We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice food and friendly staff”
Review of Veneziana - CLOSED

Veneziana
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice food and friendly staff”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I went here with my sister for a meal recently and found the food to be amazing and the staff to be very friendly. However I should point out that we were the only customers in there at the time which does tend to increase the level of service but I cannot fault any part of our experience.

The food was very very good and the pricing was very reasonable - we were expecting the bill to be somewhat higher.

Recommended!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank voyager8472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    23
    10
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“dont waste your money”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Went here for works Christmas meal, appalling I know its Christmas & you don't get a lot for your money , but you should. Menu looked promising. Had scallops in pesto & hazelnut sauce.3 very small scallops no flavour very disappointing. For main had tuna steak, what a joke that was 2 little excuses for tuna steak about 3" in length overcooked and and as dry as cardboard with a pesto sauce. That was it no veg had to pay extra for that discusting. Complained and managed to get $3 back. Desert triple chocolate mouse was fine. Service slow only 1 waitress for table of 20 + not her fault. But those who had veg bought out before mains shambles. If you want a decent Italian avoid this place save your money its a rip off .

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bondyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“I won't be back!”
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We visited midweek using a groupon.

It was quiet, just 4 other diners. The greeting was friendly, and the menu nice.

We ate scallops to start, a little oily & a small portion but tasty. Then lemon sole in lemon parsley butter, this was greasy fish sat in a puddle of unflavoured butter :( No sides were included so we ordered potoes, they were nice but a little expensive. Deserts of Verne brulee & tiramisu were delightful.

A couple of things really put me off...

The service was terrible, I was interrupted half was through eating my starter to give my groupon for a second time, surely it could've waited till between courses?
My mum still eating, knife & fork spearing a potato in hand when she came to pick the dishes up, I had to point out as she started clearing the she was still eating!!

I also disliked that there was a trolley where all of the dirty plates were left stacked.

Overall, poor value (even with a groupon), so so food and dire service. I won't be going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TraceyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Town”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This place has excellent food and the steak is just fantastic. The menu really delivers and the staff are friendly and obliging.
Try the rioja with a blue cheese steak or the bruchetta, delightful. This is a great central venue to catch a meal after shopping or before the theatre.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank heatherogburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful, lovely cuisine old fashioned service in that you get service”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was my third visit, this time with six friends. Everyone loved their meals . I had scallops beautifully prepared, one of my friends had calamari..the most tender we have ever had no elastic bands!the whole meal was delightful with no one being disappointed from meat to pasta. Theirt tiramisu freshly prepared on the premises is a dessert delight, light but full of flavour.
My only regret for them is that they are not situated somewhere on the Barbican where I am sure you would be having to book a table weeks in advance.
Once again the food and the service was lovely and made our burly night out even more of a pleasure

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank browneyes1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veneziana also viewed

Tamerton Foliot, Plymouth
 
Wembury, Plymouth
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing