We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just another stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
hamphire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just another stay”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Comfortable bed for a change, the room very good all the usual supplies but you had to be careful of the shower as it could get very hot, as my hubby found out.
Finding this hotel was a bit tricky look for the Jury Inn and your getting near, although the receptionist was very helpful when we rang to ask for directions.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickiwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopthornePlymouth_UK, Reception Shift Leader at Copthorne Hotel Plymouth, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, we are glad you have enjoyed your stay. Our reception Team is on hand 24 hours a day for any queries.

Hopefully you will return to Plymouth and find us with ease this time.

Kind Regards,
Carly Hobbs
Reception Shift Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    268
    289
    133
    55
See reviews for
120
288
61
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed here as the hotel we used in the past was fully booked, we will now use the copthorne each time we visit Plymouth, staff at reception were great made you feel very welcome ,had a bit of banter with I think it was David who was telling me I reminded him of jimmy greaves ,this made for a great start as reception engaged in conversation and made us feel welcome
First class

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praze-An-Beeble, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is a well located hotel. Walking distance from the station -mainly on the flat and including underpasses on the busy roads. We had a room in 4th floor view was across town and towards the Hoe. Quiet room, bed comfortable . The decor was a little 1980s but it was clean and tidy. Shower was a bit odd had very big holes!.... So a bit like having a bucket of water thrown at you.
We spent 1 night as we were going to a party. However, we were told on check in that breakfast was £8.95 so went down in the morning as this seemed very good value.when we went to settle up they asked for £11.95 each .. We queried this and told the receptionist what we'd been told the night before. He informed us that it was the lower price IF you booked the night before. We assured him we were't told this by the staff on check in. Kindly, they honoured the price we were told but guests watch for this.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Easterpromise1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopthornePlymouth_UK, Reception Shift Leader at Copthorne Hotel Plymouth, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel. I’m sorry that the situation with the breakfast was unclear. To clarify, breakfast in the main restaurant is charged at £11.95, as part of a promotional offer, if a guest chooses to pre-book breakfast we will do it at a discounted price of £8.95. However this must be purchased the night before breakfast and once purchased they are non-refundable.

I hope this small hiccup doesn’t keep you away and we hope to welcome you back to The Copthorne Hotel Plymouth soon.

Kind regards,
Carly Hobbs,
Reception Shift Leader.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Booked this in a hurry. If I had read the reviews I would have stayed away as they are not complimentary. I was pleasantly surprised, clean spacious room, friendly staff and adequate facilities. Location is excellent being a short walk from the train station and on a main route into the center of town and the Hoe.

Main strength is the staff, but they do need to do more on things like offering free wifi- thats often a deal breaker for me, I don't expect to pay for towels or wifi!

TV was also a bit shaky as there was a web of scart and HDMI cables behind the tv.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces Armada road not the roundabout
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopthornePlymouth_UK, Reception Shift Leader at Copthorne Hotel Plymouth, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing your recent review of the Copthorne Hotel Plymouth. It’s good to hear you have had a good stay with us. Customer service is important to us here at the Copthorne, so we are glad you found our team friendly.

If you ever experience any technical issues again during stays please feel free to contact a member of the team who will be happy to assist.

Many Thanks,

Carly Hobbs,
Reception Shift Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

It was great the hotel was so close to train station especially considering it was raining. The hotel room was big enough, so was the bathroom and it was very clean. But the shower didn't work and I had to use another one a couple of doors down. Not such a big deal because staff reacted very quickly to the problem.. I had a fairly cheap deal with breakfast but had to pay for wifi so didn't use it and I thought dinner meals and wine expensive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huntinginthejungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopthornePlymouth_UK, Reception Shift Leader at Copthorne Hotel Plymouth, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks you for taking the time to review our property. Your comments have been taken on board and will be fed back to the relevant departments.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Carly Hobbs
Reception Shift Leader.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceredigion, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Please don't get me wrong the hotel was very clean and all the staff were lovely especially Marita who served us a smashing breakfast!
I found this hotel to be a dark and depressing place and so passed its sell by date for sure. Our room was just too old, with dreadful wall paper pealing off the walls, broken desk drawer, broken desk chair, a horrible dark damp smelling bathroom with hardly enough light to shave with. I was relieved to see though that in the information binder in our room under the section of services that towels and a bath mat are provided. Thank goodness for that because I forgot mine!
We used the bar for a pre dinner drink with the intention of eating in the hotel but omg! I was shocked the place looked like a retirement home lounge that was absolutely without character and the dining room looking like and old school gym! I'm sure the food is excellent there but I'm sorry but we just couldn't face it and went out to eat.
I have given this hotel 3 stars in my review because it really is so clean and the staff we encountered were great but that's about it! Can't honestly see us using the loyalty program to be honest!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Phil1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopthornePlymouth_UK, Reception Shift Leader at Copthorne Hotel Plymouth, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

May I offer our apologies that your stay has not lived up to your expectations. Although receiving negative feedback is never pleasant it does help us to move forward as a Hotel.

There are a number of hotel rooms that are currently undergoing some refurbishment, including new curtains and carpets. We also hope that soon enough the bar and restaurant area will follow.

I hope you will return soon to witness the changes for yourself.

Kind Regards,
Carly Hobbs,
Reception Shift Leader.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We booked to stay here for Valentines night. Check in was quick and easy. Arriving in the room it was cold and the tv was not working properly. We were just thinking about asking for a change of room when one of the staff knocked on the door on entering the room the first thing she said was its cold in here. She asked us if we would like to change rooms if possible, we said yes. With in a few minutes she was back and we were moved to a different room which was ideal. The meal in the restaurant was excellent and the staff were friendly and welcoming. Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel just for the staff alone.

Room Tip: Anything not on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopthornePlymouth_UK, Reception Shift Leader at Copthorne Hotel Plymouth, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest

May I offer our apologies that your stay didn’t get off to the best start. But it does seem like you received some good service from our team.

We hope you return for a visit to Plymouth soon and choose to stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Carly Hobbs
Reception Shift Leader.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,225 reviews
2.8 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
1,812 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
579 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
736 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Plymouth
Holiday Inn Plymouth
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Plymouth

Property: Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Address: Copthorne Hotel Armada Way, Plymouth PL1 1AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Copthorne Hotel Plymouth 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plymouth Copthorne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing