We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Plymouth
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here at the end of Jan with our 2 year old for 3 nights. From beginning to end our experience was a good one. We had informed staff when we booked that we had a toddler with us and as a result they allocated us a double room with a desk so that there was more room for the cot and space for the little one to play. - Very thoughtful as the rooms with two double beds wouldn't have been so spacious. When we arrived the room was clean and ready and the cot bed all made up with a little blanket as well - perfect. The hotel does occupy the very best position right on the Hoe, which means you are only a short walk to the town centre, all the shops, The Barbican with it's many restaurants, aquarium and of course the Hoe itself with its famous panoramic view of the sea. This view is also the best thing about breakfast as the restaurant makes the most of its position with large windows stretching the length of the room so you can begin your day looking out on this amazing seascape.

We also dined there in the evenings so we could eat early and put our son to bed. The food is pleasant as opposed to stunning, but the staff made it particularly good as once our two year old had eaten he wanted to run around. Our two servers May and Christina, helped entertain him so we could finish our meal in relative peace. This little gesture was a god send to any parent and we certainly appreciated it.

There is plenty of parking at the hotel at only £3 per day and you can come and go as much as you like via a token obtainable from reception. It’s worth noting that the car park is underground and has some of the narrowest turns I have ever experienced, a real test of skill.

The hotel also boasts a pool, sauna, steam room and gym, the gym is beautifully equipped and wasn’t that busy and the pool basic but good with yet more views of Plymouth Hoe and always a good place to amuse a small child if the weather isn’t great. If the sun does decide to shine there is an outdoor terrace with loungers.


The hotel itself is standard for a Holiday Inn, comfortable and practical without being stunning however the location is first class and the staff certainly did everything they could to enhance our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HantsHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hiplymouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your extensive review and delighted that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our facilities.
I was particularly happy to read that our team members were so helpful!

I look forward to welcome you back in the near future at the Holiday Inn Plymouth.

Yours sincerely,

Willem Hamel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    563
    356
    122
    63
See reviews for
348
439
47
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in February 13,room good size and clean, however a bit tried looking. No free wi fi any where in the hotel and feel that as many hotels offer this as standard now they are a bit behind the times. Great location very central and car park very reasonable £3.00 a night

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hiplymouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review.

I am pleased that you had an overall pleasant stay. With regards to the wifi this is an area of constant focus and review.

I hope that this will not deter you from staying with us in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Willem Hamel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Following my review on the Gary Rhodes Restaurant, (see seperate review) this is where the wife and I stayed on the Sunday night (3rd Feb 2013). I like this Hotel (my opinion I know) it is located in a prime position for views and also easy access to Plymouth City Centre just a 5 minute walk away. Staff are all very helpful, and the rooms are well laid out, clean, and tidy, although this is a high rise hotel there are three lifts and they are quick so no waiting around. The top floor (Penthouse) is where the bar and restaurant are located with fantastic views across the sound, did not have Dinner here, but had lunch and no complaints, and breakfast was also really nice with buffet so eat as much as you want. I will continue to use this Hotel on visits to Plymouth.

Room Tip: Upgrades to executive rooms will guarantee a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRsCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hiplymouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience.

I am delighted that you had a good time with us and that you enjoyed your breakfast and lunch and in general our facilities.

I look forward to welcome you back at a next occasion.

Yours sincerely,

Willem Hamel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WILLERBY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

we stayed here fore three nights in an executive room overlooking the Hoe. The room was large and very comfy with free wifi, complementary chocolate and tea/coffee making facilities. The bed was so comfy. The reason for our stay was to attend a family birthday party in the State Room. The food and service were fabulous, everyone had a great time and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The buffet style breakfast was good with plenty of choice, large selection of bread and jams including peanut butter. There was something for everyone. We also had a meal in Elliots restaurant and this was also very good value - 2 courses and glass of house wine for £29.00 for two people. My only negative would be the 'traditional' chips served with the fish, they were frozen chips and not very good ones, it would have been far better with less, better quality ones. Sadly, we didn't use the pool as we didn't have time. Overall a very friendly hotel with cheerful and helpful staff, would happily return in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quirkychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hiplymouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely review and I am delighted that you had a good time with us!

I hope that you will stay with us again at a next visit to Plymouth.

Yours sincerely,

Willem Hamel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights on a weekend and through advanced booking, got the room for a very reasonable price. Staff were fantastic and always nice, helped us organise cabs etc. The rooms are quite big, but the bathrooms are small, with the shower behind the door. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but did have drinks a couple of times in the sports bar opposite the lifts, which is a great place to meet up with friends before going out. Only a 5 minute stroll to the Barbican or town, or a more casual 15minute walk along the Hoe. Either way, fab location. Would stay here again next time we are down in Plymouth.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Victoriakm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hiplymouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very happy that you had a pleasant stay at the Holiday Inn Plymouth and of course happy that you share this on Trip advisor.

I was particularly happy to read that you found our "staff fantastic".

I look forward to welocme you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Willem Hamel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I note that the property is not a Holiday Inn owned property rasther a franchise of Queens Moat thus the hotel did not provide many of the facilities that PCR Members would expect such as a lounge, or use of the Internet for free in the room or in a public area.
Recogbition of PCR members was minimal!
The room was clean and comfortable enough altough a little cold as there were no instructions on the heating.
Staff were competent and plaeasant enough however no discretion to provide additional facilities to PCR members.
Would I stay again ? Possibly if the Hotel recognises its PC members and reduces the internet charges .... otherwise I shall have consider the alternatives!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikestokesdxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hiplymouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you to air your comments with regards to your recent stay.

Indeed we are part of QMH hotels and are one of the many franchise companies under the IHG umbrella.
I am sorry that you felt undervalued as PCR member as we always endeavour to upgrade our PCR members in executive rooms when available. Currently we are also in the process of reviewing some of the other benefits.
We do certainly have a lounge and that one is situated on our penthouse floor and we also provide another area of relaxation in our Arena Sportsbar. I was pleased to read you found my colleagues pleasant and competent.

I hope that you will stay again in the near future and we do value your custom.

Yours sincerely,

Willem Hamel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Not a great hotel in need of a good lick of paint. Rooms are comfortable and a good size but in poor condition. The heating comprises of an electric convector heater because the main heating doesn't work. The Food is good in the restaurant and is served on the top floor which has stunning views of the Hoe. The staff here are excellent and are very friendly. The hotel does have a swimming pool, sauna, steam room and gym which are in excellent condition. Recently refurbished I believe after a fire. That said it is located in a lovely part of Plymouth and has ample parking in the basement which is free.

Room Tip: Don't use room below the top floor. These are very noisy due to the Restaurant being above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldguysruleportland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hiplymouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review and I am pleased that you had an overall pleasant stay with us. Moreover I was delighted that you enjoyed our team members.

With regards to our building we are continously refreshing our public areas ( new paint in staircases, new carpets etc..) and of course also in the rooms.

I hope to welcome you back at a next occasion in Plymouth.

Yours sincerely,

Willem Hamel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
3.3 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
#15 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Plymouth

Property: Holiday Inn Plymouth
Address: Armada Way, Plymouth PL1 2HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Plymouth 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Plymouth is in a truly breathtaking location with stunning views overlooking the Plymouth Sound and across into Cornwall, . With 211 bedrroms all air-conditioned and refurbished in 2006, some with sea views, and a contemporary decor throughout, Holiday Inn Plymouth is an outstanding Plymouth hotel, located just 5 miles from Plymouth City Airport and half a mile from Plymouth station. The historic Plymouth Barbican and the extensive range of shops are only a short walk away and our fantastic Elliott's restaurant offers excellent cuisine with panoramic views overlooking the Plymouth Sound. For the business traveller there are 9 air-conditioned meeting rooms refurbished in 2007, a Conference Cafe and an executive lounge. The onsite leisure club provides an indoor heated swimming pool, fully equipped gymnasium with new state of the art equpiment, sauna and steam room. All facilities are free to hotel residents. Visit Holiday Inn Plymouth and experience the delights of this beautiful location with nearby attractions such as the National Marine Aquarium, Eden Project, Plymouth Hoe, Mayflower Steps, Plymouth Argyle Football Club and the fantastic Plymouth City Centre. In compliance with English Law smoking is only permitted in designated smoking bedrooms in this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Plymouth Hotel Plymouth
Plymouth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing