We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Short Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Short Break”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Another enjoyable stay at this hotel which has been refurbished since our last visit improving this lovely old building. The food in the restaurant was brilliant and all the staff made us very welcome. Good location for visiting the National Aquarium and the Barbican part of the reason for choosing this city to visit.
The only minor criticism the shortage of drawer space, in Room 511, for a trip lasting more than a couple of days.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank friday68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofCornwallHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear friday68

Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and made good use of Plymouth's many attractions. Thank you also for the advise regarding draw space, we will certainly have a look at this.

Kind regards,

P Adams
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    341
    182
    71
    35
See reviews for
130
416
41
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Staff were brilliant nothing to much trouble, unfortunately the hotel didn't live up to the on line brochure it is quite dated (or certainly the rooms we stayed in "yes rooms") i don't think other quests helped as each time we walked out of our room all we could smell was cigarette smoke

Room Tip: sorry but at this time I wouldn't stay again
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofCornwallHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Steve O

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear that you were well looked after by our staff. We have a continuous programme of refurbishment which sees us constantly working to create new and exciting bedrooms. It's a shame that you did not receive one of the many rooms that have already been completed.

I hope you may indeed choose to return in the future?

Many thanks,

P Adams
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Again down for a concert at the pavilions,back in large family room-207,well appointed and staff/atmosphere as good as ever,also handy for a walk on the ho,up to the national marine aquarium,nearby wetherspoons and central for shopping,plus parking.cant fault it for family stay,and handy for the ferry,not surprisingly given its history

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank justinthymeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofCornwallHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear justinthymeEngland

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. I hope we can welcome you back to the 'Duke' soon.

Kind regards,

P Adams
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at The duke of cornwall fri 2nd-mon 5th Nov
The hotel has undergone a makeover and i must say how stunning it is!
The food was amazing and the staff as equal
Car park is useful and were plenty of spaces
Cant wait until i visit devon again and stay here!
Martin

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofCornwallHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Martin U,

Thank you for your great review! We were all really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I hope we can welcome you back again soon!

All the very best to you both.

P. Adams
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A superb 'Olde Worlde' feel to a most comfortable hotel, located very close to the Brittanny Ferries terminal and the city centre a few minutes walk. An excellent food of fayre, friendly staff, and an overall 'gem of Plymouth'

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofCornwallHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Danskconsul,

Thank you for your kind review. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the food excellent and staff friendly. I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

P. Adams
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife & I stayed here only one night & our room was small & tired. No lift to the top floor. The staff were sort of helpful but the food was great. They have refurbished some rooms but mine was not one of them.

Room Tip: Go for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Forests2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofCornwallHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Forests2,

Thank you for your review. I'm not sure you are refering to the Duke of Cornwall. We have a lift which services every floor, the room you stayed in was room 510 which is a fairly large room and recently refurbished? Our staff are always helpful and our food is great! So thank you if those comments are for us?

Regards,

P.Adams
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We made a fairly last minute booking and were upgraded by the family as a surprise. The staff were frriendly and helpful. Staying for 3 nights we had 3 good breakfasts and a very good dinner in the restaurant on one night. The hotel is very impressive from the outside and our room was very comfortable with a sitting area and HUGE TV!
Our only complaint would be the VERY thin sheets with blankets that somehow FELT unhygenic because the sheets were so thin (and low quality pillows too).
That said we enjoyed our stay and would go back (although only on a deal as this is not a very competitively priced hotel!), not least because they had taken heed of my dietary requests and everything I had requested was waiting for me each morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank REVFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofCornwallHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear REVFS

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

P.Adams
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
579 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
1,812 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Continental Hotel
New Continental Hotel
#11 of 21 in Plymouth
484 reviews
4.7 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
Address: Millbay Road, Plymouth PL1 3LG, England (Formerly The Duke of Cornwall Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Duke of Cornwall, Plymouth's original character hotel, a treasure in the heart of Devon's city-by-the sea. Tower and turret, ballroom, oak panels, elaborate ceiling roses, sea views and cityscape. We have 72 rooms and suites, each with a unique view.Built during the Golden Age of steam, the Duke of Cornwall was Plymouth's first luxury hotel and provides first class accommodation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plymouth
Duke Of Cornwall Plymouth
Plymouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing