We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Phantele Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 78 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Immingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“home from home”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

been goin to the phantele for 3 years , at least 4 times a year , very clean x friendly , nothing is too much trouble for stuart x rebbecca , great breakfast x lovely decorated rooms , reasonably priced , all the rooms are clean x bed linen crisp x white , comfy beds x plenty of drawers to put your stuff in , we would recommend the phantele to anybody x we always look forward to going there ,

Room Tip: ensuites are our favourite x they are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    43
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
51
53
25
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We booked a room in the Phantele B&B Plymouth through late rooms.com the process was simple and on arrival we were not disappointed, we received a lovely friendly welcome given a key for the front door so we could come and go as we pleased and then shown straight to our room, which was lovely clean and decorated to a high standard as was the rest of the house beautiful wallpapers and accessories throughout giving a lovely relaxing atmosphere.Although our room wasn't ensuite it was as close as you could get the toilets and shower room were just steps away and even though fully booked we didn't cross paths with other guests so never had to wait to use the facilities. The bed was lovely and comfortable with crisp white bedding and a good nights sleep was had by both. The complimentary breakfast was more than enough but there was an option for more if you wished. Again at breakfast we were met with friendly faces and were thanked at checkout we would definately return and hoping to do so in the near future!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emskiWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

After staying in B&Bs in Plymouth before, The Phantele is by far the best I've experienced, and the cheapest! The rooms are comfortable and well maintained, and the same can be said for the toilet and shower/bath facilities. Despite the hot weather the rooms are well ventilated and don't stifle.

The breakfast facilities are great too; the cooked breakfasts are very nice and there's always a supply of cold breakfast stuff in the dining room itself, which is extremely handy if you're up earlier (or later) than the usual serving times. Likewise the fridge is for guests to use, which is handy for your lunches and such. If you're around at dinner time and don't want to fork out for a takeaway or something then do take advantage of the evening meals; well made and delicious!

Most of all though Stewart, Rebecca and family are wonderful hosts, as has been said many times before on here. They are always happy to help with your requests (such as storing a bike in my case), and are genuinely interested in you, not just your money!

All in all, if I ever need a B&B in Plymouth again then I know where I'm going!

Room Tip: Rooms higher up in the house (higher in room number) are slightly quieter (needless to say; less peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Num34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was our second stay at the Phantele Guest House, it is a very friendly and warm place to stay and owners Stuart and Rebbecca cannot do enough to make your stay as welcoming as possible. A must place to stay while in Plymouth.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ade1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Room was immaculate, along with the shared toilet and shower/bath facilities on the 1st floor. All were spotless and well decorated. Room was a twin with good beds, Freeview TV, sink and tea/coffee which was replenished every day. The breakfast room on the ground floor was similarly clean and nicely decorated. Great Full English each morning (bacon, sausage, egg, beans, tomato and toast) along with a choice of cereals, yoghurt, fruit and orange juice - more than enough but a bigger breakfast is available for £3 extra.

The guest house is located to the west of the main train station and city centre - approximately 20 minute walk. 2 minute walk to Devonport railway station which has services to Plymouth, Gunnislake and most of Cornwall. There is also a few bus services nearby (with one bus stop right outside the front door).

Local area is pleasant and quiet. There is an off licence/newsagent a few metres up Devonport Road, and a Co-op further up. Brilliant fish and chip shop ('The Chip Stop') on Waterloo Street - fish was very fresh and some of the best chips I've had in a while - went and ate them around the Corner in Devonport Park. The local on Stopford Place (The Lounge) has a decent range of beers and real ale - easy to miss as it looks like an ordinary house.

Lovely, friendly hosts too, and for the price superb value for money (better value than I could find at Travelodge/Premier Inn).

All in all a real find, great local amenities and a great location for exploring Devon and Cornwall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We visited the Guest house for a few nights over the bank holiday. Due to a crash we arrived very late but the owners were very understanding and waited up to let us in.

Despite the time, Rebecca was very welcoming and chatty, and helped us in and to our room.

The room was cute and clean. We slept very well.
We were given a freshly cooked breakfast int he morning and washed it down with plenty of tea.

We didnt know the area well and they were more than happy to help us get to know the areas and recommend places to visit.
We were worried about parking before we got there but we were assured there would be plenty around us and there was.

Hope to return again soon

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TipsyNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Extremely friendly and genuinely very nice hosts.
The room was spotless, bed was very comfy, good facilities in the room TV, tea, coffee etc.
An easy walk to the shops and local parks.
Buses and train station nearby.
Breakfast was very good.
A great B&B and very reasonably priced, thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markkkko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,342 reviews
3.2 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
1,935 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
615 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
760 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ibis Plymouth
Ibis Plymouth
#16 of 21 in Plymouth
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phantele Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phantele Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Phantele Bed & Breakfast
Address: 176 Devonport Road, Plymouth PL1 5RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Phantele Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run bed and breakfast in the Stoke area of Plymouth. Prices start at £30 per person per night including breakfast. We have comfortable, clean & affordable rooms available for overnight or long term stays in the fantastic City of Plymouth, the City with the 'Spirit of Discovery'. We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Phantele Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing