We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleased with this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ibis Plymouth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Plymouth
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
OLDHAM
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very pleased with this hotel”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have stayed at a number of hotels in Plymouth over the past 2 years whilst visiting for family occasions. Up until now I have dismissed the Ibis as being a bit too basic. As I needed 2 rooms for 4 nights over the August bank holiday weekend I decided to give it a try. I can only say that I was really pleased with the experience. The rooms were extremely clean if a little dated. There was plenty of hot water and a very powerful shower. The bed was huge and incredibly comfortable. Tea and coffee supplies were replenished each day, this was something that we had to pay extra for in a 5* hotel in Portugal this summer. The rooms were cleaned promptly every day and shower gel & hand wash where supplied. I can't comment on the food as we ate out. The staff were friendly and were able to advise us on interesting places to visit.

The bar area is quite dark and could do with decorating to brighten it up. Two bath towels were provided for the double room and we could really have done with hand towels too. Hair dryers are provided.

I will not hesitate to use the Ibis Plymouth when staying in the area next time. It was good value for money and certainly met our needs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the building away from the car park as it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank march4uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2093, General Manager at Ibis Plymouth, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your review
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    237
    130
    46
    28
See reviews for
102
227
66
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights along with my parents and sister with her family. The rooms were great had everything we needed and the beds were so comfy. My sister booked the family room which was like a mini flat it had two rooms bathroom and lounge and for the price they paid really good value for money.
We all had breakfast included and it was lovely really ant fault this little hotel with lovely staff as well.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2093, General Manager at Ibis Plymouth, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and were impressed. The room was clean and had everything we needed. It was quite dark because it was on the ground floor and surrounded by tall trees but you don't book a hotel like this for the views. We were checked in by Ben who was extremely helpful & friendly. We were so happy with the feel of the bar/reception area that we never even ventured elsewhere for dinner and stayed for breakfast too. All the staff were very helpful & pleasant. The food was good & something is available 24/7. The breakfasts were very nice. I wouldn't look to stay anywhere else if I needed to book a room in Plymouth again. The new Ibis beds are really comfy & we both slept very well, despite being alongside a very busy road.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharontheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2093, General Manager at Ibis Plymouth, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and that the staff were all very helpful to you during your stay
We look forward to welcoming you back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Easy access to most attractions and bus routes. Car parking available. Really friendly and helpful staff, nothing is too much trouble for them and requests/problems are dealt with quickly. Normally choose this accommodation when visiting Plymouth, good value for money with competitive bar prices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank willie487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2093, General Manager at Ibis Plymouth, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that we are your 'hotel of choice'. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

After travelling for almost 2 hours trying to find somewhere with last-minute availability, we ended up at the Plymouth Ibis. This is right off the A38, but it is difficult to locate the entrance as others have noted. We drove right past it without noticing the first time. Once we found it, the reception staff was very friendly and welcoming and we were very glad food is served until late (22:00).

The rooms are exactly what you would expect of an Ibis, and I was pleased there was a bathtub (as opposed to a shower stall). The noise from the A road wasn't a problem at all as the rooms have double doors and the windows must be double-glazed as well. We didn't have any issues with the wi-fi (others said it was slow, but we thought it was normal).

If you're just looking for a comfortable, clean and cheap (£59) place to stay, Ibis fits the bill.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emwm2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2093, General Manager at Ibis Plymouth, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
1.8 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
1,812 reviews
2.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,225 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel
2.9 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Plymouth

Property: Ibis Plymouth
Address: Marsh Mills | Longbridge Road, Forder Valley, Plymouth PL6 8LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Plymouth 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Plymouth hotel is located at the entrance to Plymouth, close to the A38 motorway and with easy access to the city centre, the airport and the university. Situated 7 km from the Tamar Science Park and the Convention Centre, the hotel is 45 minutes from the Eden Project and the beaches of Cornwall. Book one of our 52 rooms (separate to reception) and benefit from use of our restaurant, bar with a terrace area offering snacks 24hrs and private parking. WiFi Internet to cater for business guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Plymouth Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing