We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Refurb please!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel Plymouth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Refurb please!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

we really enjoy staying at the copthorne but it is in need of a good refurb. mainly the hotel bar would really benefit from a good paint job and some new furniture.

the rooms are ok, the fixtures and fittlings are dated but everything we had worked well and was very clean.

this could be an amazing hotel if it was given a much needed refurb?!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cher15-2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    267
    283
    133
    55
See reviews for
120
285
60
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
455 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We spent one night in the Millennium Copthorne Hotel in Plymouth for a weekend trip. The place is a bit tricky to find by car, but following the hotel website's postcode for the satnav worked ok. The website states that parking costs £6 a day, but we were not charged. The underground car park has no lift to the ground floor, so be prepared to carry your suitcases up a set of stairs. The room was clean and comfortable. But it is a long time since I have been in a hotel room with a fan in the ceiling (no air condition) and the small vintage tube TV could not cope with the widescreen picture. The location of the Copthorne is in the more boring part of Plymouth, but only a 10-15 min walk down to the historic harbour area. A drawback is the lack of free wifi. Breakfast was basic, but quite ok.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrottingViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopthornePlymouth_UK, Reception Shift Leader at Copthorne Hotel Plymouth, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on the Copthorne Hotel Plymouth.

Should you come to stay with us again, please be aware we do have a service lift which accesses the car park and a 24hr reception team who will be happy to come help with luggage etc. from there. There is an intercom service inside of the car park to reach us.

Our TVs are being replaced imminently to flat screens which should eliminate any picture issues. There are also desks fans supplied in each wardrobe and more available if needed on request.

Hopefully you will not allow these issues from preventing you from staying again and we hope to welcome you back to Plymouth soon.

Kind regards,
Carly Hobbs,
Reception Shift Leader.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

As a seasoned traveller booked in for 2 nights I have to say the Hotel and services grotty, booked as a business trip but with my wife via Company agents. Arrived 9pm as advised and check in super fast, got to room to find no air-conditioning just a wonky ceiling fan from the 70's. Room was small but as it was £55 thats what you get but it was extremely tired decorations and generally deflated my spirits. Went to the restaurant as too late to trawl through a city we didn't know ............ massive mistake! The dining room was worse than Fawlty Towers, the food that followed was no better, my wifes seafood pasta had no seafood and was bland, my "blue" steak was more like road kill. Spoke to waitress who was very apologetic and offered to change the food but we said no if you can't get it right first time why would a second go do us any good!!! The house wine was £20 and rubbish and the reception had not pre charged my tab even though I had pre charged to book so inconveniently had to pay for food and bar bills seperately. Got back to find no iron or board in room so rang down and they had to send someone up to make sure we hadnt made a mistake by not looking in the one very small cupboard and then re appear an age later. At 23:45 I rang my booking agent and checked out for the second night to a different Hotel.

Room Tip: another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sga4359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Plymouth hotels

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

pleasant hotel to stay in, check in was quick and efficient. clear instructions given how to access underground car park, very reasonable £6 a night. room was very good, fridge safe iron and trouser press all present. room was very warm, but we made use of ceiling fan and a free standing fan. too hot at night to have windows closed, fair bit of noise from dual carriage way outside window. but the traffic was very light after 11pm. tv in room was ancient, with a very poor selection of channels.
the bar service on the first night was abysmal, one young lad on his own, a large function in next room with no bar. long queues all night. bar prices horrendously high, so popped over to sainsburys and bought our own, very good to have a fridge in room, and no queing to boot.
would I stay again, probably not, unless I was offered a very good deal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stimmbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Nice hotel.
Decor is fairly dated but clean.
Staff friendly.
Seriously, don't even bother with the Wifi. Costs extra, super slow speeds and dropped connections every 5-10 mins. Not great at all when you're staying away from the office on a business trip.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank homerdjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

On arrival, the exterior looked like a warehouse, but on entering one was really surprised at the reception area. The staff were efficient and check in was effortless and quick. Our room was spacious and definately better than the four star hotel we stayed in Torquay.
Breakfast is fine, nothing to shout about but adequate. Location was good, next to the main shopping area and only 15 minutes walk to the Barbican where all the restaurants are.
Staff was knowlegable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PinPetchThai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights in Plymouth. Very impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel and it was fairly roomy. Agree that the decor and the tv are a little outdated but we still found this to be a very nice, comfortable hotel. The only problem I was a bit disappointed the gym wasn't advertised. We had been travelling for three weeks and the first thing I looked for was a gym. I checked the book in the room and there was nothing about a gym in there. It was only on the last day when I found it by accident as I went down the stairs. The staff were friendly, breakfast pretty average but all in all it did the job and we were impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel. Also the rooms were extremely nice and quiet which was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alycebain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
2.9 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.6 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Plymouth

Property: Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Address: Copthorne Hotel Armada Way, Plymouth PL1 1AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Copthorne Hotel Plymouth 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plymouth Copthorne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing