We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean and good breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Phantele Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 78 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Booked through Late rooms. Some mix up on arrival and they weren't expecting us, and therefore also didn't get the message that we had some particular dietary needs. However, once our booking was sorted out, we were shown to a very pleasant room. Room was spotlessly clean as was the shared shower room. Breakfast was very nice and served in a pleasant room with some really nice decorative touches. Overall, very comfortable and would recommend to others and would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 229 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

Good genuine couple, interested in the guests welfare.
Dining room is available for guests to eat a takeaway in the evening - a great idea, or an evening meal done by host is also bookable in advance. Very good breakfast to set you up for the day.
Good wide road for parking with no problems.
Good location for visiting Devonport dockyard - 15 min walk away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Phantele for three nights in September. It is a lovely location, near Devonport Park. The room was very tastefully decorated and the bed was extremely comforatble. Breakfast was really great! I really wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Plenty of parking around the building. Bus stop right near.
We always stay here whenever we visit the south or even decide to pass through in route.
Lovely and clean breakfast room and choice of breakfast in the morning.
Nice walk into the town 20 mins approx.

Room Tip: Ask if you want your own bathrooms as some don't have one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TipsyNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed exploring Plymouth from this lovely base. It was a clean comfortable room and a good breakfast with plenty of variety. The owners are a great couple who are enthusiastic and attentive. We were walking the SWCP and finished that section so were thrilled to find that there was a railway station just round the corner.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

First compliment was that the proprietor was happy to give us directions on the phone as we 'd got lost. When we arrived there was a real warm welcome as if we were family members from afar instead of just guests. Room were really comfortable and welcoming . Breakfast was absolutely gorgeous( i do love a well cooked full english).
Will definitely be going there again when we go up next year. Just felt like i was in my home , so warm and inviting. Not anything i was expecting. If you want somewhere to stay whilst in Plymouth , thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raymi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewartsmith22, Owner at The Phantele Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Nice quiet location, easy to park. The room was clean and comfortable and breakfast also good.
The city centre is within easy reach by car approx 10 mins. This is the second time we have stayed there as it is such good value for the price. We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
3.2 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,131 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ibis Plymouth
Ibis Plymouth
#18 of 21 in Plymouth
604 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Lockyers Quay) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Imperial, Plymouth
The Imperial, Plymouth
#3 of 78 in Plymouth
761 reviews
1.3 mi away
Edgcumbe Guest House
Edgcumbe Guest House
#2 of 78 in Plymouth
477 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#8 of 78 in Plymouth
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phantele Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phantele Bed & Breakfast

Address: 176 Devonport Road, Plymouth PL1 5RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range: $69 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Phantele Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run bed and breakfast in the Stoke area of Plymouth. Prices start at £30 per person per night including breakfast. We have comfortable, clean & affordable rooms available for overnight or long term stays in the fantastic City of Plymouth, the City with the 'Spirit of Discovery'. We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Phantele Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing