We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrendous”
Review of Hoe Cantonese - CLOSED

Hoe Cantonese
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Horrendous”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Ordered through Just Eat last night. I contacted the Chinese to request it to be delivered between 9pm-9:30pm. It arrived at 10pm having ordered it at eight pm. It was cold, flavourless, not matching the description at all, watery, four tiny fatty and chewy pieces of meat in both dishes and bulked with onions. It was so utterly disgusting that both my partner and I after having had a couple of mouth fulls left the food and used mouth wash and got a drink to get rid of the taste! Have tried contacting them numerous times last night and today and I find it hard to believe that a Chinese would close at 10pm on a Saturday night nor be open on a Sunday early evening. I have never in my life complained about food until now. A complete and utter waste of £15!!! DO NOT GO THERE!!!!!!!!!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    7
    5
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The worst Chinese take away I have ever had.”
Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

Last time I went to the Hoe was 20yrs when it was one of the premier Chinese restaurants.
Made a bad mistake of ordering a takeaway last night after going to the theatre.
Toilet looks like something from Tenno , carpet was filthy and same from first visit. Prices were expensive.
Cucumber in crispy duck soggy and off, mixed starters were deep fried frozen rubbish.
Ribs were cold . Duck was not on the bone and pre-chopped.
Should have walked out as soon as we saw it was empty
Avoid....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aardvarkaaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a total mess!”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Firstly this is not a comment about the restaurant but the take away service. Great menu and lots of choice but when it arrived, eager to eat, only to find that the special rice and noodles were slop, half cup of sweet and sour sauce ...only half full! and the balls....we had to pour the fat out of the bag! And this was only half portion. Rang instantly to complain as we had expected a decent meal, they were nice enough to offer a credit note for £4.90 off our next order but having been totally put off and much of the dinner in the bin, I doubt we'd eat from here again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great little restaurant”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We have eaten at the Hoe Cantonese several times over the past three years. The food has always been excellent and they have put themselves out to prepare vegetarian options especially for us. The place is sometimes quiet, sometimes extremely busy but we have always found the staff/service polite and efficient. The restaurant has an excellent record with The Food Standard's Agency with a grading of 4 out of 5 which is more than can be said for many restaurants.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Horrified by some of the other reviews on this website. This is a pleasant family run restaurant that serves excellent food. Agreed - the decor may not be to everyone's tastes, and the toilets are quite basic, but surely you visit a restaurant for the food and not necessarily the aesthetics. We live locally and dine here frequently, it is simply one of the best restaurants in Plymouth and well worth the visit. I would heartily recommend it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank localgal_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoe Cantonese also viewed

Wembury, Plymouth
Tamerton Foliot, Plymouth
 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing