We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Continental Hotel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Following a couple of bad reviews we were a bit wary but once we arrived this soon disappeared. There is plenty of free parking and the check-in was very quick. Our room was on the top floor and very quiet. It had been updated and the bed was especially comfortable with plenty of good quality pillows. The only negative was the shower which was a bit noisy but was lovely and hot.
On our first evening we had a few drinks in the bar which were a bit pricey but normal hotel prices. We then decided to eat in the brasserie and the food was excellent - the nicest lamb shank I have had for a long time!!
The breakfast was also good with fruit juice, fresh fruit, yoghurts or cereal to start followed by a cooked breakfast of bacon, sausage,saute potatoes, beans, grilled tomato, mushrooms, beans and black pudding accompanied by toast and tea and coffee. The cooked food was served on piping hot plates too.
We also used the leisure facilities which was an added bonus and gave us chance to work off the breakfast!!
We thoroughtly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to our friends and definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHajiyianni, Owner at New Continental Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Lynette,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your weekend with us and hope that you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Plymouth.

Kind Regards,
Y.Hajiyianni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    183
    103
    41
    25
See reviews for
101
177
13
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed for one night to attend a concert at the Pavilion ... which is literally on the doorstep and am frankly stunned by some of the negative reviews on here!
I have stayed in hotels all over the UK from one star to 5 star and found this hotel better than most of the 4 stars I have stayed at.
It definitely deserves to go up the rankings from it's current 3 star.
Staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful - particularly Ben (?) the night porter/barman, who was very attentive and genuine in his attention to customer service.
The room was modern and had everything required - trouser press, hairdryer, tea and coffee, toiletries, freeview tv .... and most importantly - a plug socket next to the bed! Essential these days for charging the phone and not having to get out of bed every time a text comes through!
The bed was exceptionally comfortable and the room was spotlessly clean. Large bathroom which was also spotless.
No issues whatsoever with the lift , noise from other rooms or the windows as suggested in other reviews - I was also in a single room on the 5th floor and it was a Friday night.
I paid £60 for a one night stay and in all honesty would not have been disappointed had I paid more.
With regards to comments about the corridors being old fashioned - the hotel is 150 years old - I would call it character ... and let's face it ... who hangs about in the corridors?
I didn't eat in the hotel so cannot comment on this aspect but the menu in the room looked decent and good value for money.
I would not hesitate in staying in this hotel again, or highly recommending it to anyone else ... I rarely write reviews but in this case I felt it was highly deserved!

Room Tip: The staff are exceptionally helpful so I'm sure if you have any particular request they will cat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHajiyianni, Owner at New Continental Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Vicky,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I will pass your compliments on to the whole team and particularly to Ben our porter.

We hope to see you again soon,

Kind Regards,
Y.Hajiyianni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Single room on the top floor. Windows are a bit old and let street noise in. But that is nothing compared to the noise from the electric shower in the next door bathroom. Paper thin walls and too much noise.
Overall the hotel is average, but at £60 it was OK.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evs_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHajiyianni, Owner at New Continental Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Evs_Family,

Thank you staying with us at the New Continental Hotel and thank you for your feedback. We will look in to the noise coming from the electric shower in the room next door to you, this is something that we were unaware of but thank you for bringing it to our attention.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us again if you are visiting Plymouth.

Kind Regards,
Y.Hajiyianni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Plymouth as we were celebrating a graduation and our Honeymoon. The reception is modern and vibrant. This is as far as modernity went.
The lift was old and in serious need of updating. So much so that it would not go to the ground floor. We had to go to the first floor and walk down the flight of stairs. Thankfully they were shallow and not steep. If they were it would cause problems for people of limited mobility. The bedroom was clean and tidy with all the usual amenities. Considering we were paying £170 for 2 nights, I would have expected fresh milk in the room or at least more than 4 little pots of milk.
The hotel corridors were very old fashioned and in serious need of a facelift. The carpets were worn in places with wallpaper peeling.
The breakfast, although hearty, was nothing to write home about. The buffet part was just grapefruit and yoghurt with apple or orange juice.The full breakfast was as it said on the tin. Neither was it fantastic or awful. The restaurant needed a bit of an update.
Our stay was comfortable and the staff were pleasant. But I wouldnt stay hear again, especially if the price is still £170 for 2 nights.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHajiyianni, Owner at New Continental Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Matt L,

Thank you for choosing to stay with at the New Continental Hotel. It is lovely to hear that you found our staff to be pleasant and that you were happy with your room.

In the last five years the New Continental has undergone major refurbishment and this is still continuing. We never stop updating and we are a very much loved and cared for hotel. We are sorry that some parts of it, such as the breakfast room were not to your taste. We renovated our basement and turned it into a brasserie in 2010, guests have the choice to dine there in the evenings.

Our lift was updated less than two months ago and the the fault last week that you mention was fixed within the hour. We apologise if this caused you any convenience.

We choose not to leave fresh milk in the rooms and instead provide the little pots. If guests require fresh milk we are more than happy to take some up to their room for them.

You paid £85 per night based on two people sharing a double room which included breakfast and use of our leisure club which is a competitive price.

We appreciate your feedback and hope that you decide to change your mind and stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Y.Hajiyianni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potter Bar, Herts (near London), England
Level Contributor
360 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Having wondered where to stay for a short break (3 nights) decided on this hotel as its location seemed ideal.

On arrival the staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Our room was quite a good size and the hotel had clearly been renovated throughout and was quite modern in decor.

One niggle was the bed size and on inquiry all the rooms had the same size except for the executive style rooms which had larger beds.

Anyway the room, had all that one needed including a flat screen TV.

As to the breakfast as my heading this was one of the best cooked breakfasts I have ever had in any hotel (even 5/6 star ones). Even the plates the food was served on were red hot.

Apart from a great choice for the cooked breakfast their was the usual buffet for starters right down to diet style yoghurts for those that wanted them.

As to location it was a 10 minute walk up to Plymouth Hoe and then one could walk along the cliff top right down into the Barbican where the marina and lots of restaurants and quaint shops can be found.

You bare also a short 10 minute walk from the main shopping center or 15-20 minute walk at a snails pace.

Would we stay again. Yes.

Room Tip: Suggest opting for top floor room as over the weekend it may get a bit noisy from the Wetherspoons P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wacky the Wizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHajiyianni, Owner at New Continental Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Wacky the wizard,

We would like to thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. All your lovely comments have been passed on to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you to the New Continental Hotel on your next visit to Plymouth.

Kind Regards,
Y.Hajiyianni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

The title says it all really. Would I stay again? Yes. I think the most important thing is friendly and attentive staff and this is where the New Continental excels. I've stayed at some lovely places that have been totally ruined by the staff, and some dives that have been saved by them. Still, even with the best staff in the world, the facilities were average and the breakfast was a let down.

Plymouth isn't really renowned for its hotels and overall the New Continental beats the others I've stayed at.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisdBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHajiyianni, Owner at New Continental Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear ChrisBds,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the New Continental and for your kind comments regarding our team. We are pleased to see that our hotel beats the other Plymouth hotels that you have stayed in and we hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future. We will endeavour to maintain high standards and work on areas that could be further improved.

Kind Regards,
Y.Hajiyianni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Ideally situated, as next to the Pavillion. Warm, friendly receptionist greeted us, and booking in was straightforward. Rooms were fine for the one night stay. The net curtains could have done with a clean, or replacing and the window sills needed a clean, but the bathroom was spotless, and the power shower amazing. Really comfy bed, with tea making facilities in room.

Room was quiet, and a good night sleep was possible.
Good value, as booked on late rooms.com.
Breakfast was freshly cooked, and tasty.

Room Tip: Room 208 has a comfy bed and an amazing shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anita d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Plymouth
Holiday Inn Plymouth
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Continental Hotel

Property: New Continental Hotel
Address: Millbay Road, Plymouth PL1 3LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Continental Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Continental Hotel is the largest independently owned hotel in Plymouth. Located in the centre of Plymouth, adjacent to the Plymouth Pavilions - the hotel is the perfect location for business and pleasure.At the New Continental Hotel we seek to offer affordable luxury. We aspire to create an individual, personal and comfortable environment. This is provided with a passion that comes from a family tradition steeped in the hospitality industry and odd eccentricities from being custodians of a grade II listed building that is over 150 years old.Our team is at the heart and soul of the New Continental Hotel and is integral to providing guests with a quality hotel service and being flexible to cater for individuals needs.Step from the bustling centre of Plymouth city into the quiet relaxation of our newly refurbished reception, lounge and Roma Bar. All have been designed to offer a combination of peace and calm ambience in which to read, work and share a drink or snack with colleagues and friends.If you are planning to stay or just visiting our health and leisure complex, sampling the delights of the new restaurant and bars or attending a function for a special occasion, we look forward to meeting you and ensuring your time with us is everything you want it to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Continental Torquay
New Continental Hotel Torquay
New Continental Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing