We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant, dated and shabby room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good restaurant, dated and shabby room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with our dogs for a long weekend and found it to be an acceptable dog friendly hotel. The entrance, bar and restaurant areas were very nice and the food in the restaurant was excellent. The bar prices where a little steep, over £8 for a couple of drinks. The service was average, some of the staff are slightly abrupt in their manner and some training on how to address customers politely would seem to be in order (for example, when paging the front desk from the car park rear entrance the receptionist simply says "Pull the door!", or waiting staff simply say "finished?" when removing empty plates). Our room was terribly dated and a little shabby although clean and functional, as a dog friendly room one usually expects the more dated rooms so it wasn't a major problem. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the shopping centres and barbican and the free parking is welcomed in a city hotel. We'd most likely visit again if staying in the area but would probably prefer a more recently renovated room.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofCornwallHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Andy P

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you found the hotel to be suitable for your needs. I have made careful note of your comments regarding staff and will pass this information to the heads of department. We pride ourselves on traditional levels of service and are always collectively concerned to hear that we may have under-achieved in any area of service.

Thank you once again for your review and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,
P. Adams
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    343
    182
    71
    35
See reviews for
131
416
41
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our room was ok, not much of a view though and the décor and bed linen were not great, especially as you are greeted with a bright red carpet! The room needs to be brought up to date a little in line with the bathroom. The only great thing about our room was the fact it had a whirlpool in the bathroom.

The food was excellent though and the waiting staff very friendly and attentive. Quite an expensive room at £175 for the night, I was expecting something a little more luxurious, overall the room and its view were quite dreary, definitely in need of a facelift.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericanPie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofCornwallHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear AmericanPie24

Thank you for your review. I am a little surprised at your comments regarding room 306. This is a favoured room and is popular for its bright décor, vintage four poster bed and luxury bathroom. Maybe it isn't quite your taste? I am glad that you found the food and staff to be excellent.

Kind regards,

P. Adams
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Visited The Duke of Cornwall this week for a quiet drink after a course. The service by the staff at the bar was excellent. The rooms at the hotel look amazing and all staff were very polite and friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in Plymouth.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhardingshepphard79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were disappointed at check-in. Two rooms were reserved, no effort to have them close together, took some encouragement to get them to make a change. Rooms were fine but not value for $. Easy walk to Barbican, etc so from that perspective well located, limited parking a bit of a hassle. Was not really impressed, wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofCornwallHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Dave H,

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that we didn't have your rooms together. At occasions these requests can be difficult to accommodate. I'm glad to hear that it was rectified. Parking is limited (28 spaces) but is free and available (some city centre hotels have none or charge).

Thanks again.

P. Adams
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lot-et-Garonne, France
Level Contributor
507 reviews
247 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed here for one night on business on the 4th floor. The hotel was once located opposite historic buildings and it certainly has an impressive history. It's now located opposite a deeply unattractive 1990's concert venue, a municipal car park and some waste land.

Check in was okay but amateur. My room was absolutely appalling though. The windows filthy and broken, decaying furniture, a filthy bedspread and ghastly curtains. It was just shocking! I haven't suffered a bed with horrid sheets and a blanket even my dog would turn her nose up at for years. Obviously, duvets haven't reached Plymouth yet!

The staff are willing and and try and with a bit of refurbishment this hotel wouldn't be too bad.

My meals were surprisingly good and the Maitre'd fabulous but I'd struggle to recommend this hotel.

Gym users please note: Tripadvisor says this hotel has a gym. It doesn't. It's an off-site gym.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francophileonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofCornwallHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear francophileonthemove,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. The area adjacent to the hotel and it's surrounding area is under quite impressive development and has some excellent plans for the near future including a new yacht haven.

We are currently investing in luxury duvets and upgraded bed linen which will be introduced over the next few weeks.

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and found our staff to be efficient.

Thanks again for your review.

Regards.

P.Adams
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

The Duke is a traditional hotel with friendly, professional staff who help at every occasion. The rooms are amazing with each one different to the next. I was at a recent charity event where the room was decorated amazingly and the food was delicious. I have previously been to other events at the Duke and always been delighted with the service and politeness of all who work there. The Duke is a great location, only a short walk from The Hoe. I would always choose to stay at the Duke and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susieharding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Level Contributor
143 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Experiences of this hotel seem to vary quite a lot, we were lucky perhaps, but to be fair we can have few complaints about our stay. Our bedroom was large and comfortable, decor was a bit faded and after all this is an old building so maintainance is likely to be ongoing. Dinner was very slow in coming, especially as there were only five customers, including ourselves, in the restaurant. However, the Hotel had just hosted a large wedding party so allowances could be made, and the food was fine when it eventually arrived. Breakfast was also good and this arrived reasonably promptly. The hotel is very convenient for the city and also the ferry port. As many others point out the staff were all friendly and helpful. There is only one small lift for this big hotel which I suspect could cause problems when busy. You do get the feeling that perhaps the cost of running this old building are getting a bit much and that rooms seem to differ quite a lot. It is not a cheap stay either, but overall we were looked after well.

Room Tip: Inspect your room before payment, they seem to vary a lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brucebassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofCornwallHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear brucebassa,

Thank you for your review. I have passed your comments on to the relevant departments. I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards.

P. Adams
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.3 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Continental Hotel
New Continental Hotel
#12 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
4.7 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
Address: Millbay Road, Plymouth PL1 3LG, England (Formerly The Duke of Cornwall Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Duke of Cornwall, Plymouth's original character hotel, a treasure in the heart of Devon's city-by-the sea. Tower and turret, ballroom, oak panels, elaborate ceiling roses, sea views and cityscape. We have 72 rooms and suites, each with a unique view.Built during the Golden Age of steam, the Duke of Cornwall was Plymouth's first luxury hotel and provides first class accommodation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plymouth
Duke Of Cornwall Plymouth
Plymouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing