We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of Reel Cinema

Reel Cinema
Ranked #10 of 28 Fun & Games in Plymouth
Attraction details
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Woman working here was extremely rude to us so we decided to go elsewhere. As we left she proceeded to make snidy comments...what a vile creature

Helpful?
3 Thank Dash123492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    31
    19
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, England
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Revolting state of disrepair!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Cheap but not cheerful. Toilets awash with urine and the whole place stinking (both Gents and Ladies), cinema floor sticky under your feet. The whole place needs to be gutted and refurbished.
Far from being a charming cinema experience it is simply disgusting.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank WanderingAcademic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Kids Club”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I took my grandchildren to the Saturday morning Kids Club to see Ice Age 4. The cinema is old but it is good value at only £1.10 each and its central to everything in town so its good value for money.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank krae27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ancient!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The cinema staff were lovely, friendly people, which was a nice welcome these days. There was plenty on offer to buy as regards to sweeties, popcorn and drinks, but as you head upstairs to the screens you notice that the place needs gutting and re-designing to be honest. However, it is far cheaper than the new cinema a couple of miles away.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank S4rie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Old style charm”
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

It's a "Reel" trip down memory lane coming here as I used to visit as a kid, and very little has changed since then and we're talking over 30 years ago.
The decor has got tired and faded, and could do with a bit of TLC. However it is lovely to see a traditional cinema still going in the face of all these characterless multiplexes that are so common nowadays.
The prices are great, the sound levels and heating are so much better than the local Vue.
Refreshments are not extortionate prices.
Theres no disabled access which is so often the case in these older buildings.
The cinema is also restricted in what films it gets as well so sometimes it misses out on some of the blockbusters, which is a shame as I'd much rather see them here.

Helpful?
4 Thank MaggyAggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reel Cinema also viewed

 

Been to Reel Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing