We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could not have been more helpful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Squires Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Squires Guest House
Ranked #11 of 83 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Could not have been more helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Plymouth was busy because of the firework display and I was arriving late. Dave and Paula went out of their way to make everything as easy as possible for me and welcomed me with great Plymouth hospitality. My stay was only one night and it was comfortable and pleasant. A big thank you to Dave for going out of his way to get me to the early Ferry making it a lovely start to my holiday. Super guest house and the hosts deverve a big thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    22
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
90
51
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Squires is a welcoming and friendly guest house. The hosts Dave and Paula are born and breed in Plymouth and therefore have a great deal of local knowledge which they impart with good humour and a sense of pride. The guest house is within easy reach, 5/6 minutes walk, of all Plymouth has to offer, the Hoe, the Barbican & the City Centre. The welcome was friendly and our stay of 6 days meant we had ample time to assess all the characteristics the guest house had to offer. The room and bathroom were very clean but the furniture (i.e, drawers and wardrobe) needs some updating. The bed was very comfortable and the shower, although somewhat noisy, was much better than is normally found.in the guest house environment. The towels were changed every two days and they were bath sheets as opposed to bath towels which are normally supplied.. The breakfast at the Squires is the best we have ever encountered. Freshly cooked by the lively singing chef (Dave) and presented to restaurant standard reflects the integrity and honesty of the establishment owners. The help yourself attitude to fruit juices, cereals, friut, yogurts etc is also pleasing to behold. The hosts were helpful and knowlegable about the surrounding areas and were keen to assist in even dropping you off at certain destinations if required. The one down side to the Guest House is it's outlook. It predominately looks onto the back of several other properties and the everlasting pictures of an array of multi coloured dustbins gives a false impression of the guest house itself and the treasures that lie within. It is that one fact alone that stopped me from rating the place as excellent. Overall, Dave and Paula run a very good business. Keen, helpful and amusing they provide a service to the paying guest which is difficult to surpass. Their enthusiasm and energy provide the right atmosphere for a pleasant stay, a fact that is borne by the ever returning guests who stay over and over again. A fact we both share should we ever be in the vicinity of Plymouth again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank popeye59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed for 1 night. Was made to feel very welcome, room was very nice stayed in room 4. bathroom was spotless and would definately stay again when visiting plymouth. Good location very close to the hoe. Breakfast was very nice!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We were looking forward to the annual Fireworks Display in Plymouth on Tuesday and Wednesday but the weather was so dreadful that it had to be abandoned. However, The Squires more than made up for that disappoinment. The hosts Dave and Paula were just perfect. We were warmly welcomed and our bags taken up to our immaculate room. Loads of milk, tea, coffee etc. Big soft towels. Tissues, toiletries, hairdryer, TV - all in the room. The breakfasts are delicious and freshly prepared. As much tea, coffee, toast as you wanted. 10 minute walk to Barbican and city centre.Dave and Paula are Plymouth born and so have a great deal of local knowledge which isvery useful. Just perfect. We will return - Angela and Chris

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is the third time I have stayed at Squires and once again I enjoyed a super guesthouse run by fantastic hosts. The guesthouse itself is situated within easy walking distance of Plymouths main attractions, the town centre, sea front and the Barbican and although breakfast only the food is superb. The hosts are friendly, offer a warm welcome and the single room which I booked was perfect for my needs. A competative price rounded off the perfect weekend, roll on next year...................

Room Tip: The single room is ideal for a short break and won't empty the wallet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Three of us stayed on Saturday night after attending a wedding. We were greeted on arrival. We had a single and a twin room, they were clean and comfortable. One thing I was pleased about was the amount of milk available as usually never enough cartons. The beds were comfortable and the room adequate. Dave and Paula made us very welcome and breakfast, which was absolutely lovely, thanks. Dave also kindly took us back to our car which was left at Stanton Heights. What brilliant host.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bovril186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We had stayed at Dave & Paula's guest house before, and returned recently and were not disappointed. They do everything they can to make you welcome, rooms are very comfortable, and spotless - we had an en suite - and beds are comfortable. Location to the 'Hoe' is a short walking distance away, and you can walk to the shopping area if you are feeling a bit more energetic. Parking is available in the street, with a minimal council charge of £2 if you want to leave your car from 10am to 6.00pm, after that, it's free. The highlight of the stay is always the breakfast, well presented and flexible to individual choices. If you are lucky 'Elvis' may be in the building ! Give it a try soon.

Room Tip: I would request a room at the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank June P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial, Plymouth
The Imperial, Plymouth
#2 of 83 in Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Poppy's Guest House
Poppy's Guest House
#8 of 83 in Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squires Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squires Guest House

Property: Squires Guest House
Address: 7 St. James Place East | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 3AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Squires is a four star guest house rated by visit britain and is situated in a quiet secluded square on Plymouth Hoe and within easy walking distance of the Promenade, The Barbican, City Centre, Plymouth Pavilions, Theatre Royal, National Aquarium and Brittany Ferry Port. We are also only a few minutes from Plymouth Rail and Bus Stations. David & Paula offer a very high standard of Bed and Breakfast and take pride in meeting all of our guests' needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Squires Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing