We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay, friends recommended this hotel due to it's location and friendliness.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay, friends recommended this hotel due to it's location and friendliness.”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Attended an evening event and had a great time, food of excellent quality considering the numbers. Definitely recommend a stay here, room was very comfortable and warm with a great view of the Marina.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam_Drake186254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    361
    190
    76
    38
See reviews for
140
435
44
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Devon,
2 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

It always a risk taking my fussy parents anywhere new but the Duke of Cornwall did us proud. It was my Mothers' birthday so the pressure was on! She loved the old world charm and grandeur of the building and raved about how clean and comfy her room was. The weather was horrendous and the friendly staff went out of the way to suggest activities in the local area that were undercover as well as arranging numerous cabs. The breakfast was delicious and huge! I would go again and recommend the Duke of Cornwall to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BexandMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My other half took me away for a surprise weekend, the building from the outside is amazing and truly magical; with a lot of history behind it. (a plus, it is directly opposite the pavilion, great for shows)
When we walked in we where greeted with a happy and smiley lady, more than willing to help, it was clean and warm which was great as it had been raining outside. With a lot of history as it is a very old building.
We where on floor three; they asked numerous times if we needed any help or anything then to call down...fantastic service!!!!
Got in the room, huge, four poster bed, whirl pool bath, great shower, lovely television and floor length mirror. It was light and airy and very clean ( and i am a clean freak and have left lots of hotels due to dirt!)
They where extremely helpful for my other half, helping him organise flowers, champagne and fresh fruit.
We had room service for dinner, which was quick and very good quality.(they can cook a steak well) As we where going to the pavilion so wanted to get ready quickly.
The breakfast was lovely and had plenty of choice, very helpful staff and very very polite too, not just us but everyone else in the room.
It seems that there are mixed reviews however we had a fantastic time and have recommended it to many others already
Thank you very much.

Room Tip: we had a four poster room, however if you are not happy with your room, they are so helpful; the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harleight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

the hotel is terrible - its old and there are dirty all over the place. the people working there are terrible and not friendly. The internet does Work and some rooms are just up the kitchen so the room smell of food all day long and a fan run 24/7 - so the clothes smell of food and it had to be washed when we leave the hotel.
The food was terrible and was not eateball.
You have to pay for all nights at arrivel and they reserve the same ammound at your creditcard and will not remove it and there will go 6-8 days before the reserved ammound is gone.

Room Tip: Don´t book a room at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrisseQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Agree with many others, the grandeur of the place and its history is fabulous. We had a lovely stay, The reception staff were very helpful,(especially the charming polish lady on check in)We had a lovely room, spacious clean, bathroom, lovely

Would definitely stay again.Next stay will try restaurant.

Room Tip: we had a refurbished room,very nicely done
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atworthWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Splendid 19th century railway hotel retaining many original features and for the most part brought reasonably up to date, though elements of faded grandeur throughout. We booked a room-only deal for two nights at a reasonable rate. We were provided with a large, comfortable en-suite room on the top floor. No complaints and would use again. No "wow" factor however.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murrayfield-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I have spent an evening at a reception here and then the night. To rate this hotel(I use the term very loosely ) Abysmal is a more Appropriate word. The hotel is dated ,not clean and the staff were Ignorant ,rude In particular the people in charge of the I have never Heard a restaurant manager speak to his staff in such an abysmal manner. I will never return and will do my utmost to let people know my Experience

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie0199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#16 of 21 in Plymouth
34 reviews
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
760 reviews
0.3 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#2 of 21 in Plymouth
617 reviews
4.7 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel

Property: Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
Address: Millbay Road, Plymouth PL1 3LG, England (Formerly The Duke of Cornwall Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Britain’s Ocean City, the Duke of Cornwall is a stunning period hotel brimming with character and style. Built as Plymouth’s first luxury hotel in 1863, the Duke has been lovingly preserved and enhanced so that its unique Victorian Gothic splendour can still be enjoyed by guests today. The hotel’s 72 rooms are all individually designed with thoughtfully-selected designer wallpapers and vintage furniture, creating a chic look that does justice to the building’s striking architecture. With a range of bedroom sizes and styles available, from comfortable en-suites to indulgently romantic four-poster rooms, there’s accommodation to suit everyone. The Duke’s luxury extends to its impressive culinary offerings. Fine dining is available (for guests and non-guests alike) in the comfort of the hotel’s elegant restaurant. With an AA rosette and a dynamic team of chefs, its dishes look and taste sensational. Light lunches and a generous choice of drinks are available in the lounge, with its welcoming bar and, in the colder months, a homely log fire. If you’re planning a wedding, party or business event, the Duke is the ideal choice. With a wealth of experience in organising celebrations and group events, a range of room options and a full set of facilities and equipment, the hotel has everything you need to ensure your event runs smoothly. And with the backdrop of the Duke’s stunning decor and features, you can be sure your guests will be impressed, whether the occasion is one of business or pleasure. As well as the merits that await guests within, the Duke also offers a fantastically convenient location in the centre of Plymouth. The hotel is a short walk from the city’s abundance of shops, restaurants and bars, as well as the historic Plymouth Hoe, Sutton Harbour and the Barbican, with their spectacular sea views. And it’s a mere stone’s throw from two of the South West’s finest entertainment venues, the Theatre Royal and Plymouth Pavilions – making the hotel the ideal overnight stop-off or meeting place if you’re catching a show. Whether you’re visiting Plymouth or it’s the city you call home, you’ll find the Duke of Cornwall a pleasure to experience. With its fascinating history, friendly but professional service, and breathtaking style, the Duke is truly a gem in Britain’s Ocean City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plymouth
Duke Of Cornwall Plymouth
Plymouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing