We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'll be back soon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Squires Guest House
Ranked #12 of 84 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hitchin
Level Contributor
125 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“I'll be back soon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

I visit Plymouth about four times a year on business, normally with a work colleague or two. We always stay in Hotels never in guest houses, this will now change thanks to Squires.
I was really impressed by the room, the service, the comfortable bed, the lovely shower, the quality and variety on the refreshment tray and the bathroom selection of toiletries, plenty of large towels too, then there's the freshly cooked breakfast, also excellent
I think this should put you in the picture - if you need more convincing, easy parking, very quiet and close to the Hoe and the Barbican.
We'll be using Squires from now on...providing we can get in!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MumamiaHitchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    22
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
90
51
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, Kent
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Met by Paula, checked in at 11.30. The guesthouse was spotlessly clean, very high standard. Breakfast was exceptional. Probably the best guesthouse we have ever stayed in. No hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YoungFolkestone_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Visited after reading the views on here and can now highly recommend. location is perfect, situated as it is between the hoe and the city centre. Paula and Dave are lovely and can't do enough for you. Their advice and recommendations are spot on. Was worried about parking as the ticket machines outside charge £4.80 for 4 hours! and I really didn't want to have to keep paying/move the car. Fortunately if you ask then Paula and Dave will give you a ticket for £2 for the whole day! Perfect at this time of day when you just want to leave your car and walk around. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OPM1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Second visit. Good location for the hoe, city centre or barbican. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. Proprietors, paula and dave were socialable , knowledgeable and seemed to care about their clientele. Great choice for a stay in the Plymouth area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevejon38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as visiting pavillions for show. Rooms lovely again. Clean and well looked after. Breakfast excellent. Good choice and lovely quality food. Owners lovely and really helpful. Will certainly be back for a third visit :) thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PuddingElephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

highly recommended, very clean and tidy, lovely friendly helpful staff, huge breakfast! one of the cheapest b & b,s without any compromise to standards. I came by motorcycle and Dave allowed me the use of the back yard to park overnight.
will definitely come again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank stuart g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Paula and Dave are consummate hosts and I look forward to going back. Comfy beds, good shower, strong wifi and of course by far the best breakfast in Plymouth (and no doubt the south west!). Dave will even move your parked car to dodge zealous traffic wardens!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hattiehooha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial, Plymouth
The Imperial, Plymouth
#2 of 84 in Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edgcumbe Guest House
Edgcumbe Guest House
#4 of 84 in Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squires Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squires Guest House

Property: Squires Guest House
Address: 7 St. James Place East | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 3AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Squires is a four star guest house rated by visit britain and is situated in a quiet secluded square on Plymouth Hoe and within easy walking distance of the Promenade, The Barbican, City Centre, Plymouth Pavilions, Theatre Royal, National Aquarium and Brittany Ferry Port. We are also only a few minutes from Plymouth Rail and Bus Stations. David & Paula offer a very high standard of Bed and Breakfast and take pride in meeting all of our guests' needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Squires Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing