We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming - Great service!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bowling Green, Plymouth
Ranked #44 of 78 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have stayed here every year that I have been to Plymouth for the British Fireworks Championships, and I wouldn't stay anywhere else! The location is perfect, right on the Hoe, only a short walk from the shops in the town centre, and also a short walk to great vantage points for the fireworks/seafront!
It has everything you need, friendly faces from the moment you walk through the door, very helpful, great service and a brilliant fresh breakfast to set you on your way each morning.
The room was absolutely spotless, as well as every aspect of the hotel. I took advantage of the secure parking in the garages to the rear of the premises, which is another great perk that this hotel offers.

Thank you very much for a brilliant stay and service,
Ryan & Katie (Room 9 - 13th&14th August 2013)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 232 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

A very warm welcome. Very friendly hosts. Fantastic breakfasts and immaculately clean accommodation. Pristine bed Linen of the best quality and a perfect location. We have loved every minute of our stay and would not hesitate in making this our first choice in Plymouth in the future. Thank you Jean and Tom for looking after us so well!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just enjoyed a fantastic couple of nights at this great little Hotel in prime position on Plymouth Hoe. We visited with friends to enjoy the National Fireworks Competition which was held over the two nights and we had a great stay. The owners Tom and Jean gave us a great welcome and was so friendly and made us feel at home.
The hotel itself was very clean and smart. We had a very large room with a beautiful en-suite bathroom (the shower was nice and powerful and plenty of warm water too). The room rate was very reasonable and we were very happy that we chose to stay here.
Breakfast was great too and set us up for the day.
We chose to settle up for our stay before the final night as we wanted to leave early to get home in time to be with our daughter when she received her A level results. This meant we would be leaving before breakfast time.... a blow that we would miss that breakfast.
But we were so surprised and blown away to find that, unknown to us, Tom had prepared a bag containing a great packed breakfast for us to take at 6:30 in the morning. That was fantastic and it really helped to give us a boost before our journey. A massive THANKS ! for this.
On the bag was a message of good luck for our daughter.
Well ... Tom... it worked ! I'm pleased to say that our daughter got the results she needed to get to the University she wanted.
Big thanks for an exceptional stay!
Cheers, Clive & Wendy

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clivethegadget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Me, my wife and baby loved out stay at the bowling green we found it to be clean, friendly and in a perfect location. The price was reasonable for the area and found the owner to be very friendly. We would definatly come again and would recommend to our friends and family!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrCaddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I stay at the Bowling Green Hotel for 3 night with my wife and my one year old son. Firstly it's not easy travelling away and staying in a hotel with such a young baby but Tom at the Bowling Green made us and my son very very welcome. The hotel is in an excellent location for shops, restaurants or even a walk up on the Hoe.

The room provide was fantastic!!. Clean, well presented, very comfortable bed and excellent shower. Cot also very good for young son who slept all night for the duration of our stay. Breakfast was very good, and again Tom catered for all of us.

Hotel had a really nice friendly feel to it and would absolutely recommend this Hotel to all, especially anyone travelling with young children!. Will defo return, would be nice to see Tom again as arrived and customers and left as friends!!. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brucelmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is now the fourth year we have stayed at this hotel. This review is the same as our others. as the facts and our opinion remains the same.
This hotel is a very friendly place to stay. The owners, Tom and Jean, are friendly and helpful and nothing seems too much trouble.
Our double room was very clean and comfortable with all the usual facilties one would expect. The hotel is the same, impeccably clean and comfortable.
A good and varied choice is available for breakfast.
The location is also excellent, appprox. 100 metres from the Hoe and next to the "park", the main shopping centre is a about 500 metres away.
Plymouth has much to offer, check out the many on-line guides.
The best feature of the hotel is the friendliness and comfort, together with it's location.This hotel is excellent value and I can highly recommend it and look forward to staying yet again if we return to the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AleHary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Very clean and tidy, breakfast offered very good. Tom was very helpful could not do enough for you. Parking easy £2 per day. Excellent position for walking either into the town or along the Hoe. Would recommend The Glass Blowing House, we had a lovely meal there.

JP

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
4.5 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ibis Plymouth
Ibis Plymouth
#18 of 21 in Plymouth
604 reviews
3.3 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bowling Green, Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowling Green, Plymouth

Address: 9-10 Osborne Place Lockyer Street | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range: $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Bowling Green Plymouth
Hotel Bowling Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing