We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly front of house. Tired decor.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly front of house. Tired decor.”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

A very warm welcome will await you at reception at The Duke Of Cornwall. However as you move on to find your room there is a real sense that not much investment has been made in this establishment. My room overlooked the road at the front of the hotel. The windows appeared to have years worth of debris on them plus an offering from sea gulls.

The room was clean & bed was comfortable. The bathroom was very out dated & it felt very small.

I was attending a large function that evening & therefore my impression of the waiting staff. & indeed the awful vegetarian option meal that was served up is possibly not a true reflection of the normal dining experience. I asked the waitress to inform the chef that the cheese item served that evening was like having to eat putty. Her response was to refuse any feedback being given !!
One of my colleagues suggested that perhaps chef could be asked to come to our table for us to inform him if she was too afraid.
Breakfast food was better served in a lovely breakfast/ Dining room.

The location is great as its very near to shops & The Pavillions. Ideal if you are watching a show & need a 1 night stop over.
I don't think I would stay at The Duke for more than 1 night.

I hope the Hotel looks at the relationships between kitchen & waiting staff as no one should work in an environment where they can't pass comments to their colleagues without reprisal.

Overall. An ok Hotel with friendly reception staff which for me was the best part of the business.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawlishswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    355
    189
    73
    38
See reviews for
135
429
43
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

This is an excellently placed hotel for Plymouth and its surroundings. Check in was excellent and my room was good for the price. The evening meal was excellent although quiet as I was the only one in the dining room.

Room Tip: This was my first stay and I found my room (201) to be clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I stayed here for two nights recently and was pleasantly surprised. It is very slightly dated but clean and traditional looking decor so not a problem. Nice comfy bed, great bath with jet streams and very good food.

The only thing to let it down was some of the service in the restaurant, particular for breakfast both days. The menu boasts of a full buffet with fresh fruit, yoghurts, pastries etc. First day we arrived 10 mins before shutting and there was nothing left - not even a dribble of fruit juice. The lack of English speaking waiters also meant our simple order of full english with eggs didn't arrive for 20 minutes, and they had to check 3 times what exactly we had ordered.

However once the food did arrive (2nd day was an improvement but the buffet was still never refilled, despite 30 mins left of breakfast) it was excellent.

If the hotel can just improve their morning routine it would have received 5 stars.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
135 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

This hotel is excellent if you are going to any concerts at the Pavillions - which is literally opposite this hotel. I took my husband to see The Specials. Our room was overlooking the Pavillions and sea. It is also one of the closest hotels for Plymouth ferries. Our room was on the top floor (smoking), which was very spacious, comfortable bed, large digital freeview TV, tea & coffee etc. Old sash windows, which did not cause much problems at all with the road below us - we got a good night's sleep. The only problem we can say about was although there was NO heating on, our room & bathroom was very very warm. We found staff to be helpful and friendly. Breakfast was the usual - help yourself to cereals/juice and a small full english - which was "average". We got a taxi back to the train station which was £4.
We would stay again if going to the Pavillions or catching a ferry.

Room Tip: Top floor at the front of hotel for views. You can smoke too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wellie4Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

We recently booked 3 rooms here to take the kids to the Jessie J concert at the Plymouth Pavilion. Staff were very helpful and we felt welcomed throughout our visit, from reception desk to bar staff to breakfast staff.

Everything about this place speaks history. The Hotel was built in the 1863 and saw it's heyday around the turn of the century when the great ocean liners would traverse the Atlantic going from Plymouth to New York and back. The info blurb in the rooms Hotel guide tell us many many famous people, Film and Sports starts and politicians stayed here in those early days and it seems the right sort of place imo.

There is nothing about this hotel I can actually fault apart from decor which seems dated. Location is good, staff are excellent and the hotel has character. At first glance, we were all disappointed but this place grew on us. Everything about it tells a story and it really is a place we could happily spend several nights. It's not the deficiency or modernity of a chain hotel but that is to be expected and actually serves to it's credit.

The place has a "haunted mansion" feel about it but this soon goes after spending some time here.

As a side note, there is also a pub next door to the hotel that is certainly worth an evening visit. If your lucky, you may get to see the landlords dog, Buddy, 14 years old and with alleged arthritis, though according to staff, he's loves the sympathy and plays on it as when a sausage is mentioned the arthritis disappears!

For us all, and excellent evening at the Duke of Cornwall and one I'd certainly recommend to anyone wanting to experience a hotel with charm and character.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

I often stay here when on business in the West Country. The hotel is a large, historic building so I'm not expecting fancy modern rooms or interiors and you shouldn't. The hotel whilst clean can feel dated in the public areas.

However, having said that the staff are friendly, and the rooms (i must be upgraded a lot) are HUGE with both wireless and a cable internet connection for free. Internet in this hotel is very good and reliable and it's free.

My rooms always has a flat screen TV with freeview channels. The shower pressure is a little lower than I like but not too bad.

In the summer this hotel can get expensive (it represents poor value when it's expensive in the summer months) however outside of the summer holiday period it offers fantastic value.

In terms of location the hotel is slap bang in the city centre with a free car park (small) You can walk to the city centre in less than 10 minutes.

I've never eaten in the hotel so can't comment on restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OFM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eance, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Having lived in the city for over 10 years during 2 different times, I was well aware of the hotel. We came over from France for a friends wedding and as the wedding was being held in the hotel, it made sense to stay here.
Firstly the good points:
The staff were excellent throughout, we had asked for an early check in as the wedding was at 2.30 and normal check in is 2pm. Nothing was a problem for the staff and the check in was very smooth.
I had booked the Tower Room and had asked for flowers and champagne etc in the room, and all was there, in a spacious room.
The breakfast was good, would probably have preferred a buffet style, but was perfectly acceptable.

This is one of the better hotels in the city, with a price tag to match, so some small points detract from the overall rating.
The windows in the Tower Room appeared not to have been cleaned for some time, although I could still see the great views over the city and Plymouth Sound.
The carpets on the main staircase were quite threadbare in places, and the overall decor appeared to be in need of an overhaul.
Finally, and something that did annoy me, the bathroom. Firstly there was a real lack of toiletries in the room, two of us in the room, showering before the wedding and in the morning meant we had to pop out and buy some more. The bath was very pretty but totally useless when trying to have a shower. There was water all over the walls and the floor by the time I'd finished and I was squatting down, the room is plenty large enough to have a separate shower or a more functional bath/shower arrangement.

Would I stay here again? If there was another function in the hotel then yes, but not in the same room, but if I was visiting the city for other reasons then probably not, mainly due to the cost.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobleponge216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,300 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
754 reviews
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
605 reviews
4.7 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#20 of 21 in Plymouth
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel

Property: Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
Address: Millbay Road, Plymouth PL1 3LG, England (Formerly The Duke of Cornwall Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Britain’s Ocean City, the Duke of Cornwall is a stunning period hotel brimming with character and style. Built as Plymouth’s first luxury hotel in 1863, the Duke has been lovingly preserved and enhanced so that its unique Victorian Gothic splendour can still be enjoyed by guests today. The hotel’s 72 rooms are all individually designed with thoughtfully-selected designer wallpapers and vintage furniture, creating a chic look that does justice to the building’s striking architecture. With a range of bedroom sizes and styles available, from comfortable en-suites to indulgently romantic four-poster rooms, there’s accommodation to suit everyone. The Duke’s luxury extends to its impressive culinary offerings. Fine dining is available (for guests and non-guests alike) in the comfort of the hotel’s elegant restaurant. With an AA rosette and a dynamic team of chefs, its dishes look and taste sensational. Light lunches and a generous choice of drinks are available in the lounge, with its welcoming bar and, in the colder months, a homely log fire. If you’re planning a wedding, party or business event, the Duke is the ideal choice. With a wealth of experience in organising celebrations and group events, a range of room options and a full set of facilities and equipment, the hotel has everything you need to ensure your event runs smoothly. And with the backdrop of the Duke’s stunning decor and features, you can be sure your guests will be impressed, whether the occasion is one of business or pleasure. As well as the merits that await guests within, the Duke also offers a fantastically convenient location in the centre of Plymouth. The hotel is a short walk from the city’s abundance of shops, restaurants and bars, as well as the historic Plymouth Hoe, Sutton Harbour and the Barbican, with their spectacular sea views. And it’s a mere stone’s throw from two of the South West’s finest entertainment venues, the Theatre Royal and Plymouth Pavilions – making the hotel the ideal overnight stop-off or meeting place if you’re catching a show. Whether you’re visiting Plymouth or it’s the city you call home, you’ll find the Duke of Cornwall a pleasure to experience. With its fascinating history, friendly but professional service, and breathtaking style, the Duke is truly a gem in Britain’s Ocean City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plymouth
Duke Of Cornwall Plymouth
Plymouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing