We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resturant and rooms are rubbish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Continental Hotel
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Resturant and rooms are rubbish”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Food basic. Could not cater for diet requirements. Staff busy doing nothing. Resturant manager cannot cope. Basicaly only stay here if the ymca is full. Only one thing on the menu i could eat and they had run out. Breakfast is tiny. Everything about this hotel is cost saving apart from the prices. Receptionists are great so was the resturant staff until Betty had a well deserved day off

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haj14, Manager at New Continental Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hi Gary,

Thank you for your review. We feel disappointed that you were not completely happy with your stay.

If it would be at all convenient for you to email me yasminh@newcontinental.co.uk with the date of your stay and further comments so that we can deal with your complaint more effectively.

Kindest Regards,

Yasmin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    192
    111
    44
    29
See reviews for
106
188
14
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed for one night on a room-only basis. The receptionist on arrival was ok but not overly friendly, in contrast the receptionist at check out was very happy and helpful. The car park was easy to locate and the hotel was so close to the ferry port (we came off the Spain-UK ferry to stay here), that we were at our destination before some people had disembarked. The interior of the hotel is well restored and the rooms nicely decorated. The bathroom was brand new by the looks of it and the shower cubicle was lovely. Unfortunately, the hotel boiler had broken down on the afternoon of our arrival and was unable to be fixed before our departure, so our showers were "cool" then "cold", (just as well it was a hot couple of days). This was obviously beyond the hotels control, but we were not informed of it until we mentioned at check-out; that there was no hot water. A note under the door would have saved us running the taps endlessly hoping for heat. We thought it was because we were at the top that it had trouble coming through.

Room Tip: If you have a phobia of lifts, best ask for a low floor as it is very small and claustrophobic. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candyrio27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

What a find! looks a little shabby from the outside, but, fantastic inside.
Immaculately clean, very modern, staff excellent, just wish we had stayed longer,
Plymouth is a real gem, much more to it than we could have expected especially the marina area, which, if it hadn't have been for the very helpful lady on reception we would never have found.

Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Any B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

What could you ask for that this doesn't have. Personality from the staff shine through everything. The room that I stayed in was on the small side but comfortable. Food was lovely, served by ever smiling staff.
Good starting point for Cornwall .

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Stutours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

The crumbling aged facade did give me pause. But the hotel while dated & creaky is comfortable and close enough to Plymouth Hoe & the City Centre. Would stay here again for the heated pool, sauna and steam which were lovely. Nice staff as well.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed in the Hotel with our choir, thirty or so plus wives and partners, for the weekend of 23 to 26 may 2014. On arrival we were given our allocated rooms (Ours was on floor two ) . The reception was as would be expected and we were pleased, we went to our room 205 . it was very clean and tidy, a decent size too, very nice and comfy, the bed was comfy . The evening meal though I have to say was awful,( Hake dry as a bone, taters were not good either and the least said about the veggies the better ) this did not bode well for the rest of our stay.But the next morning breakfast well made up for it, well cooked and a decent amount of food and plenty of toast, One of the staff as quite grumpy though, but she more than made up for it late on. The annoying thing was not being able to order drinks and the table, we had to trek some distance to get a bottle of wine, And at £17 for a less than a fiver a bottle of wine, rip off. One day the lift broke down too, and for the poor old guys who are not good on the pins was not ideal as some were on the 5th floor, fortunately i was on floor 2. I would say however this is a very decent hotel well placed for getting about too. The staff could use a little customer care training though, but over all they were fine. Not a bad place to stay i'd say.

Room Tip: Its not noisy ,not much traffic noise and the rooms are pretty much the same so all ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madanc47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

A great hotel, lovely rooms so clean and spacious, plenty of towels and the beds really comfortable, the hotel is very central to all we needed which on this trip was the Theatre Royal, shops and The Hoe, we had some noise from the pub opposite but not enough to disturb sleep the staff were really friendly and helpful, we did not use the pool facilities so can't comment on them but if I go to Plymouth again would happily stay here.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#17 of 21 in Plymouth
29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
760 reviews
3.3 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
1,935 reviews
0.3 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Continental Hotel

Property: New Continental Hotel
Address: Millbay Road, Plymouth PL1 3LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Continental Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Continental Hotel is the largest independently owned hotel in Plymouth. Located in the centre of Plymouth, adjacent to the Plymouth Pavilions - the hotel is the perfect location for business and pleasure.At the New Continental Hotel we seek to offer affordable luxury. We aspire to create an individual, personal and comfortable environment. This is provided with a passion that comes from a family tradition steeped in the hospitality industry and odd eccentricities from being custodians of a grade II listed building that is over 150 years old.Our team is at the heart and soul of the New Continental Hotel and is integral to providing guests with a quality hotel service and being flexible to cater for individuals needs.Step from the bustling centre of Plymouth city into the quiet relaxation of our newly refurbished reception, lounge and Roma Bar. All have been designed to offer a combination of peace and calm ambience in which to read, work and share a drink or snack with colleagues and friends.If you are planning to stay or just visiting our health and leisure complex, sampling the delights of the new restaurant and bars or attending a function for a special occasion, we look forward to meeting you and ensuring your time with us is everything you want it to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Continental Torquay
New Continental Hotel Torquay
New Continental Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing