We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great position and decent hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Plymouth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Plymouth
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
337 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Great position and decent hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Just stayed here for two nights this weekend and was generally impressed. Nice spacious bedrooms but the bathroom hadn't been cleaned properly as the bath had several long black hairs in it which we had to clean prior to use. Breakfasts are good although buffet style which I generally don't like. Overall decent value but watch out for the hotel car parking charge which we were not informed of on arrival.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Jim W,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    560
    355
    120
    62
See reviews for
347
438
47
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

I used the Holiday Inn Plymouth for a stopover between ferry and train last week. I chose this hotel after a very disappointing stay at the Copthorn, my usual choice in Plymouth. Well, I certainly was not disappointed this time. I treated myself to an executive room (advance booking £88). It was located on the 8th floor, with fantastic sea view over Plymouth Sound. The room was large and comfortable. The furniture was a bit “old school” and did not match the rest of the room, but bed and sofa were very good, and the TV set of very good size and thank God not attached high on the wall! TV choices were fine though I would have liked a better choice of International channels (I do like my TV Monde). The air-conditioning unit was an interesting one! Very old fashion, separate unit rather than integrated, and noisy as hell! This really needs updating, because I can imagine it unusable in the summer because of the noise.
I had dinner as room service. Service was excellent, the food fine, but what is that new trend of not offering starters on room service menus? The choice of sides dishes was rather small too, and no simple salad on offer.
I also chose to have breakfast as room service, delivered spot on the required time! Well done! But the offering was rather poor for £14. You cannot choose your type of eggs (scrambled only), and only with bacon, sausages (poor/low cost option!). No tomato, hash brown. I had asked for croissant, and got 3 small one, the cheese was grated cheap stuff… Overall, not very good value.
Will I stay again? Probably as this was a much nicer hotel than the other offerings in Plymouth.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leolon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We always stay at the Holiday Inn in Plymouth when visiting our son and are always very pleased. Very comfortable rooms, great location, great breakfast with wonderful views and a good gym! Also, very helpful reception staff. Looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindalarini2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
135 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

First of all before getting into my review of the most recent stay I would like to apologise to the hotel as I have stayed here nuymerous (at least 20-25 times) over the last few years on business and have not left positive reviews despite having had a few enjoyable stays. On previous occasions I have been welcomed on arrival with registration form pre-printed with my name and address pre-printed, and with IHG reward number on with points registered, and generally a nicer room for being a IHG guest. On the last 2 occasions however was told that as the system had changed this was no longer possible and in any case as the bill was going back to my company I wouldnt qualify anyway. When I explained that this has always happened previously (hence why I have thousands of points) the reply I received was "ah well" and that was that! Rooms nice enough and clean as always. Breakfast was very disapponting, took a few minutes to explain that I didnt need a breakfast voucher, hash browns were squashed mush and no others came out), eggs were heard, beans were tepid at best, the bowls of jam (sure they used to be individual pots) had allsorts of crumbs and bits of butter in. Over-eager staff determined to take your plates away before finishing was quite annoying also. Shame about last couple of visits as always found this hotel to be really good and location is fab. Would like to mention Darren behing reception, great lad really friendly yet professional and also the 2 lads behind the sports bar, great banter with them. Will I visit again ? Hmm not sure but for the first time in 3 years I will consider other options where previously selecting this hotel was automatic

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BIGGINS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear BIGGINS1,

I appreciate that you took the time to review our property and thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Member. It is pleasing to know that you found the room you were given to be modern. However, I regret that your breakfast experience was not up to par. We will work on improving this and appreciate your comments as this is our best means of doing so.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon and make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn for two nights covering a big family funeral in Plymouth. From the moment of our arrival up to check-out, I was given nothing short of exceptional attention. The courteous staff, excellent food and room comfort all combined to make for a memorable stay. I rarely have the need to stay in UK hotels, but this week's experience has broken the "spell"

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-view - the views, however high up you are, are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheepash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
157 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed here before, nice position, as a Platinum Elite Member I was upgraded without asking by a very efficient receptionist. Exec room on 8th floor overlooking the Hoe. Free Chocs, water and biscuits too! Didn't eat in the restaurant for dinner. Breakfast was good, usual HI buffet although I do think they could have a look at their bacon and sausages, not as good as some HI's quality-wise. Overall though a nice Hotel. However, when I checked out and paid for my newspaper (again some CP's/HI's don't charge if you're Platinum) I was charged 5p on top of the actual newspaper cost. Now this is a particular bugbear of mine. It really does annoy me, it's not the actual cost - 5p - but the principle. Why do some Hotels do this? Petty and unnecessary. Management, if you are reading this review scrap this now.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Hoe and the higher up the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teejaybeeBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Have known about this hotel for years having been based here in thee 70's. Fabulous location but seems to be populated by the noisiest guests who love banging doors until the early hours and have no consideration for other guests. Should not have to put up with this for the money paid to stay here. Also not that happy with having to pay for the wifi when most hotels have it as complimentary. If it wasn't for the noisy guests then this hotel would still have scored 5 stars but I am regretting staying here and wishing I stayed at another hotel somebody recommended.

Room Tip: If you don't like being kept awake at night by other guests don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Mark G,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. I am happy to read you found our location convenient. However, we understand that having a good night sleep is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the level of noise encountered and hotel policy less than satisfactory. We have taken note of your valuable comments and rest assured, these will be used to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer to our guests.

Again, we appreciate your valuable feedback.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
3.3 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.1 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.5 mi away
New Continental Hotel
New Continental Hotel
#11 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Plymouth

Property: Holiday Inn Plymouth
Address: Armada Way, Plymouth PL1 2HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Plymouth 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Plymouth is in a truly breathtaking location with stunning views overlooking the Plymouth Sound and across into Cornwall, . With 211 bedrroms all air-conditioned and refurbished in 2006, some with sea views, and a contemporary decor throughout, Holiday Inn Plymouth is an outstanding Plymouth hotel, located just 5 miles from Plymouth City Airport and half a mile from Plymouth station. The historic Plymouth Barbican and the extensive range of shops are only a short walk away and our fantastic Elliott's restaurant offers excellent cuisine with panoramic views overlooking the Plymouth Sound. For the business traveller there are 9 air-conditioned meeting rooms refurbished in 2007, a Conference Cafe and an executive lounge. The onsite leisure club provides an indoor heated swimming pool, fully equipped gymnasium with new state of the art equpiment, sauna and steam room. All facilities are free to hotel residents. Visit Holiday Inn Plymouth and experience the delights of this beautiful location with nearby attractions such as the National Marine Aquarium, Eden Project, Plymouth Hoe, Mayflower Steps, Plymouth Argyle Football Club and the fantastic Plymouth City Centre. In compliance with English Law smoking is only permitted in designated smoking bedrooms in this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Plymouth Hotel Plymouth
Plymouth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing