted to find a nice steak restaurant and dave recommended one and even phoned up to book it for us.
I have no hesitation in recommending squires and if I stay Plymouth again I will not be looking anywhere else.
Thank you very much dave and Paula.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My English cousin and myself(American) stayed two nights in this lovely Victorian guest house. What a wonderful experience! Dave and Paula were charming hosts who made you feel right at home. They are "naturals" at what they do. We had lots of fun interacting with them, And what a great breakfast we had. Loved Dave's chef attire. Our room was immaculate, beds comfortable and great hot water to take a shower with. The location is close to the Barbican, City Center and the Hoe. The place has a small intimate quality about it. I would definitely recommend The Squires Guest House and would stay there again if in Plymouth. To Dave and Paula, thank you
for such a wonderful time and watching out for us ladies! Liz D.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 34Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed three nights. Dave and Paula are great hosts. The B&B is in a good location, being not far from the Barbican and the city centre and is close to the Hoe. The room was very clean, the bed comfortable and the sound of the seagulls reminded us that we were close to the sea. The breakfast was very good and Dave revealed how he cooks such a good poached egg. He even offered to give us a lift to the railway station. Above all, it is very good value and we look forward to staying again in Squires Guest House before too long.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveBrissle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

we checked in for one night only on 27.07.2013, as we were attending a party at the local yacht club on that evening, and we needed a place to stay close to the venue. I must say this has to be one of plymouths best b & b's. Well cooked breakfast,very comfortable bed, the room had been cleaned to a very high standard. Dave & Paula really know how to run a guest house. As a chef myself and a former b&b owner, I know quality when i see it. This place has it. A great friendly couple who provide first class service. we would come back again and i would recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay when in plymouth. thanks for a great stay and the lift you gave us to the royal william yard today. once again thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

This guest house deserves to be up at the top of the list. Not that we've stayed in them all but there must be something extraordinary with others to beat this one. The owners are very welcoming without being intrusive and 'helpful' just doesn't come close. Dave even took us for a tour! If you are looking for the modernity of a 'Novotel' this wont be for you but if you are looking for a lovely Victorian Guest House with attentive hosts then this is for you. Very good value for money and easily booked. Ideally located between town centre, The Hoe and the Barbican, would definitely recommend others come and stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theeastons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

the beds were so comfy, the owners were fab! breakfast was amazing, fresh coffee and fantastic poached eggs. it was a really warm eve so my room was hot but very clean and had everything I needed

will return on my next trip to Plymouth and recommend to others

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molly s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
3.0 mi away
Ibis Plymouth
Ibis Plymouth
#18 of 21 in Plymouth
598 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#14 of 21 in Plymouth
157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caledonia Guest House
Caledonia Guest House
#17 of 79 in Plymouth
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edgcumbe Guest House
Edgcumbe Guest House
#3 of 79 in Plymouth
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squires Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squires Guest House

Address: 7 St. James Place East | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 3AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range: $45 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Squires is a four star guest house rated by visit britain and is situated in a quiet secluded square on Plymouth Hoe and within easy walking distance of the Promenade, The Barbican, City Centre, Plymouth Pavilions, Theatre Royal, National Aquarium and Brittany Ferry Port. We are also only a few minutes from Plymouth Rail and Bus Stations. David & Paula offer a very high standard of Bed and Breakfast and take pride in meeting all of our guests' needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Squires Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing