We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot bath please!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Reviewed March 21, 2014

“Weekend break”
Stayed there for two nights.
No parking car park full cost £1.40 per hour on street.
No hot water Sat morning or Sat evening - excuse was too many people had used hot water. Ended up boiling 8 kettles - would have liked a HOT shower!!!!
Breakfast was a fiasco on both days we all sat there like lemons for 40 minutes with no food!!
Evening meals, room (bit dated bathroom)and bar service good

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baldandbearded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,023)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

696 - 702 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

Our second visit to this hotel. Ideal location .We had a double room which was spacious , well decorated and clean a good first impression as was the reception and bar area. All the staff that we dealt with were without exception polite , helpful and welcoming we ate in the bar and the food was fine . The only recommendation I would make to the hotel would be to change blankets for quilts and the water was not as hot as it could have been - all in all a pleasant experience and we will use again

Room Tip: all seem large - rooms at rear are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CornwalPIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed there for two nights. No parking car park full cost £1.40 per hour on street. No hot water Sat morning or Sat evening - excuse was too many people had used hot water. Meal Friday night was awful. Sat night starter and dessert was good biput main meal was awful and I have never seen so much meat left. Would definately not return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Nice to stay in a traditional grand hotel that is so well maintained. I stayed here around 10 years ago, since then it has been very well maintained. My room was spacious and luxurious, very comfortable and clean. Food in restaurant was very very good also. Highly recommended and very good value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank 100christophero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised how stylish this hotel is. The staircase is absolutely marvellous! Wifi works only in the lobby which was a disappointment. They also have a computer room in the lobby with a printer.

Breakfast interesting mix of buffet and table servive. Porridge with clotted cream very good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The Duke of Cornwall is a friendly welcoming place to stay for a fabulous city break in Plymouth, although our room could have done with a few finishing touches, overall my best friend and I had a lovely stay and will be going back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank 341anitap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Arrived on a Sunday night had a comfortable single room. Car parking is a bonus in Plymouth. Within walking distance of the centre. Didn't have a meal just a sandwich and soft drink. Had stayed here before couple of years back would stay again if only for the convenience. Nice breakfast too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel0253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
177 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,620 reviews
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
New Continental Hotel
New Continental Hotel
#14 of 21 in Plymouth
560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
666 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel

Address: Millbay Road, Plymouth PL1 3LG, England (Formerly The Duke of Cornwall Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range: $81 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Britain’s Ocean City, the Duke of Cornwall is a stunning period hotel brimming with character and style. Built as Plymouth’s first luxury hotel in 1863, the Duke has been lovingly preserved and enhanced so that its unique Victorian Gothic splendour can still be enjoyed by guests today. The hotel’s 72 rooms are all individually designed with thoughtfully-selected designer wallpapers and vintage furniture, creating a chic look that does justice to the building’s striking architecture. With a range of bedroom sizes and styles available, from comfortable en-suites to indulgently romantic four-poster rooms, there’s accommodation to suit everyone. The Duke’s luxury extends to its impressive culinary offerings. Fine dining is available (for guests and non-guests alike) in the comfort of the hotel’s elegant restaurant. With an AA rosette and a dynamic team of chefs, its dishes look and taste sensational. Light lunches and a generous choice of drinks are available in the lounge, with its welcoming bar and, in the colder months, a homely log fire. If you’re planning a wedding, party or business event, the Duke is the ideal choice. With a wealth of experience in organising celebrations and group events, a range of room options and a full set of facilities and equipment, the hotel has everything you need to ensure your event runs smoothly. And with the backdrop of the Duke’s stunning decor and features, you can be sure your guests will be impressed, whether the occasion is one of business or pleasure. As well as the merits that await guests within, the Duke also offers a fantastically convenient location in the centre of Plymouth. The hotel is a short walk from the city’s abundance of shops, restaurants and bars, as well as the historic Plymouth Hoe, Sutton Harbour and the Barbican, with their spectacular sea views. And it’s a mere stone’s throw from two of the South West’s finest entertainment venues, the Theatre Royal and Plymouth Pavilions – making the hotel the ideal overnight stop-off or meeting place if you’re catching a show. Whether you’re visiting Plymouth or it’s the city you call home, you’ll find the Duke of Cornwall a pleasure to experience. With its fascinating history, friendly but professional service, and breathtaking style, the Duke is truly a gem in Britain’s Ocean City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plymouth
Duke Of Cornwall Plymouth
Plymouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing