We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, in city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Stayed at The Copthorne Hotel in November 2011 for a weekend break. We stayed in a standard double room, which was clean and tidt, but smelt quite smokey. Hotel itself is in a great location and right in the city centre - easy access to shops and restaurants etc. Parking is limited and we ended up having to park in the nearby multi-storey carpark, which was expensive for overnight parking. The hotel bar was reasonable, but predictably expensive... I would recommend skipping a drink and heading straight into town.
All-in-all a reasonable stay and is more a convenient place to stay rather than a desirable one.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whiskyvictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,037)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

880 - 886 of 1,037 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2011

The rooms were average reminds me of a travel lodge.Staff were very friendly and helpful,on the downside the second night was horrendous due to guests in the room above coming back at 5 am and banging on the ceiling and slamming doors shouting and swearing.We complained the next day and were then given a room in which one of the beds had not been made ,also one of the beds mattress was broken so we had to make another complaint and were upgraded to a better room .The area in which the hotel is situated is very noisy as its central to plymouth with shouting from drunks going on to the early hours .Whilst we were waiting at reception we overheard a few other guests complaining about noise from other rooms so it seems the walls are quite thin.I wouldnt stay again as its too noisy for me but ok if you dont mind noise.

Room Tip: rooms on the side of the hotel dont seem as noisy ,overlooking the sainsburys car park was very nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicole s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

The Copthorne in Plymouth is a a fantastic central location for visiting the city. I stayed there for a weekend to visit a show at the Plymouth Pavilions, less than ten minutes walk away. In fact anywhere in the city centre is less than a short walk. You can also get to Plymouth Hoe and the Barbican area within fifteen minutes by foot as well. There is an underground car park for around £5 per 24 hrs and if that is full you can use the Sainsbury car park at the same price, although not as secure. Reeception is on the 1st floor and there is no lift between there and the car park , so be warned - either drop off your bags first or carry them up the stairs.
We got a great deal through a voucher on an auction site and for £50 had a standard double room, breakfast and a three course dinner for two. Excellent value for a Friday, Saturday or Sunday night. Breakfast is normally £13 each and dinner £22 each and the room rate for the double would have been £62 for a couple.
There is a small gym with Lifefitness equipment which is tucked away and unmanned. One runner, elliptical, bike, weights station and that is about it. Does the job and all in good condition.

The room was a standard double , rather plain but all the freeview channels on the tell. On the small side but not too small that you had to get out. The shower as strong but only luke warm , Room 421. Worth the deal. The room had a kettle, iron, tea and coffee, desk and chairs.

Dinner was superb, the hotel punched well above expectations. The food was extremely well presented and very tasty. Excellent value even at £22 per head. A busy resturant which is used for breakfast in the morning. Breakfast was exremely good as well. Self service, a full choice of cooked, cold, fruits, cereals , drinks, pastries, cakes, juices and specials available. Pretty darn good and the perfect tart and fuel to sustain a walk around the city.

All in wall it is well worth the deal, check out their website if you do not get the auction deal as they have a best price match and will do as good if not better than any of the booking agents.

Well done Copthorne Plymouth and many thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Only one lift working when I went so check before you book if you do not like waiting or walking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perrycrimmins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Stayed for a weekend, requested a double bed but was given a twin room, a quick trip to reception and the room was changed without quibble. A special mention for receptionist Cheryl. Unfortunately billed twice for our stay, a quick phone call to the hotel and the overpayment was credited back, again hassle free. Our room was spotless as was the bathroom, as previously mentioned reception and hotel staff were polite and efficient. We've stayed at the Copthorne before and look forward to staying again. Excellent location too.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bahiafanSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Advance payment special deal rate was good value. Car parking was a nightmare. The Hotel car parking only caters for about 20/25% of residents with cars. if you get a place best leave car and take taxis. Day time parking in Sainburys expensive and meter needs feeding. Good Breakfast

Room Tip: Have a room at the front of the hotel. Some back rooms are overlooking Sainburys car park which have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Drove down to visit my student son, "parking available no need to book", trumpets the hotel. "Pay for your parking upfront", says the receptionist, "there's lots of room." Next afternoon, the carpark is full. "Just use Sainsbury's,I'll refund your fees in small change so you can feed the meter" So four trips to feed the meter in the afternoon and once again the following morning. What a way to treat your guests!

Room Tip: Go to Juries you can park there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hmbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Just stayed the one night but everything was very pleasant. Staff were polite, room was clean and comfortable.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
1  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,582 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#14 of 21 in Plymouth
159 reviews
2.8 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
2.6 mi away
Ibis Plymouth
Ibis Plymouth
#18 of 21 in Plymouth
599 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Plymouth
Travelodge Plymouth
#17 of 21 in Plymouth
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Plymouth

Address: Copthorne Hotel Armada Way, Plymouth PL1 1AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range: $69 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Copthorne Hotel Plymouth 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plymouth Copthorne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing