We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful view, so-so fish and chips”

Duttons Cafe Continental
Ranked #133 of 714 Restaurants in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Wonderful view, so-so fish and chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stopped here while walking from the Hoe to the Barbican. It's in a perfect spot, and the building and grounds are worth a look. We went inside to order, but ate in the beer garden. This was where we decided to get some proper fish and chips, but we were disappointed in the quality.
The local brews were great, though!

A 3-star restaurant, with 5-star views.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanner08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    35
    19
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Proper welcome banter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We visited recently with my neice and had a cracking Cream Tea. We were inside because if the weather and really enjoyed our time. All Good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JLMackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Friendly & good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

This cafe/restaurant overlooking Sutton Harbour, Plymouth Sound and the Cattewater is a good place to eat if visiting Plymouth Hoe. Although the interior is dull, eating outside on a fine day gives excellent sea views. The food is good, well-cooked, good value and the service is friendly. Fish & chips, moules frites, seafood specials all good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnboy99_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We didn't eat here but we stopped for a welcome cider before we walked on towards the Hoe. The gardens have a perfect view over the harbour. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank debbieGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect when the sun shines !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Fantastic location, friendly staff, great service and wholesome home cooked food, a winning combo, you must give it a try !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carla c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duttons Cafe Continental also viewed

 

Been to Duttons Cafe Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing