We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“appalling cleaning standards”
Review of Ibis Plymouth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Plymouth
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“appalling cleaning standards”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

First impressions were not great, much more like a motel than a hotel as reception was not connected to the rooms, you have to walk up old concrete steps to get to the rooms.
Food in the restaurant was very good though, thoroughly recommend the Aberdeen Angus burger.
When I went to use the bathroom the following morning it was another story altogether, there was hair on the back of the bathroom door and in all the corners of the bathroom floor, i complained to reception on leaving about the state of the bathroom and was told that I should have complained when I noticed it, I explained that I was tired after a long day and only noticed the faults on showering the following morning, I did speak to the manager upon returning home and expressed my concerns and I showed her the photo's I had taken, she agreed that it was not acceptable and said that a member of housekeeping had been dismissed following this incident, I was offered a discount if I went back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2093, General Manager at Ibis Plymouth, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. As I said when we spoke, I am sorry that you were dissatisfied with the hotel. As I also explained, we do have a 15 minute guarantee and we would very much have appreciated the opportunity to resolve the issues during your stay.
We hope to welcome you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    239
    133
    48
    29
See reviews for
103
229
68
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jugon-les-Lacs, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Needed an overnight hotel close to Plymouth after ferry crossing from Roscoff. Booked on the internet in advance. An ideal location, excellent advance booking price, value for money, clean and quiet accommodation with excellent access to and from Plymouth and good parking. All that was needed on hand.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owl22270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2093, General Manager at Ibis Plymouth, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballan, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Even though I was booking accommodation several months ahead of my holiday, the only place I could stay in Plymouth was the Ibis.

Walking from the station was out of the question so you'll need a 16.00 taxi fare return.

Situated close to the Motorway it was vital the rooms were well noise insulated. Though the room was small the bed was comfy.

The restaurant was ok for the evening meal, you'll probably rely on it if you are travelling car-free as we were, there arr no walking distance eateries nearby. Breakfast was just ok for an extra 7.00 cost.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Themikanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2093, General Manager at Ibis Plymouth, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you found the hotel to be comfortable and that you enjoyed your stay.
It is true that we are some 3 miles from the City Centre and the train station. However, there is a very regular bus service from immediately outside the hotel into the city. Many of our guests take advantage of the bus service even if they arrive at the hotel by car.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

For a budget hotel we thought the accommodation was better than we expected. TV, tea making, shower soap, good towels. If you want 4 or 5 star go and pay their prices. Simple but clean and very comfortable, good hot shower. We had the "all you can eat buffet serve yourself breakfast" and found it to be very good.
All the staff we met (for the use of the Management - Friday 6th to Sunday 8th) were very friendly and helpful with special mention for Ben behind the bar on Friday night.
We would not hesitate to recommend the Ibis to those looking for a good budget hotel in Plymouth. We liked it and would stay again.

Room Tip: the rooms are on 2 levels, with half the rooms facing the car park. All the rooms are accessed from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twoshedhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2093, General Manager at Ibis Plymouth, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for this great review of your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and that you found our team helpful. I will be sure to let Ben know of your comments.
Thank you again, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fulgencio, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

A 1night stop from the ferry from Santander easy to find with my satnav very comfy beds and a decent meal for the price.very good breakfast and as much as you want this hotel was convenient to the ferry port and 2 minutes from the A38 as I was travelling to South Wales the next dayWill use it again next year

Room Tip: rooms on ground floor overlook the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2093, General Manager at Ibis Plymouth, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you to Ibis Plymouth again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed for one night before joining the Brittany ferry to Santander. Very good location and although a budget hotel was very pleasant. The receptionist was not hesitant in changing our room to one overlooking the car park. The rooms were very comfortable and functional. Although we did not eat at the hotel the menu looked varied to suite all budgets. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Granville B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2093, General Manager at Ibis Plymouth, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are dlighted that you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
1.8 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
1,907 reviews
2.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,305 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Plymouth
Travelodge Plymouth
#17 of 21 in Plymouth
528 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Plymouth Derriford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Plymouth

Property: Ibis Plymouth
Address: Marsh Mills | Longbridge Road, Forder Valley, Plymouth PL6 8LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Plymouth 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Plymouth hotel is located at the entrance to Plymouth, close to the A38 motorway and with easy access to the city centre, the airport and the university. Situated 7 km from the Tamar Science Park and the Convention Centre, the hotel is 45 minutes from the Eden Project and the beaches of Cornwall. Book one of our 52 rooms (separate to reception) and benefit from use of our restaurant, bar with a terrace area offering snacks 24hrs and private parking. WiFi Internet to cater for business guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Ibis Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Plymouth Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing